Depressed over p3 results

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 3
    83 Posts 58 Posters 101.1k Views 1 Watching
      vinegar

i started the revision for science for my p3 son 2months b4 SA1. He got 70 upon 80 for science.

well,i feel a bit disappointed but not give up.

did 2 mistakes in MCQ. he lost most marks in Open ended questions. From the answers he gave,i notice he showed understanding in concepts but didn’t answer according to what it asked.

for eg, A diagram shows bag A,B & C carry number of of stones before the bag broke.

Based on diagram,explain your answer.

Ans:Bag A can hold 30 stones before this bag breaks.

Correct Ans: Bag A can hold the most number of stones before it breaks.

vinegar

well…for maths,he would hv score full mark if not bcoz of carelessness.

he lost all marks due to careless…Asked him whether he chk,he said yes…

Keep nagging him to see the questions clearly b4 answer,underline,circle the key words.But he bo chap…

for english n chinese,Paper 2,he scores full marks "except" comprehension…all marks gone in comprehension. Hv not received paper 1 result,I know he did badly in Paper 1, no eye to see…

plan to do more revision wf him focus in comprehension n compo…

1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote -1
        • X Offline
          XYZ1

vinegar:
          well.....for maths,he would hv score full mark if not bcoz of carelessness.

he lost all marks due to careless....Asked him whether he chk,he said yes....

Wah, sounds exactly like my ds, I calc for him, at 12 marks gone just bcos of 加减乘除 carelessness. I also nagged many times, b4 sa1, reminded many times, still like that leh, any ways to \"cure\" carelessness?

Compo, not seen yet, OE compre for both EL and CL r his weakest sections.

mummy so kiasu

tyming:
            HI all,

My son is P3 this year and his CA1 result is not good compare to his P2 result. He got English and Chinese - Grade 3 and Maths + Science Grade 2 compared to P2 - Grade 1 and 2

Is this normal for P3 starter?
            My boy is in Sec 1 now. But I still have a P2 girl. It is normal to drop slightly in P3 & P5. Not more than 10% drop is acceptable due to the higher standard. The kids should be able to pick up by SA2 if they put in more effort.

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

junetan76:
              science is a subject where the children should get to explore a lot.

e.g. identifying water plants.
              if the child had only seen lotus in pictures or worse, only in words, can he remember that really observe and explore what it is.

almost everything in science needs lots of exploring before more understanding..

and science is all around us
              - why is there steam coming out of the hot coffee?
              - why is there echo in the bathroom?
              - why do I see mould growing in the bathroom or on the bread?

all these could be discovered and discussed between the parents and children.
              I think what stumps a lot of parents is, in exams, it is not whether the child has the knowledge but whether the child uses the keywords when answering the questions.

I have been doing many experiments with kiddos since they were like 3 or 4yrs old, talking to them about light, heat, pressure. We reared countless caterpillars, planted various plants, made many volcanoes, built matchbox magnet cars, change certain variables to see what will happen. They have the knowledge but when it comes to the OE part of the exam, they need to learn the technic of answering those questions. Explaining in their own words will not cut it.

My son is in Sec 1…after last year’s madness, I have learnt to look at results in a different perspective…daughter is in P3 this year. She didn’t do particularly well for her mid-year.

When we went through the exams papers again at home, she was able to do fairly well…bcos there was no pressure and stress compared to the environment then. So we have to teach her to focus on her own paper, and try not to panic or else the brain would not be able to digest.

vinegar

when comes to Science, i’ve done lots of experiments with him,let him play wf different type of materials(put paper,sytrofoam,etc into the water),planted cactus in the garden,putting the roots in coloured water…etc…

we bring him to hort park,botanic garden,etc…to see n touch the plants…the roots/leaves/seeds…regularly.

even went to australia (twice per yr) n visited the zoo,seaside,explored the nature…

i guess his weakness is lack of understanding in english…coz he doesn’t read a lot(except for Young Scientist)if he can’t understand what questions ask for,he’ll not be able to explain n answer it properly.

nicnac

I am extremely depressed over the SA results… So much so that I wake up in the night and cannot fall back into sleep.

Everything just plummeted! Losing 20marks in CL is really a big blow…I really don’t know what went wrong, the oral especially. Maths, 10marks gone due to carelessness. English, esp comprehension, things that I’ve specifically reminded, refused to follow.

Still trying to get over. So demoralizing… Especially when you put in effort to help but they don’t do their part to be vigilant.

• X Offline
                      XYZ1

nicnac:
                      I am extremely depressed over the SA results.. So much so that I wake up in the night and cannot fall back into sleep.
                      we still hv time rt? Our children are only in p3... We parents must also take care of ourselves ... A happy parent will bring up a happy child. Don't transfer our stress to our kids, they can feel it. I was pressuring ds too much during ca1, and I adopted a more \"spread out\" approach during sa1, I think it was mentally better for him and me. That means I hv to make more sacrifices like not watchg my fav tv programs almost 3 weeks before sa1....加油, we still hv p4 & p5 to work things out, don't get yourself burnt out now.

vinegar

think of this way,sometx…傻人有傻福…life full of ups and downs too…

my frd did well in primary school…then went to good secondary school.but didn’t do well in O-level,ended up in poly.he did PT degree n now do very well in his career.

another frd,has always been top students till uni.however,study smart doesn’t mean work smart.work smart sometx oso depends on luck 天时地利人和.due to his arrogant attitude,he always changes his job.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 9

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring