2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake

3.8k Posts 1 Posters 696.1k Views 1 Watching
      Stormzer

Im new to this forum!! currently im in a very bad dilemma.
      Im just gotten a "yet-to-complete" EC and already had my "option-to-purchase (OTP)" document and found out i need "sale & purchase (S&P)" documents in order to register for my child P1 registration coming end july, likely my S&P documents only coming after the 2C registration end date.

School around that new location is likely balloting every year, based on my new property im within 1km from the choice of school im trying to get my child in. currently my NRIC address is very far end from the new property im going to move into.

what should i do in my situation when i just got only "OTP" documents and maybe "S&P" document coming 1-2 weeks later? all info like Vacant procession date is also available in the OTP.

Anyone having similar issue or anyone know about how i can going about doing it the better way, been trying to chase after developers on documents but dont think i able to get it before the registration.

any advice is appreciated!!

from a very worry parent

Bellena

Dear all…I’m still can”t decide which school should I choose for my gal…I can register KH under phase 2A2 but i’m staying at SK… i need to find school bus for her as her daddy is overseas at times thus can”t drive her to school…Nan Chiau and Palm View is within 1km but under phase 2C…i really want her to go in KH but she has to wake up v early for 6 yrs as RS transport pick up at 5.45am from

SK…anyone can advise or know any bus service which don”t pick up that early like 5.45am?? Greatly appreciated!!!

school bus reach your Sengkang house 5.45 am daily (Mon to Fri ) : minus half an hour backwards, means that your child need to wake up around 5 am or 5.15 am daily, get ready for school bus to fetch child.

probably you (parent) & child can "tahan" waking up so early, for initial 2 years (P1 and P2). Come P3 (3rd year), the toil of waking up so early will start to take a burden on you. You wil dread it. Be honest, very hard "tahan" waking up so early 5 am everyday, for 6 long years ahead, because this is reality.

only way out, is :-
          either shift nearer to Kong Hwa (Guillemard road), or give up KH, enrol into a school nearer to Sengkang, during 2018 July P1 registration.

Another way out is "tahan " KH for initial 2 years (P1, P2) first, then transfer your child out to another school nearer to Sengkang, at end of P2. KH, being a SAP school : might be easier to transfer out to another Non-SAP school in / closer to Sengkang, at end of Primary 2.

last route : if you can find a private mini sch bus transport for your child. But because Sengkang is very far from Guillemard road, even if can find, be mentally prepared that such private bus transport arrangement, will be ex. You have to ask around on your own, check if any pte bus transport operator operate in / around Sengkang.

• zac's mumZ Offline
            zac's mum

Youngatheartss:

Im new to this forum and im in a tight dilemna. I have alumni with Kuo Chuan and need to travel less than 35mins via CCL to get to the school. I have 2 schools within 15-20mins which are Queenstown or NewTown. Other better schools not at option for me as I am within 1-2km so not chance in balloting. i also have another child born in 2015. :?

I am thinking to put my child in KCPS but Im just concerned the travelling be too much but i do not have good options nearby.
            My personal opinion on this: Kuo Chuan has an affiliated secondary school, which will take the stress off your kids’ PSLE.

35 min via CCL is relatively fast. I don’t think there is any jam or crowd on mrt at 6.30am in the morning??!

I used to live next door to New Town Pri. The profile and behavior of kids from that school is less than ideal. I witnessed some terrorizing the toddlers at the neighborhood playground & also on sitting on top of our HDB letterbox yelling obscenities. Which is why I never put my kid there. Queenstown Pri is probably similar.

Cloud Cloud

Youngatheartss:

Im new to this forum and im in a tight dilemna. I have alumni with Kuo Chuan and need to travel less than 35mins via CCL to get to the school. I have 2 schools within 15-20mins which are Queenstown or NewTown. Other better schools not at option for me as I am within 1-2km so not chance in balloting. i also have another child born in 2015. :?

I am thinking to put my child in KCPS but Im just concerned the travelling be too much but i do not have good options nearby.
              Since you have another child, how about moving closer to Kuo Chuan? Or how about taking school bus? Check the timing if fees are not a concern.

HHMummy

Parents, for your child’s sake please think twice about putting your child in a school too far away from home, just bcoz you are an alumni of a good/popular school. Coz even if you managed to secure that precious spot despite the odds, your child is the one suffering the long distance travel to and fro on a daily basis due to your decision.

