School Teachers Working as Tutors

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Academic Learning & Enrichment
    203 Posts 75 Posters 37.2k Views 1 Watching
      Brenda10

jesschan:
      mrswongtuition:

[quote=\"Brenda10\"]If give too many homeworks parents complaint

If give too little homework parents also complaint

If worksheet too difficult parents complaint

If worksheet too easy parents also complaint

Hard to be a teacher lah

if discipline kids, parents complain.
      If dun discipline kids, parent also complain.

Actually, sometimes, it is subjective. The class size is 40 and made up of children with different abilities. For instance, in my son's class, his Maths teacher gives 3-4 pages of homework everyday. The brighter ones are able to complete them in class but the others struggle to finish them at home. So is it too much and too difficult or otherwise?[/quote]Yes. I agree. Now DD teacher also fed up :x and give green light to the class on one of the Math Work Book. Who ever can do ahead need not to follow her schedule.

It's very hard to be a teacher.

My son told me his Eng teacher broke down in class one day...guess it must be an accumulated stress that caused her to do so...caused by a classmate in his class. He told me he consoled his teacher :shock: with a few of his classmates and told the culprit (female classmate) to keep quiet.

jesschan

the principals also want to meet their own kpi mah, so the teachers kena lah, so many targets to meet

Talking about KPIs, I am not sure if parents are aware that the MOE does send an external team of assessors to check on the school's processes, strengths etc... once in every 5 years by interviewing the students, teachers, parents and related external vendors. It is actually a very good system to identify the areas of improvement but unfortunately, some schools start to \"train\" the students and teachers how to handle the assessors and not to be too \"negative\" in order to score well in the assessment. So in the end, the whole exercise becomes a time-consuming process with inaccurate findings....

Brenda10

It's very hard to be a teacher.

My son told me his Eng teacher broke down in class one day...guess it must be an accumulated stress that caused her to do so...caused by a classmate in his class. He told me he consoled his teacher :shock: with a few of his classmates and told the culprit (female classmate) to keep quiet.
            Hi Janet

That's mean your son is calm and able to handle crisis very well. Some children may just lost and no sure what to do.

jesschan

Brenda10:

Yes. I agree. Now DD teacher also fed up :x and give green light to the class on one of the Math Work Book. Who ever can do ahead need not to follow her schedule.
              My son will be very happy if his teacher does this! He was actually being punished for doing too much homework and the teacher made him erase what he had over done and re-do them. My son was very annoyed.

Brenda10

jesschan:

the principals also want to meet their own kpi mah, so the teachers kena lah, so many targets to meet

Talking about KPIs, I am not sure if parents are aware that the MOE does send an external team of assessors to check on the school's processes, strengths etc... once in every 5 years by interviewing the students, teachers, parents and related external vendors. It is actually a very good system to identify the areas of improvement but unfortunately, some schools start to \"train\" the students and teachers how to handle the assessors and not to be too \"negative\" in order to score well in the assessment. So in the end, the whole exercise becomes a time-consuming process with inaccurate findings....

Brenda10

jesschan:
                  Brenda10:

Yes. I agree. Now DD teacher also fed up :x and give green light to the class on one of the Math Work Book. Who ever can do ahead need not to follow her schedule.

My son will be very happy if his teacher does this! He was actually being punished for doing too much homework and the teacher made him erase what he had over done and re-do them. My son was very annoyed.

This thing happen due to there is two groups of pupils in the class. One group (HCL) complaint too many works (Look like two compo. per week and more worksheet and projects) and another group (CL) complaint too little work. Therefore the teacher no choice then just gives the green light

• JoyJ Offline
                    Joy

I just heard from my dd, her teacher told them that few parents in the class actually approached her to be their private tutor.Teacher almost faint upon hearing that.

• MMMM Offline
                      MMM

Joy:
                      I just heard from my dd, her teacher told them that few parents in the class actually approached her to be their private tutor.Teacher almost faint upon hearing that.

Yes getting current teacher as tutor seems alittle too much. I feel that there is obvious conflict of interest.

My cousin is currently teaching my p2. It was a concidence. She just graduated and was posted to my kids' school. She had declared this to the principal. I usually discuss behaviourial or general academic questions with her. I believed as parents, we also need to behave with integrity. The kids simply adored her with her approach, writing small notes on their test papers on what is wrong and watchouts. Spend $ to decorate their classroom to a cozy place, giving stickers/ encouragement words when they do well, etc... Really passionate and I've not seen such a passionate teacher so far. My hubby was like... maybe just graduated so still has alot of passion. It's a pity, she will only be their teacher for a few more months. Because of her influence, I know my son will do his best for his SA2 this time round. It's amazing how a passionate teacher can make such a huge difference.

I know I cannot ask her to tutor my kids but I was thinking of asking her if she has any mates who are passionate about teaching (just like her) who is willing to give part time tuition for EL.

N.029275Lo

jesschan:

Hi jesschan,

I have heard about that as well. Actually, nowadays I find it hard to know whether a school is good or not. The brand name schools could have good reputation but there are many teachers and even the management in there that is frankly not up to the standard. My nephew was a relief teacher for the past few weeks at a pri school and he said that some of the teachers can teach the wrong facts. They come to him and ask him how to teach certain maths questions. Some students even tell him that the teachers do not know how to answer them when they ask certain questions.

When external vendors came to conduct a creative writing course in the school which he found very good, the other teachers all were talking among themselves. When the vendor stayed behind to give feedback and explain certain things, some teachers did not even want to listen and said it was time for their break anyway.

My question is this: Do teachers behave like that because they think no one is observing or is it because it is a job that is one which is an iron rice bowl one and no matter how they perform, they will still not lose their job.

I think tutors in well-known centres are good because they know that if they do not perform, they might lose their job.

I don't mean to rant here, just very bewildered at the state of teachers in schools. My own son's teacher is always on MC and usually on friday so personally I also have quite bad experiences with the teachers. 😞

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 21