All About Aircon (New, Maintenance, related components)
Thanks Jennifer, i have confirmed the inverter already.
Hope u hv not confirmed for inverter type. Heard more electronic parts = more replacements = outweighs cost savings in the long run.carebear:
I am changing my McQuay aircon of 7 years.
Heavy consumption and leak every 6 months.
The last straw was after the last service the air con developed a leak, and to check the leak cost $300 and was recommended to chemical clean the compressor which will cost another $300!
I read some good reviews about Kaisoon aircon company.
So this coming monday, i will be changing to mitsubitshi starmex inverter.
System 2 costs $2140 from Kaisoon aircon company.
Supposed to cut down electrical consumption by 1/3 to even 1/2!
If it is really the case, i will change the rest of the aircons in the house!
System 2 only.
My master room aircon is on almost all day, so i need an energy conserving one.
If it is good i will get system3 for the rest of the house.
If no good, then i will get the non inverter type for the other 3 rooms. -
I have got 3 Daikin system2 at home, 2 already down after 5-6 years of usage, so I am very disappointed with the durability of Daikin aircon.
I enaged a coolserve serviceman to come down last weekend to give me a quotation for my aircon replacement. I am changing from Daikin Inverter to Mitsubitshi Inverter. He says that Mitsubitshi aircon is by far the quietest in the market and eaiser to maintain/self clean. Hopefully Mitsubitshi aircon can last longer than my old Daikin.
I remember our first national panasonic aircon lasted more than 10 years and was still going strong when we sold off our apartment (many years back). -
daisyt:
What brand do u use?
1. My airon has been 10 years. So far only changed the unit in my room once about 3 years ago. I have 4 units split, the rest of the splits are still fine. -
When I moved to my new place 3 months back, there were already aircons in the 3 bedrooms. We converted the spare study room into an additional bedroom (this room was open and part of the dining room earlier). Now I need to put in an aircon for this new bedroom/study. Can anyone help me out here - I am totally clueless...What kind of an aircon can I put it? A window one? Will the window type aircon need some minimum space at the window. Since this part of the house kind of juts out (the building is designed that way), the windows are narrow as compared to the other bedrooms. Also will HDB allow us to do that since I already have a 3 split aircon. The original one is in very good condition and so I am not keen on changing the whole thing.
Any advice here will be highly appreciated!
Thanks
Vividlaurel -
Depends on how old is your HDB, and if old whether upgraded. The power supply to old flats are limited thus HDB limit 1 aircon per household. For newer flats, whete supply is not an issue, HDB allows max of 2.
If Iām not wrong, can check online on HDB website. -
Hi all,
My air con leaks, so I have to change the piping. Quite a major operation as have to dismantle concealed pipings etc⦠Received a few quotations from different companies.Cheapest $1177, Most ex $2500⦠Not sure how to choose the ārightā air con company⦠Factors to consider? Budget? I cant find any review about the air con companiesā¦
Thanks! -
Hi
Just to share my experienceā¦
Being the lazy us, we lasted 5 yrs without any servicing for our air con⦠so in Feb this year, we spent $500 getting this guy (i call him Ah Beng)⦠Ah Beng was recommended by HBās colleague for being Good and Cheap⦠that should have been a sign as good things are never cheap but silly me went aheadā¦
Ah Beng came on a Sat, spent 5 hours in my home⦠2 common room and hall units are clean so only normal washingā¦
MBR needs chemical wash as we on air con every night so thatās doneā¦
compressor oso needs chemical wash and as we stay on high floor, to avoid the chemical and dirty water from flowing out and cause inconvenience to those staying below me, we opted for the expensive option of bringing the compressor to the toilet and they did the chemical wash thereā¦
i could see Ah Beng dismantle the compressor so thatās how the 5 hours came about and the $500 billā¦
so⦠6 months later, my neighbour complained my compressor dripped rusty water and air con also not cold at this stage⦠we asked Ah Beng to come back to take a look and he wanted $40 for transportā¦
so we decided to go for CoolServe which provides free checking and we intended to sign up for their $400p.a. package which includes 4 times of servicing and we can ask them to come back foc should the air con is not cold / drip etcā¦
guess my shock when the CoolServe guys told me that 1 part of the compressor needs to be replaced and MBR and compressor both needs chemical wash as v dirty!!
i have evil tots tat Ah Beng spoilt my compressor⦠even if he did not, the chemical wash in Feb should last till Aug at the very leastā¦
i paid $1200 to CoolServe to repair my compressor as well as normal wash for 2 common room + hall⦠and chemical wash for MBR and compressorā¦
all is well again⦠CoolServe will automatically call us every 3 months to come and service and wash the units⦠we only need to pay extra if we need chemical wash / extraordinary issues else the $400 would cover allā¦
i will go for big companies going forward⦠same theory when i bought this flat, i was advised to go Gain City for the air con as they do a good job in the piping⦠which i didā¦
again, i tink its luck issues as its the people doing the job, not the brand⦠i wish you best of luck in getting good guys to solve your problem⦠-
PlayfulFairy : weāre using Dowell. you may want to call them at 64481270, and ask for Sebastian Leong.
Great sharing hapydino. Totally agreed.
Maintaining a good aircon system is important, and the reasonable money spent is well worth it.
Well maintained aircon system means better air for the family (especially those with allergies to air impurities), more efficient power usage, less noise and less hassle. -
So far, Iāve used these 2 companies and Iām happy with their service. Boom Aircond and Harvey Norman.
Cheers, -
I had used many different company before and at last found that All Best Air-Conditioning is reasonable. Why did I say is reasonable is because they will not recommend unnecessary job, price reasonable, and I got them to install a set of air-con 3 years ago and they did a good job. Pipings were installed logically, as short as possible and neat. I got a resales flat and you cannot imagined how the previous job were done. Drain pipe very very long any things stuck in between cannot be suck out. Piping layout very funny showed out in the middle of wall, so placing of furniture also having problem. You can call them at 62596266.
A friend of mine using Gain City and she is happy with their service. You can consider too.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.