桃花谈
Imami:
I think all these posts started with the above post which gave impression that Imami can hit 130 km/hr on a dry day in Singapore and also because in the 2nd paragraph she wrote \"My car seat incident was felt deeply by me becos I tend to drive fast whenever there is a chance (with or without my son, I drive fast).\"Gosh..
Sun, I felt chills down my spine as I read the last part of your post.... Scary.
My car seat incident was felt deeply by me becos I tend to drive fast whenever there is a chance (with or without my son, I drive fast). And with weekends come the chance to step on the accelerator more often than the usual weekdays. But I don't speed excessively, not 150km/hr kind.... No. The car seat is still at home, drying. each time I passed it, I shuddered at what could happen
:nailbite:
Scary....
Talking about speed and driving, my little one has great feel about speed. Since we taught him about the rationale of driving slowly on slippery road, he had never failed to remind me to slow down whenever he was in the car with me. The strangest part was - it seemed he could feel how fast we are going. Whenever the speedometer shows more than 50km/hr, he would say,\"mummy slow down, slow down\". As he was sitting at the back, he couldn't have seen the speedometer and we had never told him how to read it. As strange as this is, I can hit 130km/hr on a dry day and he will just keep quiet. :?
Only Imami knows the truth whether she ever/often drove 130 km/hr in Singapore.
What I want to say is nobody should drive 130 km/hr in Singapore. I hope Imami will never drive 130 km/hr in Singapore.
I have a lot of respect for Insider with all the advices she has been giving but now I am disappointed because I have the impression that she condone high speed driving with reasons such as we cannot do anything if the driver is speeding since we are only passenger, the driver already knows the danger so no point even if we tell the driver off, it is fate if we die due to accident that is not our fault, etc. Well, everybody is just human. Nobody is perfect. Insider can write and argue very well so I am sure there are other things she can say to defend her view. I am not a good debater so I will definitely lose to her. I hope she won't respond to this post. Anyway, I won't comment anymore on this matter.
Have a great weekend, everybody. Be safe. -
Limlim,
that post (and a few of them from you about speeding) I find, was overbearing. Regardless of who you are responding to. Ihave to honestly say, I took offence. But they will not create bad blood between us.
How shd I put it? I buay siong but I don't want to keep it inside my heart.
:celebrate: -
Imami:
In almost everything we discuss, the context is very important. But since one doesn't bother to find out more before jumping into conclusion, the other don't need to explain.
The context of the grandfather road comment is towards the example in insider's post.
She said she feel she shd shut up and not comment on the wilful (Not medical emergency) speeding just bcoz she is not the one at the wheels (she trust the driver's skill etc..), and I feel this attitude is very wrong. We shd criticise the wrong doing if we feel it is not right, and remind them that there are other road users. She mentioned the part in blue, which, for this context, is sufficient information to make a judgement for her example (NOT for your case). -
ngl2010:
Aiya, sorry leh insider. I think I got u into this mess.
I have a lot of respect for Insider with all the advices she has been giving but now I am disappointed because I have the impression that she condone high speed driving with reasons such as we cannot do anything if the driver is speeding since we are only passenger, the driver already knows the danger so no point even if we tell the driver off, it is fate if we die due to accident that is not our fault, etc. Well, everybody is just human. Nobody is perfect. Insider can write and argue very well so I am sure there are other things she can say to defend her view. I am not a good debater so I will definitely lose to her. I hope she won't respond to this post.
Actually I also don't quite understand how/why if one gets killed by speedster or high rise little bug, \"we have to accept it\". Can you please expand this idea? Note - I am not harping on the \"already know, no need to remind.\". -
Imami:
:imsorry:Limlim,
that post (and a few of them from you about speeding) I find, was overbearing. Regardless of who you are responding to. Ihave to honestly say, I took offence. But they will not create bad blood between us.
How shd I put it? I buay siong but I don't want to keep it inside my heart.
:celebrate: -
insider:
What is the possibilities of being killed by a killer litter as compared to a road accident ? If you want to quote this then I have nothing to say..Blessedwife:
Actually I think most of us just do not agree with people who choose to ignore other's safety by exceeding the speed limit.
I think ALL of us do not agree with people who are speeding. Perhaps the level of our 'acceptance' of that person's speeding action differs... ('acceptance' here is defined as accepting that person as who he is, a 'speeder' (matured adult) who can only change if he wants to and not a 'speeder' who can be 'talked' into no speeding by 'kind advice'.)Blessedwife:
For example, if any of your relatives met with an accident (touch wood) so can we say \"it's fated Lar, who ask the person to be so suay?\" NO !
emmm...to tell you honestly...even if any of my kids were to be hit by a reckless driver in an accident, I may heartbreak for a while but then I will still accept 'gracefully' and move on. 怨天尤人 is just not the way to live lives under any circumstances coz whatever happened had happened (the same as if any accident happens to me, my kiddos are expected to move on and not to stand still to 怨天尤人 excessively...)
maybe we move on to killer litter, those who throw heavy items out from their windows and hit and killed strangers. these people obviously not supposed to do this kind of things but they chose to do, so what can one do if really suay suay kena hit? isn't it fated to be at the wrong place at the wrong time?
Not many people can be like you 这样看得开! -
ngl2010:
ngl2010,
I think all these posts started with the above post which gave impression that Imami can hit 130 km/hr on a dry day in Singapore and also because in the 2nd paragraph she wrote \"My car seat incident was felt deeply by me becos I tend to drive fast whenever there is a chance (with or without my son, I drive fast).\"Imami:
Gosh..
Sun, I felt chills down my spine as I read the last part of your post.... Scary.
My car seat incident was felt deeply by me becos I tend to drive fast whenever there is a chance (with or without my son, I drive fast). And with weekends come the chance to step on the accelerator more often than the usual weekdays. But I don't speed excessively, not 150km/hr kind.... No. The car seat is still at home, drying. each time I passed it, I shuddered at what could happen
:nailbite:
Scary....
Talking about speed and driving, my little one has great feel about speed. Since we taught him about the rationale of driving slowly on slippery road, he had never failed to remind me to slow down whenever he was in the car with me. The strangest part was - it seemed he could feel how fast we are going. Whenever the speedometer shows more than 50km/hr, he would say,\"mummy slow down, slow down\". As he was sitting at the back, he couldn't have seen the speedometer and we had never told him how to read it. As strange as this is, I can hit 130km/hr on a dry day and he will just keep quiet. :?
Only Imami knows the truth whether she ever/often drove 130 km/hr in Singapore.
What I want to say is nobody should drive 130 km/hr in Singapore. I hope Imami will never drive 130 km/hr in Singapore.
I have a lot of respect for Insider with all the advices she has been giving but now I am disappointed because I have the impression that she condone high speed driving with reasons such as we cannot do anything if the driver is speeding since we are only passenger, the driver already knows the danger so no point even if we tell the driver off, it is fate if we die due to accident that is not our fault, etc. Well, everybody is just human. Nobody is perfect. Insider can write and argue very well so I am sure there are other things she can say to defend her view. I am not a good debater so I will definitely lose to her. I hope she won't respond to this post. Anyway, I won't comment anymore on this matter.
Have a great weekend, everybody. Be safe.
I have the same thought as you !!
I have a lot of respect for Insider for all the great advices she gave to many of us but upon seeing how she condone the act of reckless driving my heart sank a bit and feel disappointed.
If we were to associate reckless driving/accident to 天意 nothing we can do to change the fact ! What can we do ? Sit back and just wait for things to happen rather than to try to prevent ? -
hihi insider
i have always enjoyed your posts and marveled at the profound thoughts that you have.
But a few of your recent posts had left me dumbfounded.
this is one of theminsider:
i think if someone were to post in this forum that he threw heavy items out of his windows, the responses to the post will still be the same as the speeding case......maybe we move on to killer litter, those who throw heavy items out from their windows and hit and killed strangers. these people obviously not supposed to do this kind of things but they chose to do, so what can one do if really suay suay kena hit? isn't it fated to be at the wrong place at the wrong time?
Firstly, 天意 should not be taken as e reason for everything that happen, I hope no one really believes in that!!! It's true we have to learn to accept reality but that doesn't mean we should leave everything to fate and not do anything to change it.
If 天意 is responsible for everything, then students can dun work hard (even though they KNOW they should) and if they fail their exams, it's 天意 :skeptical:
Everything happens for a reason, and that reason can be 应果,业障,冤亲债主。If we get hit by a car/killer litter/murdered/rape/rob etc etc, it could be becos we had some previous 恶缘,so now time is ripe to bear e 恶果。天意 will not interfere with this cycle. 天作孽,犹可违;自作孽,不可活。However, when one 修心养性,行功立德,and be mindful of their thoughts and actions, one can avert diversities. 随缘消旧业,更不造新殃,还要结善缘。
Jesus' crucifixion is 天意, the above is not.
Yes, though I agree some with lower 慧根 usually find it difficult to accept 忠言,it doesn't mean we should give them up. If our children are slow learners, do we give up on them or we try our best to show them how to learn? 孔子有教无类,因材施教。Excessive nagging may not work, is there no other methods to put across the message we want to convey?
In order for someone to 开窍,we may have to educate the person constantly, slowly, patiently with the truth and it may take years and years for them to 领悟。The pax who can 开窍 on their own or attain 顿悟 must be of certain wisdom.
We are also the stubborn human beings but did Buddha/Jesus/God ever give up trying to teach us to be good? Messengers of truth could also be hated for their constant \"nagging\" but that doesn't stop them to continue to spread God's gospel.
Anyway these are just my thoughts, no one needs to agree
popireis:
Well saidFirstly, 天意 should not be taken as e reason for everything that happen, I hope no one really believes in that!!! It's true we have to learn to accept reality but that doesn't mean we should leave everything to fate and not do anything to change it.
If 天意 is responsible for everything, then students can dun work hard (even though they KNOW they should) and if they fail their exams, it's 天意 :skeptical:
Everything happens for a reason, and that reason can be 应果,业障,冤亲债主。If we get hit by a car/killer litter/murdered/rape/rob etc etc, it could be becos we had some previous 恶缘,so now time is ripe to bear e 恶果。天意 will not interfere with this cycle. 天作孽,犹可违;自作孽,不可活。However, when one 修心养性,行功立德,and be mindful of their thoughts and actions, one can avert diversities.
Jesus' crucifixion is 天意, the above is not.
Yes, though I agree some with lower 慧根 usually find it difficult to accept 忠言,it doesn't mean we should give them up. If our children are slow learners, do we give up on them or we try our best to show them how to learn? 孔子有教无类,因材施教。Excessive nagging may not work, is there no other methods to put across the message we want to convey?
In order for someone to 开窍,we may have to educate the person constantly, slowly, patiently with the truth and it may take years and years for them to 领悟。The pax who can 开窍 on their own or attain 顿悟 must be of certain wisdom.
We are also the stubborn human beings but did Buddha/Jesus/God ever give up trying to teach us to be good? Messengers of truth could also be hated for their constant \"nagging\" but that doesn't stop them to continue to spread God's gospel.
Anyway these are just my thoughts, no one needs to agree
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.