桃花谈

984 Posts 95 Posters 250.5k Views 1 Watching
      Imami

mummyv:
      What insider say is also true, bad seeds can be minimised or knocked out by good seeds.

is it?

mummyv

Imami:
        mummyv:

What insider say is also true, bad seeds can be minimised or knocked out by good seeds.

is it?

Imami, I am no expert but I believe my mum :please: She says so! She helps at the temple and strongly believes in the power of prayer. My mum would chant sutras for 1-2 hours daily. Our family has prospered on my dad's single income, all 4 of us are educated abroad. Now when I am unhappy, she tells me luck is cyclical, no bad period is 100% bad all the time, no good period is 100% good all the time. It will pass.

MintyMin

Imami:
          This thread has somehow become my favourite virtual “kopitiam”.

I was listening to my kid singing 三字经this morning and I realized how a lot of what Insider had said was actually inside 三字经.

I didn’t have the exposure of 三字经 when I was young. It was until a few years back that I decided to introduce 三字经 to my son as I thought it would be good for him to recite in my attempt to cultivate his love for Chinese. It turned out that it benefitted me too.

曰仁义 礼智信 此五常 不容紊 – see how the 仁 is placed first among the 5 virtues?

首孝弟 次见闻 知某数 识某文 - Begin with filial piety and fraternal love, and then see and hear, to count, to read. If you look at a typical child’s development, it’s about this sequence of development. Except the part on see and hear, which I thought hear should come first since babies hear much better than they see during the newborn stage.

I wanted to intro to my kids.. but but but... i duno hw to explain to them..

Imami

Imami:

This thread has somehow become my favourite virtual “kopitiam”.

I was listening to my kid singing 三字经this morning and I realized how a lot of what Insider had said was actually inside 三字经.

I didn’t have the exposure of 三字经 when I was young. It was until a few years back that I decided to introduce 三字经 to my son as I thought it would be good for him to recite in my attempt to cultivate his love for Chinese. It turned out that it benefitted me too.

曰仁义 礼智信 此五常 不容紊 – see how the 仁 is placed first among the 5 virtues?

首孝弟 次见闻 知某数 识某文 - Begin with filial piety and fraternal love, and then see and hear, to count, to read. If you look at a typical child’s development, it’s about this sequence of development. Except the part on see and hear, which I thought hear should come first since babies hear much better than they see during the newborn stage.

I wanted to intro to my kids.. but but but... i duno hw to explain to them..

I started with a CD from Popular, about $18. It’s called 说说唱唱I think. There are other CDs in the same series – multiplication, hanyu pin yin, 遍旁部首,弟子规etc.

In the 三字经cd, they have the recital version (an adult would recite and then a group of children would repeat), the song version (one person would sing with music) and explanation version (An adult would recite followed by explanation)

I listen to the explanation version. My son listens to the recital and the song version. Come with recital cards and summary card. Well worth the money.

MintyMin

Imami:
              I started with a CD from Popular, about $18. It’s called 说说唱唱I think. There are other CDs in the same series – multiplication, hanyu pin yin, 遍旁部首,弟子规etc.

In the 三字经cd, they have the recital version (an adult would recite and then a group of children would repeat), the song version (one person would sing with music) and explanation version (An adult would recite followed by explanation)

I listen to the explanation version. My son listens to the recital and the song version. Come with recital cards and summary card. Well worth the money.
              So once u listen to the explanation version.. u will explain to ur ds?

insider

oh…this one may involve one of the parents’ child in this forum and so have to delete…

Imami

Imami:

So once u listen to the explanation version.. u will explain to ur ds?

No, not really. I listen to the explanation because I myself dunno 三字经 well. Some of the verses I know but some I dun understand. Listening to the explanation is to complete my understanding.

For my son, I don’t really explain to him word by word. At his age and the fact that he cant read all the words in 三字经, being able to recite the whole thing is good enough. I would only explain when
                  1.\the come to me to ask about one or two verses
                  2.\ta scenario he is in which I can ‘show him the way’ with the 三字经 verses.

1.\tTake for instance recently he said he was keen to pick up drum, art and chess class. I told him the time has not arrived and that I do not think he has much bandwidth to learn so many things. He was defensive and said he could learn everything/anything he wanted (what a ya ya papaya!). Instead of getting into an argument with him, I gave him 12 words 若广学,惧其繁。但略说,能知原.
                  He: why you tell me that?
                  Me: do you know what have I just said?
                  He: 三字经 lor
                  Me: correct. 若广学,惧其繁。但略说,能知原. It means we cannot learn everything because there is just so much to learn. So long as we know a bit of everything it will be good enough

He backed off after thinking for a while.

insider

Giggler1:
                    Hi insider,

My dd is similar to your son, she is not academically inclined.

She got her test papers back yday and failed the paper very badly. So should I just let it be, trust her that one day she'll catch up? And what if she never catch up? How she going to feed herself if she is not able to attain certain level in academic?

Sometimes I would want to trust her and have faith in her that she can do it but when she came back with bad results, I really ponder if I've done wrong.

emmm. if P3 and she is failing Maths, she needs help (P3 maths to me is still quite a piece of cake...). Apparently you can't teach and actually I would prefer you not to teach coz emmm... you don't seem to have a temper that's good enough... (else you will not kena that \"I hate you\" sms...)

Just discuss with her CALMLY and not in any panicky mode about what she thinks should be done. Listen to her first before you throw her into tuition. Perhaps set target together with her at 60 first? She is not stupid I am quite sure. Just that concepts are not there yet (either due to teacher not really teaching well, she dreaming in class, or simply the paper was a bit too high for P3 level).

Pls don't panic coz that's the last thing that you want to rub on her to make her feel that she's 'not good enough' / 'stupid' / whatever. Trust me that she feels 'sadder' than you when she failed her maths. She really needs your support and not nagging/mocking/etc...

Really love your child unconditionally and please don't let results let your child suspect that she/he only worths the marks that she/he gets.

Wishing you keep improving on your own temper and your child will sms you a 'I Love Mummy' msg in the near future... (this one you set it as your own target and you must work as hard as your child towards achieving target...)

smurf28

mummyv:
                      Imami:

[quote=\"mummyv\"] What insider say is also true, bad seeds can be minimised or knocked out by good seeds.

is it?

Imami, I am no expert but I believe my mum :please: She says so! She helps at the temple and strongly believes in the power of prayer. My mum would chant sutras for 1-2 hours daily. Our family has prospered on my dad's single income, all 4 of us are educated abroad. Now when I am unhappy, she tells me luck is cyclical, no bad period is 100% bad all the time, no good period is 100% good all the time. It will pass.[/quote]

Hi, just sharing that when one planted a bad seed,this bad seed will mature one day =bad karma. If the person also planted lots of good seed(good karma) .thus when the person bad karma ripen with good karma ,it will seem bad karma is minimise or knocked out by good karma.
                      The good cannot negate the bad.What one should do is try to accumulate as much good karma as possible so that conditions is always there for good karma will ripen.Leaving no chance for bad karma to ripen.

Imami

Insider, I am curious - it seems to me that many of us are hot/bad/quick tempered, either self-confessed or as commented by another person.

We all know stress will make us short fused but this is a "very science" explanation.
                        Is there anything you can share with us on this, something not very science?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 56 / 99

msmui.tuitionM
                        msmui.tuition