Letterland
Care to share which part of the island you moving to? Can PM me if you do not want others to stalk youWhen i DO move, Tiong Baru would be outta the way for me liao sweetie..
Now where i am, still not too bad.
Updates via KSP? :faint: Die arh.
Later i kenna mark by my boss! :!: :siam:
Does that mean no more delivery if I buy other stuff from you in future? Still waiting for you to post items for sale leh
Ok i will let you in on it via PM.

Yep.. won't be possible to meet up all
the way to Tiong Bahru anymore. It'd
be postal delivery from then on.
No more time to kai kai liao. :lol: -
Im sure u wld hav made a gd choice.
Nope, it ain't gonna be in the west anymore hun..
I'm going to really miss being a westie.
I find that i have everything here in the west side, minus the crowd.
And i do like it like that.. well moving on does have its sacrifices lah..
So, i hope this move will do me and my family some good. :love:
But yea...guess u will need times to adapt to a new environment. buds:
Thank you buds for tis informative advice.I'm afraid my answer wud be yes.. too early. You see, spring.. i have not personally assessed her to know or to be able to properly advise you that moving on to the 3-letter stage is a good go-ahead as of now. I cannot personally tell if she is truly ready.. plus, yeah.. she is only 30mths now.
Cos when children move ahead prior to perfecting the initial basic skills well,it may show later, the repercussions of the lapses of what the child may havemissed out on and it wud be very very challenging to back-track or worse
touch wood.. to re-teach the basics all over again. By then, the child wud hv the ability to read more words, longer words and more difficult words & thu would not be open to go back to the \"baby\" stages. There will be some resistance and wud prove to be detrimental to the child's progress (in some cases slow them down..) from then on and may also make the child lose the interest somewhat, in building up the reading skills. It will not be fair to the child if this happens.
For now though, what can be done is to tap on the listening skills. During
daily routine insert impromptu exercises of listening to sounds in words..
Like for example, when taking the bus.. you may wonder aloud.. \"Hmm...
wonder what sounds are in the word b-u-s.. do you know? Cos i can only
hear /s/..\" Or... hey, do you think the baby will be a baby brother for you
or a baby (s-i-s)... /s/... /i/.. /s/? Work on simple words that you encounter or use everyday, like a stroll in the park and you see a cat... use that as a spontaneous sound-listening-skill. Or even m-u-m or d-a-d.. :love:
This activity will indirectly & eventually assist the child in the blending of 3
letter words and above plus provides the skill for the child to decode sounds in many many other words independently.
Other areas to work on would be soft skills and pre-writing skills.
Don't lose out on this. Reading is only part of what the child has to learn
in his or her life. Expose and encourage children to do a host of other kiddie activity as well... and do remember to give them some time to sweat it outdoors too.
things u mention really does make sense. I wouldnt want my dd to lose interests in reading! It does sound scary. :scared:
Will try out e activities on tapping on e listening skill. It does sound more appropriate for her age now. hehe.... :ugogirl:
Hmmm... soft skills? Actually wad r they huh? :? U mean e.g social skill, selp help skill? Craft work like tearing, pasting, colouring n cutting, r they consider as prewriting skills? Im doin quite alot of tat with my dd, n also finger tracing of letters, n now she has started to trace letters with crayons.
anymore activities u wld suggest on improving e writing skill? :buds:
Okie.... U pm me ya....I will PM you the details okie?

This is a fantastic display of interest! Build on it and it will bear fantastic results!
:thankyou: buds:
Okie... i will try when she tries to pretending reading again. For now, i hav not read to her any readers collection. Do u tink i can try e peter n jane series to her? Must she knows word blending before i can read to her e sight word method using e peter n jane series? Or any other readers u wld recommend for her age?Ask her if you cud hold both your fingers together (yours and hers) when
pointing. You may show her different sets of books ie. For example, you
compromise that she can do the pretend pointing when reading her all
time favourite books, but she needs to follow your finger when you
read with her your readers collection.. say mebbe Peter and Jane
series and the likes..
When she points, you may ask her like...
\"Which word says clever, darling? Can you point to the word for mummy...\"
As opposed to...
\"Hey, that's wrong! That's not the word clever you're pointing to! Here!
I show you! THIS is clever.\"
Can you sense / see the difference...
If only you stay nearer, mebbe got chance.
Thanks for your compliments. :love:
I am still learning.. :celebrate:
U make me v curious of ware u r staying.
Care to share?
spring:
Im sure u wld hav made a gd choice.
But yea...guess u will need times to adapt to a new environment.
Adapting to the environment part, i know i can handle. What i cannot
envision is the daily cycle of sending the girls to school to and fro! :!:
Not planning to change schools for them unless if really terribly forced
to make that decision..
We'll see.. :xedfingers:spring:
Once again, you're welcome. :hugs: I suppose i can make sense of it as iThank you buds for tis informative advice.
things u mention really does make sense. I wouldnt want my dd to lose interests in reading! It does sound scary. :scared:
have seen children fall back into a distant level of interest when this skill
is tackled inappropriately and though i cud reduce the damage when i
troubleshoot it, a lot of precious time is wasted back tracking and re-
learning, whereas it cud have been done right from when it first began.spring:
Actually it is the most appropriate exercise to do right after perfecting theWill try out e activities on tapping on e listening skill. It does sound more appropriate for her age now. hehe.... :ugogirl:
single letter sounds stage. Also ensure your girl knows which letter each
sound represents when you pronounce any sound to her. If she oredi
knows how to write or trace even better.. can get her to write the letter of
the sound you say out to her.
Very helpful for future verbal and
written spelling skills as the child can distinguish between letter names and
letter sounds and also know each corresponding letter shapes at an instant!
Just to let you in on something.. i'm currently helping a fren to sell off her
Large Moveable Alphabet (A Montessori Material) used during Montessori
Phonics lessons. It aids the child in recognizing letter shapes with given
corresponding letter sounds. The LMA can also be used for those listening
skill activities i shared in my previous post.
You may ask the child to pick out the letter that makes the sound /b/ as in
the beginning sound of bus... then ask her to listen to other sounds in the
word bus... after she manages to pick up all three letters from the LMA, u
show her how individual letter sounds put together can make a word.
We use this in our classrooms up till Blends and reading up to 6-letter
phonetic words like your nick for example... spr-ing! You can check out
the material here at this link!
> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10176
Let me know if you are keen. Specially for you, i will include a freebie item
as well, if you decide to purchase the item from me.. Great for your girl and
can keep for when your #2 grows a lil' older too.. :love:spring:
Yes Yes! Soft skills like saying please and thank you, table manners, settingHmmm... soft skills? Actually wad r they huh? :? U mean e.g social skill, selp help skill? Craft work like tearing, pasting, colouring n cutting, r they consider as prewriting skills? Im doin quite alot of tat with my dd, n also finger tracing of letters, n now she has started to trace letters with crayons.
anymore activities u wld suggest on improving e writing skill?
the table.. sorting cutlery.. She can use her dolls or teddies to organize a tea
party and tackle social attributes in an inviting set up. Uh-oh.. teddie spilled
his tea? What should we do? Is teddie a bad bear, should we scold him or
how can we teach teddie to be more careful... Or monkey is naughty, always
bullying the other animal friends.. How can we help teach monkey to be at his
best behaviour? (etc)
Activities that strengthens finger muscles and the pincer grip for writing can
be using the scissors.. sorting colour balls using a spoon.. learning to use a
chopstick.. picking up stamps using a small tweezer.. pegging clothings..
(etc)
If you have sand, moist it and put it in a box or container and get her to
trace alphabet shapes in it, apart from the typical pencil or crayon and
paper.. Use play dough to curve little roll-outs into letter shapes.. (etc)
Veggie stamps you can create with potatoes and carrots with either letter
shapes, simple shapes (square, triangle, circle & rectangle) that you can
use with paint or even cut out sponges too!
