Secondary School Pocket Money
jetstar:
hahaha! Guess there is always someone better or worse. :lol:
Yup!! I got to thank my lucky stars liao!!
thank god for all the blessings bestowed upon us!!
Huat Ah!! :celebrate: -
carebear:
And how old is your son when he asked you to will your house to him ?
Ya, my kids lidat one!
My son already asking me to will property to him as he is carrying the family name. He said his sister is allowed to live in the house until she gets married. Don't know where he learnt all these from. I certainly did not teach him all these. -
alamak :faint: laio
And how old is your son when he asked you to will your house to him ?carebear:
Ya, my kids lidat one!
My son already asking me to will property to him as he is carrying the family name. He said his sister is allowed to live in the house until she gets married. Don't know where he learnt all these from. I certainly did not teach him all these.
If my son said this n meant it
I will kick him out of the house. -
carebear:
:faint: And I've heard of a boy (more like man la..after NS le) telling the parents, he'll leave the house only if his parents pay him $XXk.
Ya, my kids lidat one!
My son already asking me to will property to him as he is carrying the family name. He said his sister is allowed to live in the house until she gets married. Don't know where he learnt all these from. I certainly did not teach him all these. -
mathsparks:
Hmmm .. they learn these things in the army ?
:faint: And I've heard of a boy (more like man la..after NS le) telling the parents, he'll leave the house only if his parents pay him $XXk.carebear:
Ya, my kids lidat one!
I am worried my kids not interest in money
when there is a call for donation, they always want to pour all out from the piggy to give all
new year ang bao also donβt want; tell them there is money inside also donβt want
like that also jialat -
Is it bcos they have too much money ?I am worried my kids not interest in money
Hahaha, good joke, money no enuf!
Is it bcos they have too much money ?verykiasu2010:
I am worried my kids not interest in money
My DS1 got 50 cents for P1 and the allowance slowly increased to $3 when he was in Sec 4. Didn't know it was a bit too little till someone pointed it out to me. He got $5 a day for poly. Both DS2 and DS3 get more due to inflation.
DS2 now gets $40 a week for poly and DS3 $25 for sec 1. This is pocket money purely for food only. Transport and everything else are paid for. If they go out with friends, they'll get extra. Of course tithes and offerings come from their own pocket.
They get it weekly. However DS3's allowance goes into a box and his wallet gets top up every day. Surprisingly, he managed to save up quite a sum. :lol:
Personally I don't believe in giving children too much money cos they may think that money falls from the sky. :roll: Still can't be too little that they may resort to other means in getting money. Have heard of older students stealing valuables like handphone from their classmates to sell while the younger ones borrow money and don't return.
Some are from disadvantaged families but there are others who don't seem to get enough no matter how much their parents give them.
So, the rule of the thumb is to check out the canteen food prices and give enough for 3 meals : recess, lunch and CCA. 
tutormum:
My DS1 got 50 cents for P1 and the allowance slowly increased to $3 when he was in Sec 4. Didn't know it was a bit too little till someone pointed it out to me. He got $5 a day for poly. Both DS2 and DS3 get more due to inflation.
DS2 now gets $40 a week for poly and DS3 $25 for sec 1. This is pocket money purely for food only. Transport and everything else are paid for. If they go out with friends, they'll get extra. Of course tithes and offerings come from their own pocket.
They get it weekly. However DS3's allowance goes into a box and his wallet gets top up every day. Surprisingly, he managed to save up quite a sum. :lol:
Personally I don't believe in giving children too much money cos they may think that money falls from the sky. :roll: Still can't be too little that they may resort to other means in getting money. Have heard of older students stealing valuables like handphone from their classmates to sell while the younger ones borrow money and don't return.
Some are from disadvantaged families but there are others who don't seem to get enough no matter how much their parents give them.
So, the rule of the thumb is to check out the canteen food prices and give enough for 3 meals : recess, lunch and CCA. 
How about fast food visits with friends, such as mcdonalds or mos burgers? Should we pay extra ? Or should we ask them to eat in school canteen? I worry she loiter around after fast food visits...but cannot be helped if there is projects right?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.