Secondary School Pocket Money

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    114 Posts 42 Posters 37.6k Views 1 Watching

P/s But I think your $50 per week is spoiling market leh ... Can go restaurant to eat liao leh at that rate ... πŸ˜„

No.. he mentioned what his friends were getting but I haven't decided on this amount yet.
      A bit 😐 then.
      I gave him $30 for his 3 days orientation.
      Said he was very hungry during orientation.
      By 2nd day, he already spent $28 on food
      including dinner in school with his kakis.
      He seems to eat more these days.
      Growing spurts I guess..
      I bought mee siam for $2 at school canteen on registration day.
      He said a plate of noodles at the school cafe costs $3 (student price).
      If I use this as a yardstick, he needs ~ $3 - $4 for recess,
      ditto for lunch and more if he stays back for CCA.
      He would probably hv to stay back a couple of days in school for CCA
      and another afternoon at MOELC.
      so in all, $50 / week doesn't seem excessive.

From young, I hv always encourage him to save
      some of his pocket money.
      He pays for his own mobile phone usage.
      He sometimes used his pocket $ to buy some tit bits
      for his younger bro now n then
      Nowadays he and his bro are contributing to buy
      cat food for some strays they adopted as pets.
      Don't think he has much left to save now.

wah, no wonder some parents commented some kids can afford to lunch at New York New York and Starbuck everyday....now NY NY changed to Xing Wang liao ....hahah

Way2GO

wah, no wonder some parents commented some kids can afford to lunch at New York New York and Starbuck everyday....now NY NY changed to Xing Wang liao ....hahah
        So u think $ 50/week is too much?
        He has probably gone to Starbucks twice in his young life
        and never been to NY NY nor Xing Wang.

He should hv enough to eat with some leftover to save
        for those treats occasionally
        but not on a daily basis la

I myself drink kopi at HC and coffeeshop.
        thought Starbucks n those other chains coffee
        not worth the $. :lol:

carebear

carebear:

Looks like i kena ketok by my DS (Sec 1).

He gets $5 per day (excluding ez link card, stationery), $2 for every tuition session (he has tuition in eng, math and science).
          That means he gets $31 per week.
          He saves most of it!

Then my DD who is in P5 i have to give her $5 per day cos she agreed to do higher chinese, also $2 for every tuition session.

That's why now i have to pack food to work for lunch.

wah, how can monetise every thing one ?

Ya, my kids lidat one!
          My son already asking me to will property to him as he is carrying the family name. He said his sister is allowed to live in the house until she gets married. Don't know where he learnt all these from. I certainly did not teach him all these.

jetstar

I am giving a $100 a month, excluding transport fares. That works out to be about $5 every school day.

I read a recent article last month about this school boy in Sec 3 that works as a runner for loansharks. He was complaining that his weekly allowance of $40 is too little. I don’t know, but that is more than the amount that i give my boy. So what exactly is too much or too little? Maybe it just boils down to the child.

jetstar

Ya, my kids lidat one!
              My son already asking me to will property to him as he is carrying the family name. He said his sister is allowed to live in the house until she gets married. Don't know where he learnt all these from. I certainly did not teach him all these.[/quote]

oh dear, that is very terrible. The only times i give monetary reward is when my children do well for his/her school exams. Even then, I am feeling somewhat guilty, as if maybe i am wrong.

In any case, maybe you want to tell your kids that you will be donating all your properties and assets to charities in the event of any unfortunate events. That will make them less reliant on wills, and force them to create their so-called dynastics? :roll:

buds hubs

jetstar:
                I am giving a $100 a month, excluding transport fares. That works out to be about $5 every school day.

I read a recent article last month about this school boy in Sec 3 that works as a runner for loansharks. He was complaining that his weekly allowance of $40 is too little. I don't know, but that is more than the amount that i give my boy. So what exactly is too much or too little? Maybe it just boils down to the child.
                :!: I dunno what to say with teens nowadays..

I dont recall ever having such luxury.. Only got $1-$2 per day incl transport.
                (Thank god for bus stamps) & had to work part time for other expenses.

I think, I would only give $3/- per day on normal school days & $4/- on days
                with CCA.. On average maybe at most $25/- per week.

jetstar

:!: I dunno what to say with teens nowadays..

I dont recall ever having such luxury.. Only got $1-$2 per day incl transport.
                  (Thank god for bus stamps) & had to work part time for other expenses.

I think, I would only give $3/- per day on normal school days & $4/- on days
                  with CCA.. On average maybe at most $25/- per week.

:celebrate:[/quote]

Precisely. I only have 50 cents a day last time. Oh well.

buds hubs

jetstar:
                    Precisely. I only have 50 cents a day last time. Oh well.

:!: ... and I thought I was the unfortunate one..

millan

znzyzyzx:
                      Sure or not ? All give so little ?

My dd gets $5 per day if it is a short day. (That is until around 2pm). For long day (CCA) , it is $10.

And she is complaining that it is not enough since her school moves to a new premise this year, and everything has doubled in price (according to her).
                      We gv $5 per day just for food allowance. My brother gives his son $50 per week so we ask him to keep quiet.. πŸ˜›

jetstar

[quote]

:!: ... and I thought I was the unfortunate one..[/quote]hahaha! Guess there is always someone better or worse. :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 12