Any parents here ever felt pressurized by others?
True, it can be cheaper to buy a new printer. Sometimes after a couple of years, cannot even find the ink cartridges. We are forced in such situation when comes to IT gadges.
:rotflmao: about the printercentraljava:
Yup, precisely ...
commedian Hossan Leong expressed similar views recently ...
โDo they take the MRT? Do they take public transport? They donโt. They have no idea whatโs going on. \"
I once had a casual conversation with an 'elite' scholar a little bit abt my work involving the post office
as dropoff points for office equipment repair. He snidely remarked when their printer spoils
they just buy new one. In my heart i was sad, that even tho he came from humble background, he'd become
out of touch with the common folks' lives ...
do you know it is more expensive to buy the ink cartridges than to buy a new printer (with a set free ink cartridges) ? some more the new printer is of new model ..... if the ink cartridges is priced at not more than 20% of a new printer, if might be more useful to replace the cartridges ...... there is nothing elitist about it.
money talks or :moneyflies:
know of this girl, father owns a bicycle shop, so send her to school on bicycle
oh dear.. that is sad..RRMummy:
[quote=\"mango\"]
remind me of this relative who got into the top boy sec school but refused to let his hawker father drive him to school in his pickup.
now the girl also in a top IP school, and the father still fetches her in a van. what so wrong about it ?
be proud of your father !
even Jim Roger sends her daughter to school on a bicycle[/quote]yalor, we parents shall first better know what ไธๅไธไบข is -
I was guilty of that in my pri sch days too. I was from an elite sch and most parents who ferried their kids drove big continental cars. My dad was one of the few who drove a jap car. I was embarrassed and told him to let me off outside the sch gate. Guess what, he just continued to stop right in front of the pick-up/drop-off point where everyone was waiting.
Iโm glad my dad did not listen to me. I will be sending my kid to my alma mater in a few yrs and I would do exactly the same thing if it happens to me. -
HyperKiasu:
I guess it's easier said than done. We all know what's the right thing
yalor, we parents shall first better know what ไธๅไธไบข is
However, peer pressure is a huge thing to kids who are eager to gain acceptance -
I homeschooled my kids when they were in Kindergarten as were tempted to homeschool in Primary level but succumbed to pressure and sent them to govt sch.
When DD was in P1, I still did lots of homeschooling stuff with her cos I believe in getting the kids to have the joy of learning and shunned away from exam papers and assessment bks. Lo and behold, after a horrible SA1 results, I succumbed to pressure again and started drilling her in exam papers and assessment bks. Naturally, her interest in learning dropped drastically though her SA2 results shot up.
I struggled with the pressure for her to do well academically and pressure from my own set of belief in what education should be. Finally, after numerous struggles and tensions (with my dd), I try to strike a balance between preparing my dd n ds for the exams and getting them to enjoy learning. My view is that a little competition and push is fine, as long as the kids still have the joy in learning. However, we should stop pushing once kids show signs of hating to learn, cos that will not do them any good in the long run.
Pressure (be it external or internal) is very real and I doubt anyone can be totally oblivious to it. Guess what's important is that once in a while, we take a step back to reflect and reassess the situation we are in so as not to be sucked in the overwhelming and senseless rat-race. -
Lock:
:goodpost:
I struggled with the pressure for her to do well academically and pressure from my own set of belief in what education should be. Finally, after numerous struggles and tensions (with my dd), I try to strike a balance between preparing my dd n ds for the exams and getting them to enjoy learning. My view is that a little competition and push is fine, as long as the kids still have the joy in learning. However, we should stop pushing once kids show signs of hating to learn, cos that will not do them any good in the long run.
I run my own syllabus at home too, independent of my dd's P2 school syllabus. The next best thing to homeschooling her entirely
vicki:
Toking about comparing... i heard from a fren that in a popular all-girl school in a rich area -- apparently the primary school girls actually compare which hospital they were born in -- and if it is Raffles Hospital -- it is high class - and if it is KK - then - no class....i3mum:
I also belong to the normal doing category too & my kids are in a elite pre-school currently. Sometime I do explain to my kids there are many rich people in her school etc & they have to learn to be contented. [quote=\"daisyt\"]
I belongs to that normal doing category and my child was in this school with many rich families. This thought never come to my mind when I decided to put her there. Neither did I realised got such thing until when she was about P3. I overheard two kids comparing what type of cars their fathers had. Actually, everything was fine. A little comparasion here and there are unavoidable, just have to explain and make them understand, every family is different.
When i heard it, i was like -- err... my boys all KK kids leh!! Haha -- dont care lah -- but still kids been kids -- i think they might be 'hurt' -- but then hopefully boys dont compare such things!
In any case, will teach my kids how to retort back if he actually meet such situation. Hopefully he doesnt though.....[/quote]Aiyo, they even compare hospital???? :shock:
Mine are all KKH kids leh. Hope my kiddos dun feel ashamed, otherwise I muz have impart the wrong values to them.
cantbearit2:
I think this is apparent when kids bring their health booklets to school. My kids will come back saying x number is from KK, x number from this hospital and that hospital. Maybe not thinking along high class or low class but rather just curious. Especially when their health booklet is not so common in their class.Aiyo, they even compare hospital???? :shock:
If liddat, then those kids born in Raffles Hospital win already lor. Raffles Hospital ==> Raffles Institution ==> Raffles JC ==> Medical doctor.
I think this is apparent when kids bring their health booklets to school. My kids will come back saying x number is from KK, x number from this hospital and that hospital. Maybe not thinking along high class or low class but rather just curious. Especially when their health booklet is not so common in their class.cantbearit2:
Aiyo, they even compare hospital???? :shock:
If liddat, then those kids born in Raffles Hospital win already lor. Raffles Hospital ==> Raffles Institution ==> Raffles JC ==> Medical doctor.[/quote]oh then the mummy to be would need to go for DHA- direct hospital admission(DSA) interview in order to give birth in Raffles hospital ...
I think this is apparent when kids bring their health booklets to school. My kids will come back saying x number is from KK, x number from this hospital and that hospital. Maybe not thinking along high class or low class but rather just curious. Especially when their health booklet is not so common in their class.MMM:
[quote=\"cantbearit2\"] Aiyo, they even compare hospital???? :shock:
...lame lame.....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.