* Eunoia JC (EJC)
zeemimi:
I'll first tell her make your choice carefully. And if you've chosen your partner, it's \"for better, for worse, in sickness and in health\". If things come to such a bad stage cannot be salvaged, then separate. But don't go demanding that the first suitor has to come back to you. Go and find someone else or win him back if she so wish.stetan:
Are you the parent of this girl ? If yes, I am sure you would have reacted differently :evil:
The story should go like this.
A man promised his girlfriend in 2012 that he will marry her by 2017 and promised to work hard and save enough money for a hdb flat and for the wedding. The girl, despite being of marriageable age and being courted by several suitors, decided to wait for him due to his sincerity and earnestness.
3 years later, the man told his girlfriend that he cannot marry her as he will not have enough for a wedding and hdb flat. The only thing that he can afford is only a rented 2 room flat in Jurong as he have not been working hard for the past few years. He promised that he will still marry her in 2019.
Don't the girl have a right to consider other options ?
When did the girl ever demand that the first suitor comes back ?
Isn't this what the parents here are doing - find someone else ( find another alternative )
So whats wrong with that ? especially when the man have not been faithful to his promises -
stetan:
You not following properly la. Referring to those who are demanding to go to other ip jc cos they said they can go there in the first place with their t score but had chosen the new ip jc. So now new ipjc they don't like, thus they should hv priority into other ip jc.
Isn't this what the parents here are doing - find someone else ( find another alternative )
So whats wrong with that ? especially when the man have not been faithful to his promises -
zeemimi:
You not following properly la. Referring to those who are demanding to go to other ip jc cos they said they can go there in the first place with their t score but had chosen the new ip jc. So now new ipjc they don't like, thus they should hv priority into other ip jc.stetan:
So whats wrong with that ? especially when the man have not been faithful to his promises
Please lah....they are just seeking alternatives ( finding another suitor) and transferring to another JC is just one of these alternatives.
And I believe they are in the minority. If you have any reason to believe the Majority of the parents are asking for this, please substantiate with facts lah. I am surely not one of them -
stetan:
You not following properly la. Referring to those who are demanding to go to other ip jc cos they said they can go there in the first place with their t score but had chosen the new ip jc. So now new ipjc they don't like, thus they should hv priority into other ip jc.zeemimi:
[quote=\"stetan\"]
So whats wrong with that ? especially when the man have not been faithful to his promises
Please lah....they are just seeking alternatives ( finding another suitor) and transferring to another JC is just one of these alternatives.
And I believe they are in the minority. If you have any reason to believe the Majority of the parents are asking for this, please substantiate with facts lah. I am surely not one of them[/quote]I totally agree with you. Lots of sour people here lol -
If a student has a T-score that is well eligible to enter other IP schools but chose to put the affiliated sec sch IP as first choice, then I feel that this is not asking for upgrade in the present circumstances.
What do you think - still an upgrade?
Those parents in the dialogue session who made this remark, do their child belong to the above category?
Who knows?
No one in this thread would have this piece of information, right? -
sushi88:
Balanced post. :goodpost:lee_yl:
http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/education/story/moe-mulling-over-bishan-interim-jc-site-20150527
A factual report on the dialogue with MOE on Monday night.
Many issues raised by the parents that night, went unanswered by the MOE panel. Hope to see some resolution in the coming weeks.
Can share what are the \"many issues raised that went unanswered\"?
As far as I read the report, MOE has taken a big step to review the venue of the interim site and that has already MET the main issue causing the problem. I thought that was a good cause for celebration that you have been heard. Raising irrelevant issues would only put a negative light on the parents now for trying to take advantage of the situation.
Here is some analysis to share:
1. There is no point in pushing for a new JC to be built. Safety first.
As pioneers, there has to be some good pioneer spirit shown at this point when MOE is willing to come to some form of agreement on an alternative site within Bishan itself. Hope people can see this as a win-win approach MOE is trying to extend. Detractors thought that Mt Sinai was the only site, wasn't it? And it has become more apparent that MOE is willing to discuss.
2. Frankly, with all the hoo-ha created, for any student to join any JC in yr 5, they would be frowned upon(rightfully or wrongfully) and there is no time in the 2 years to be frowned upon. Do you seriously want to subject yr kids to such pressure and hostility in an existing JC? Ask your kids if they wish to deal with that. I believe they see the charm in building their own JC culture, a pride and joy they can share as pioneers many years down the road. Please do not deprive them of the defining moments in their JC lives, it is not something everyone gets a chance to do it, it entails enterprising spirit to do that. Perhaps the future successful entrepreneur pool of bosses will come from this positively gutsy lot.
3. Instead of wasting time on unimportant issues, perhaps think what is required to make the new interim site a welcoming stay for the students.
An existing site if can be refurbished faster in the next 2 years can end up as a great site with yr input. What it takes is some active involvement with MOE to iron out any teething problems not obvious to them for the interim site, that would be a constructive partnership with MOE.
My 2 cents worth.
MOE has met with some difficulties in keeping with the plans - so affected parents have a right to feel aggrieved. Please, let's not rub it in.
The way forward is to work out best feasible solution. Getting too emotional or frustrated doesnt help. Focusing on the major issue helps instead of getting sidetracked by minor ones. Our children are more capable than we give credit, imho. -
Knowing how many students exactly you can always ask MOE.If a student has a T-score that is well eligible to enter other IP schools but chose to put the affiliated sec sch IP as first choice, then I feel that this is not asking for upgrade in the present circumstances.
Those parents in the dialogue session who made this remark, do their child belong to the above category?
Who knows?
No one in this thread would have this piece of information, right?
Why no parent who thinks a transfer is inappropriate but didn't speak up at the dialogue session against those agitated parents who demanded the transfer nobody knows.
An upgrade or transfer or whatever you call it is not right and not a right. When you have chosen this school after psle you have given up your opportunity for other schools. You don't a right to go back and choose another school. If another school agrees to take in the student after some entrance test then so be it, but saying MOE break promise blah blah blah.... to get direct transfer... :siao: -
sinoboy:
Did you attend the dialogue personally?
Knowing how many students exactly you can always ask MOE.Jennifer:
If a student has a T-score that is well eligible to enter other IP schools but chose to put the affiliated sec sch IP as first choice, then I feel that this is not asking for upgrade in the present circumstances.
Who knows?
Why no parent who thinks a transfer is inappropriate but didn't speak up at the dialogue session against those agitated parents who demanded the transfer nobody knows.
An upgrade or transfer or whatever you call it is not right and not a right. When you have chosen this school after psle you have given up your opportunity for other schools. You don't a right to go back and choose another school. If another school agrees to take in the student after some entrance test then so be it, but saying MOE break promise blah blah blah.... to get direct transfer... :siao: -
Did you attend the dialogue personally?[/quote]While I don't see how going to the dialogue session or not is related to this, and this is just a minor issue for a very small minority, I get the message and I'll shut up. :skeptical:
Knowing how many students exactly you can always ask MOE.sinoboy:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]If a student has a T-score that is well eligible to enter other IP schools but chose to put the affiliated sec sch IP as first choice, then I feel that this is not asking for upgrade in the present circumstances.
Who knows?
Of course it matter, from your posts i would have thought that you were part of the actions!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.