I’m a PV myself to a popular school within 1km from home and most of the hours clocked by traffic marshal. Even though assembly is at 720am, I reach school car park as early as 620am in the mornings coz that’s around the time the 1st few school buses start dropping off the kids. Whenever I open the bus doors, my heart pains for those kids who didn’t even realised they have reached school coz they are still catching up on precious sleep in the bus! I hate to do it but I had to gently wake them up and tell them they reached school already. Then help to half carry them and half holding their bags while they alight from the bus still in a sleepy daze.

To be honest, as a mother I get angry at parents who do this to their children. Sorry if I’ve offended anyone. Just being honest and I can’t help it after what I’ve witnessed. Coz their children are the ones suffering for many years from their cruel selfish decision. If really die die must go to this school, move nearer or go to a school nearer to home. Especially when the kids move to upper primary and in crucial years like P5 & P6 whereby they start to intensively prepare for PSLE, sleep becomes a luxury and staying far from home is really not helping.

• tinywingsT Offline
                  tinywings

Youngatheartss:

Hi youngheartss,

All of us can give u different opinions but ultimately u r the one deciding. Here are my take on it:

1. I have few relatives who r teachers who taught popular n neighbourhood ones. Their advise is unless u koe the capability of your child that he or she is confidence in getting top 2 classes every yr in a neighbourhood sch. Else most of the average classes majority head to Normal stream. They usually appointment HODs or experience teachers to top 2 classes. The average classes have no motivation to strive. For popular schs is not so stress, your child can still be in average class n u be assured, becoz of the standard set and foundation imparted alr. Most usually still head to Express/Special. Think of the \"probability\" game.

2. Depends on your child's character. If he or she is a follower or is matured enough. The profile of their classmates in popular n neighbourhood schs r different. The later mostly from broken homes or disadvantage families. In terms of behaviour or studies is not so good. So if your child is those easily follow pple, e.g. see his classmate bo chap don't wanna workhard, only aim for passing, no aspirations in life, a child who has np strong willed would also grow in to these mindset. Of coz those popular schs also have bad behaviour kids but their naughtiness is smartwise-notty type. Not stupid-notty way.

3. There is a reason why some schs r in the red some pple totally avoid which only get filled up by Foreigners in phase 3. Why our own Ministers also applied their kids to popular schs. The hint not obvious?

4. I am also staying near your area. NT and QT is not favourable in terms of env. Unless u do not have high expectations for your child in the future.

5. KC is a christian mission sch, their env and teachers r more conductive n loving.

6. Check if there is sch bus service to KC. Taking Sch bus is not so tiring compared to taking the CL unless your plc is beside the MRT. I stay in QT area my child sch in bukit timah his sch bus comes 6.15am he reaches home 2.30pm. If have CCA his sch bus is back by 4.30pm. My neighbour child's is studying in a pouplar sch near my area (which i cannot get in) his bus comes 6.35am and reaches home 2.15pm. The difference in timing is not such a big deal if u compare nearby and further.

7. U have priority in phase 2A, this yr is Dragon yr, pple will \"up\" their game n secure for an earlier phase if possible.

8. Have u thought of putting your child in KC first then in p3 apply for a transfer to a better sch area your area becoz p3 there be lots of movements/vacancies due to streaming.

All the best!

Malissa

janet88:
                    Chances of getting into either Kellock or OLQP are higher than Henry Park which is in the red for balloting within 1km for SC.

Thanks for that input. So it is the correct way to read the table? Red for previous years high chance of ballot (wd say definite) and its actually “safer” to go for a green over subscription risk school thou outside of 2km vs red within 1km?

• sky minecrafterS Offline
                      sky minecrafter

:thankyou: HHMummy, tinywings, for the candid sharings.

• zac's mumZ Offline
                        zac's mum

Malissa:
                        janet88:

Chances of getting into either Kellock or OLQP are higher than Henry Park which is in the red for balloting within 1km for SC.

Thanks for that input. So it is the correct way to read the table? Red for previous years high chance of ballot (wd say definite) and its actually “safer” to go for a green over subscription risk school thou outside of 2km vs red within 1km?

Erm...the table tells you the history of the balloting. Which means balloting truly and actually occurred at that distance. Not a mere “risk” lor.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 88 / 381

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        Lumiore_SupportL
                        Lumiore_Support
                        EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring