Do you compare your salary with others?
Eagle-Ladybird:
No . . . I'm a friend of his wife :scared:buds:
Err.. is your friend Tiger Woods?
Friend? :evil: -
When I was working fulltime, its definitely no, no to compare salary with others, esp colleagues. if u hear people earning more than u, u wil definitely feel discouraged. if u earn more than other people, u wil discourage people.
also bearing in mind each of us have an idea of the input/ability/OT hours clocked in of each staff. even by just comparing how fast promotion came for certain people, we already feel mgt is not fair to reward some who didnt seem to have put in their fair share of work. let alone comparing salary.
now that i m earning peanuts wkg part-time, i have no qualms letting people (my colleagues included) know i dun even qualify to pay tax every year
having said that, with our well-to-do frens, we roughly know hw well each r doing by the occasional small talk on topics like hw much tax some need to set aside every year. n from hw fast some r able to upgrade their cars, houses, u get the picture. just feel happy for them that they r getting rewarded for their abilities and effort. i dun compare cos there's nothing to compare now that i m \"out of the job mkt\"... -
Yes, our ever favourite buds, how are you ?
Friend? :evil: -
my uncle used to say…
SGD1mio ah… if we work, 赚得到 (eventually depending on pay + working life) BUT 省不到 this amount in our bank account as liquid cash / savings…
i agree leh… for my league -
tempted to know others’ salary i admit…
but oso becuz of sharing my pay, i lost 1 good friend who doesn’t feel happy for me, instead jealousy kicks in and she started her nonsense towards me…
guess some friends 可以共患难 but cannot 共富贵??
after this incident, i zip… -
in all my prviouse jobs, we didn't compare salaries. i only encoutered one woman who asked me how much i earned.
but for bonus, we did discuss openly. how many months bonus? and also how much % of annual increment (with less interest though)

HyperKiasu:
Unless, it is across the board, this one super sensitive leh...but for bonus, we did discuss openly. how many months bonus? and also how much % of annual increment (with less interest though)

IMHO, it's a BIG no-no.
I have witnessed people who shared info about pay & bonuses. Then that next day, bo friend liao :roll: -
Generally I think most people do not share. Those people who try very hard to find out generally think they are not being paid enough hence wants to find out the "market rate". For me, I asked only at best couple of times in my working life but just told my ex-colleague to give me in terms of a "range" so that I get an idea of the market rate. And my ex-colleague asked me before quite insistently (after I joined new company) so I divulge only because she is more senior than me and was my supervisor so surely my pay can’t be more than hers!
Some of my junior colleagues compared and somehow got to know each other’s pay. Became very unpleasant after that! One colleague of mine will always come and ask me how many months bonus our dept. got? For some reason I always told him but he never tell me back. Quite stupid to divulge right?

I am pretty surprised to hear such a pre-dominance of opinion AGAINST sharing of salary information. I do agree its not good practice and can lead to morale issues, but we’re an open society and if my staff want to talk and compare their pay, I certainly don’t dictate against it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.