The possibilities are endless really! :celebrate:spring:
It can wait till mebbe when she's 3 or 3.5yrs.. but if you think she is matureOkie... i will try when she tries to pretending reading again. For now, i hav not read to her any readers collection. Do u tink i can try e peter n jane series to her? Must she knows word blending before i can read to her e sight word method using e peter n jane series? Or any other readers u wld recommend for her age?
enuf to handle such readers go ahead. Different children have different
temperaments hence there is no hard and fast rule to age introduction..
Readers are repetitive and work on the sight words. There are many in the
market other than Peter & Jane these days.. you'll be spoilt for choice.buds:
If only you stay nearer, mebbe got chance.
Thanks for your compliments. :love:
I am still learning.. :celebrate:spring:
Okie dokie, sure thing!U make me v curious of ware u r staying.
Care to share?

I'm still looking for some stuff to show you on how you cud
move on from the Letterland phonics and have yet to find
them.. sollie. :salute: Hope i can dig it out soon. :oops:
Keep in touch & you take care.. :hugs: -
The LMA seems like gd stuff!
But is ur fren willing to lower e price to ard $120? I cant see e picture clearly. R u able to send e pic to my email?
Wow.... u really does hav los of ideas of improving writing skills! :ugogirl: Especially e one of collecting sand in a box, nv tot of tat before. For using chopsticks, my dd is recently keen on learning also, may i know hw shd i teach her on tis? Also for e veggie stamp, u mean cutting e carrot or potato into e specific lette shape?
Also, regarding e letter sound of 'a' n 'e', 'c' n 'k', lookin forward to ur pm soon ya....
spring:
The LMA seems like gd stuff!
But is ur fren willing to lower e price to ard $120? I cant see e picture clearly. R u able to send e pic to my email?
I've asked her liao.. She's willing to part @ SGD $130.00 when i mentioned
you bought from me before. If you can self-collect better, so will not incur
any delivery costs.. but no freebie item la for this discount. Sollie. :salute:
PM your email address and i will send the same picture to you. No problem.spring:
Ideas are built up over time.Wow.... u really does hav los of ideas of improving writing skills! :ugogirl: Especially e one of collecting sand in a box, nv tot of tat before.
You would have too! By the time you
have your baby #2 you would have accumulated ideas enough to run yer
own class!
spring:
You can read my article on it at this link here.For using chopsticks, my dd is recently keen on learning also, may i know hw shd i teach her on tis?

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3607&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0spring:
For carrot and potato stamps i suggest shapes as in 2D shapes like circle,Also for e veggie stamp, u mean cutting e carrot or potato into e specific lette shape?
triangle, square, (etc) cos not too much trouble to cut. For letter shapes,
better with sponges. Easier to cut.spring:
Ok, can. I PM-ed it to another forumer before . Will try to scour my overAlso, regarding e letter sound of 'a' n 'e', 'c' n 'k', lookin forward to ur pm soon ya....

loaded inbox to see whom i sent it too and will forward it to you. Cos she
broached the same questions you had in mind.
Hey buds....
I had replied to ur pm. Once again..... sorry for e late reply. :imsorry: -
Hi Buds and Spring, I'm a SAHM too :celebrate: and read with interest the exchanges on Letterland.
I toyed with the idea of homeschooling my girl once when we were based in China and scoured through tons of homeschooling articles then. In a twist of fate, we relocated back to Singapore but my homeschooling-research has enabled me to arrive on a conclusion - I will let my girl learn phonics.
As such, I chose a preschool which teaches phonics using Letterland.
I totally second with Buds that it will be better to teach the names of the alphabets before introducing the sounds of the alphabets. As my girl's first language is Chinese, she was totally impervious to English, even ABC, when I tried to introduce the language to her when she turned 2. Things didn't help that we were in a totally Chinese environment. I just let it go and thought she will pick it up in preschool. To my surprise, as all of her classmates came well-versed in ABC, and my girl could parrot after her classmates, her teachers focused more on the sounds of the alphabets. And in due time, when I tried to teach her to write or read, she would only recognise the sounds but not the names. I tried to teach her the names but she was resistant, telling me 'This is not what the teacher taught.'
Thankfully, one day I chanced on her singing the evergreen ABCD song (in the Twinkle Twinkle Little Star tune) that her friend taught her. I made use of it and taught her the names of the alphabets using the Letterland Frieze.
However, after several months, it will still take her a moment to remember some of the names as opposed to the sounds. I found that children who learnt the names first will have less of such a problem, i.e they can remember both names and sounds better.
And to sidetrack a bit, as I was keen to be part of her learning process, I tried to buy Letterland products (to learn phonics by myself) through the UK distributor and was told to refer to Francis. I went to his office and he patiently went through with me a range of Letterland products. According to him, Tumble Tots used to own the distribution rights and the Tumble Tots operations but as another company bought over Tumble Tots, the previous company owns only Letterland distribution rights now but they are still sharing the same office.
I like the Letterland frieze very much and bought a GBC laminating machine just for it. (Having promotion at Popular now @ 1/3 of the price I paid) The frieze now decorates the wall of my foyer and greets every guest when they come into the house. I also bought an easel white cum chalk board when I realised my girl was into writing. She would trace on the frieze and write on papers. To make writing and reading fun for her, I will also let her write on the cement staircase landing outside, a bit like my kampong days, but I will scrub the floor after the exercise. I even came up with the excuse if anybody complained 'I'm practising drawing the rangoli for Deepavali.' :lol:
As Buds mentioned, Letterland is great on introducing individual letter sounds but for blending, I adopted the method that Tamarind recommended. However, for some of the digraphs like sh, wr, ow, aw, I will use the Letterland stories as my girl can co-relate better. Like many experts here mentioned, there is no hard and fast way to teach phonics. For a self taught mother, I learnt through a mix and match way and imparted the knowledge to my girl in the same fashion. As Comrade Deng Xiaoping said, be it black cat or white cat, any cat that can catch a mouse is a good cat.
Pummanuel -
Hi mummies
My ger is currently learng letterland phonics in sch. Sheβll b 3 yrs old tis yr. Teacher at sch is teachg them the names of the alphabets nw & their sound, like Jumping Jim says jer. Guess next yr when sheβs in nursery, the teacher will then teach them blendg of words.
If I were to send my ger to montersori phonics class nw, will the 2 methods confuse the kids? -
badgal:
Jumping Jim should say j-uh instead of jer.Hi mummies
My ger is currently learng letterland phonics in sch. She'll b 3 yrs old tis yr. Teacher at sch is teachg them the names of the alphabets nw & their sound, like Jumping Jim says jer.
Click link to hear the sound. > http://www.starfall.com/n/level-k/letter-j/load.htm?f
Yes, LETTERLAND introduces characters to the
letter names (ABCs) and each character says
a special sound in words.
It's a fun way
or approach to learning phonetic sounds esp 4
young children.
badgal:
Yes, you should be right about that. Next step is indeed blending of sounds.Guess next yr when she's in nursery, the teacher will then teach them blendg of words.
badgal:
Montessori Phonics' blending is more straightforward as compared to theIf I were to send my ger to montersori phonics class nw, will the 2 methods confuse the kids?
Letterland way that has stories to complement the sound combinations tt
they introduce. If by then your child is 4+ yrs old and mature enough to
exclude/ignore the Letterland characters when you ask for the sound of
a letter you've shown her, then it should be fine. The association of the
Letterland characters complement their story focus and makes it more
fun & supposedly easier for children to remember. However, that said...
children should be also ideally be able to identify sounds of the alphabets
without the need to include the character names to them.
May i inquire the need to send your girl to a Montessori Phonics class if
the school your girl is attending will be teaching the complete Letterland
Phonics curriculum?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.