2013 P1 Registration Exercise for 2014 In-Take

3.7k Posts 210 Posters 746.9k Views 1 Watching
      SAHM_TAN

pirate:

Prehaps there's a footnote somewhere :rotflmao:

The note at the end of the registration vacancies page does suggest that MOE view P2B as having higher priority then P2C.

This is something I didn't consider becos upfront in the main policy, P2B and P2C will each have 50% of the remaining vacancies after P2A2, unless odd number.

Well, it is already happening for many schools with many not having registration at P2CS.

Guess it will be treated as same scenario as P2CS bah. The school registration will end at P2B bah.

The entire P1 admission system suggests that MOE specifically, and the govt in general, favours relationship or guanxi over general notions of fairness or inclusiveness. Hence the order P2A, P2B, P2C... Hence, if there is an odd number, P2B gets one more than P2C, and not the other way round.

This thing about 'fairness to singletons' in a ballot in the event of twins, triplets etc can also be resolved in other ways that does not involve stealing 1 space from the next phase. If the last ball that drops out belongs to the twins, the parents of the twins can always be given the choice to decide whether to send one child only to this school, or both to some other school. Then the ballot can go on fairly, no? Why steal a place from the next phase that is supposed to also have 50%? šŸ¦†

But MOE is hardwired to think: give the insiders first. The rest of you wait in line. You should be grateful that there is a school vacancy for your child at all. Just look around us. :nunchuk:

It is only this morning that I truly understand how MOE view priority for each phase.

Aiyoh not steal lah. Priority given to earlier phase.

Very cruel lah to penalise parents with twins to go different schools. We not enough SCs babies liao leh. I would much prefer for school to absorb the extra student. Meaning one or more classes to have 31 students.

kasparov

sembgal:
        The entire p1 registration system should be revamped. It not only caught the attention of the Education Minister to monitor the situation but the limited number of vacancies available in certain schools has made the situation worse. Nevertheless, in the case of twins in 2C, will the school accommodate that extra by allocating in one more vacancy for the registration procedure as what happened to phase 2B? By splitting the pie to 1 number difference higher for 2B, the school has to take away part of the pie from 2C to accommodate the twin? What logic is this?

The logic applied is that phase 2B is of a higher priority so registration is carried out before 2C. It does not always lead to it having more places in the end. In fact sometimes due to low take-up in 2B, 2C gets more places - RGPS this year is a case in point. The ballot is used as a tie-breaker but if that cannot be applied fairly a phase 2C place is taken up.

pirate

It is only this morning that I truly understand how MOE view priority for each phase.

Very cruel lah to penalise parents with twins to go different schools. We not enough SCs babies liao leh. I would much prefer for school to absorb the extra student. Meaning one or more classes to have 31 students.
          Then MOE should not say this, because it is misleading:
          [quote]Places in the school are allocated accordingly [sic šŸ˜‰ ] to the order of priority laid out in the various phases of the Primary One Registration Exercise. There will be balloting amongst the applicants if the number of applications to a school exceeds the number of vacancies available in any of the phases from Phase 2A(1) to Phase 3.

At the end of Phase 2A(2), 50% of the remaining places will be allocated for Phase 2B and the other 50% for Phase 2C registrants in a school.
          [/quote]Twins no need to go different school what. If really unlucky in ballot, they can always choose to go to a different school. Parents still have a choice. Of course, it would be much preferred for school to absorb the extra student. But the problem is MOE apparently don't want that leh. MOE prefer to take the place from P2C. Why I don't know.

now is 29 July 2013.

those of you doing Phase 2C on-line registration -
            start today, 9 am.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/primary-one-internet-system/

• Z Offline
              zoie

Hi! Can anyone help to advise me as there are still 44 vacancy for CHIJ Toa Payoh balance for Phase 2C registration, May I know is there any change for PR staying within 0.5 KM distance from CHIJ? Thanks !

• sembgalS Offline
                sembgal

I know of parent with a set of twins who preferred their children to go 2 different schools. Why? To build each individual identity.

• sembgalS Offline
                  sembgal

now is 29 July 2013.

those of you doing Phase 2C on-line registration -
                  start today, 9 am.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/primary-one-internet-system/
                  I understand that parents can register online but still need to go down to the school on another day to show documentary proof. However, I prefer the traditional way of registering the child in the school. I want to ask if parents can bring along their children when they go down to register and is it advisable to bring the child to the school? What do you think?

magiccastle

Sembgal ,

Can. Bring your girl to see n feel the school environment .
                    All the best .

• G Offline
                      gvyong

pirate:

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]Prehaps there's a footnote somewhere :rotflmao:

The note at the end of the registration vacancies page does suggest that MOE view P2B as having higher priority then P2C.

This is something I didn't consider becos upfront in the main policy, P2B and P2C will each have 50% of the remaining vacancies after P2A2, unless odd number.

Well, it is already happening for many schools with many not having registration at P2CS.

Guess it will be treated as same scenario as P2CS bah. The school registration will end at P2B bah.

The entire P1 admission system suggests that MOE specifically, and the govt in general, favours relationship or guanxi over general notions of fairness or inclusiveness. Hence the order P2A, P2B, P2C... Hence, if there is an odd number, P2B gets one more than P2C, and not the other way round.

This thing about 'fairness to singletons' in a ballot in the event of twins, triplets etc can also be resolved in other ways that does not involve stealing 1 space from the next phase. If the last ball that drops out belongs to the twins, the parents of the twins can
                      always be given the choice to decide whether to send one child only to this school, or both to some other school. Then the ballot can go on fairly, no? Why steal a place from the next phase that is supposed to also have 50%? šŸ¦†

But MOE is hardwired to think: give the insiders first. The rest of you wait in line. You should be grateful that there is a school vacancy for your child at all. Just look around us. :nunchuk:

Very cruel lah to penalise parents with twins to go different schools. We not enough SCs babies liao leh. I would much prefer for school to absorb the extra student. Meaning one or more classes to have 31 students.[/quote]Very cruel to penalise SC by still according priority to PR in phase 1 and 2a. The post-GE tweak for SC priority in 2c is feeble n MOE minister probably get more political mileage out of it than SC. Better than nothing i suppose.

• tankeeT Offline
                        tankee

sembgal:
                        I know of parent with a set of twins who preferred their children to go 2 different schools. Why? To build each individual identity.

If their parents are well supported then ok, else it would be a logistical nightmare for the next few years.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 258 / 374