Any parents here ever felt pressurized by others?

212 Posts 54 Posters 63.7k Views 1 Watching
      Sun_2010

sleepy:
      Orchid_SG2010:

[quote=\"sleepy\"]

I run my own syllabus at home too, independent of my dd's P2 school syllabus. The next best thing to homeschooling her entirely šŸ˜‰

homeschool or hothouse?

What is hothouse? How to hothouse :?[/quote]Kiasu parent dunno what is hothouse :shock:

Ok hot house is the kind of house where in the parents have an entire curriculum for the 24 hrs in a day to meet the ultimate goal of being extremely ahead of all other kids. Like every activity the child does has a very definite purpose, and has been researched. What books to read, what books to do, the deadlines, the targets ....
      even the What the child eats is also specific to that.

In short a very focused , highly controlled, very very intensive training .
      Hothoused kids can be very very high achievers, but are they happy, well adjusted, kids with good self esteem is the more imp question...

From what i see here, sleepy u are far from it kind of mummy (u r a mummy right?). I think u r the kind who stimulates ur kids and let them take it at their own pace.

markfch

Sun_2010:

From what i see here, sleepy u are far from it kind of mummy (u r a mummy right?). I think u r the kind who stimulates ur kids and let them take it at their own pace.
        I think sleepy was not a hothouse mummy, until you planted this idea into her head, kekeke šŸ˜‰

sleepy

Sun_2010:

Kiasu parent dunno what is hothouse :shock: .
          Oops, paiseh paiseh

Sun_2010:

Ok hot house is the kind of house where in the parents have an entire curriculum for the 24 hrs in a day to meet the ultimate goal of being extremely ahead of all other kids. Like every activity the child does has a very definite purpose, and has been researched. What books to read, what books to do, the deadlines, the targets ....
          even the What the child eats is also specific to that.

In short a very focused , highly controlled, very very intensive training .
          Hothoused kids can be very very high achievers, but are they happy, well adjusted, kids with good self esteem is the more imp question...
          Oh I see. Haha, in that case my house must be freezing cold :rotflmao:

Actually this hothousing business sounds very tough to me. To hothouse, parents must firstly be super disciplined themselves!

That's mean I would have no time for shopping, watch 偶像剧, surf kiasu parents.... in order to implement that kind of timetable :faint:

Sun_2010:
          Yes yes. Just happen that her 'thinking' pace is quite fast although her physical movement is like a slow snail. Must give credit for trying though, I've recently promoted her to tortoise šŸ˜‰

Sun_2010

Sun_2010:

I think sleepy was not a hothouse mummy, until you planted this idea into her head, kekeke šŸ˜‰

Dun wan to bee responsible for this crime .
            😢 😢

:offtopic:
            do u know that there is a HotHouse Educational Services Pte Ltd which specialises in maths? And ACS in collaboration with them conducts the Maths olympiad for P5 kids.
            Somehow was surprised that an enrichment centre would want to be named that... neways what is in a name šŸ˜›

cantbearit2

sleepy:

Oh I see. Haha, in that case my house must be freezing cold :rotflmao:

Yes yes. Just happen that her 'thinking' pace is quite fast although her physical movement is like a slow snail. Must give credit for trying though, I've recently promoted her to tortoise šŸ˜‰
              Haha...u r so funny...!!!!!

cantbearit2

chrismei:

4 years old able to write compo? born in 06?
                Nope, born in 04 (she asked this when my DD was 4 y.o.).

[/quote]My friend asked if DD(going to be 4 yrs old) can read as her DD (2yrs 11 mths) to be K2 standard assessed by a centre n no other centres will accept her DD.[/quote]

Read at 2 years 11 mths? Wow, impressive!!!!

[/quote]How did she manage to do it? My friend self taught her by breaking words not phonics everyday from 8p.m to 10pm...n her DD will be rewarded with toys, outings if she can achieved her mission such as reading 4 storybooks everyday...She said it was tough initially but after implemented the system, it worked...i did not follow her method cos tot that it is not quite right as children should be self-motivated if possible.....[/quote]

Like very siong leh.... If only 1 kid maybe can try, but I've got 3 kids leh!!!! They spent whole day in childcare, back at home ard 7pm, finish dinner at 7.30pm, bath at 8.30pm and sleep at 9.30pm. How to squeeze in the time????

sleepy

chrismei:
                  How did she manage to do it? My friend self taught her by breaking words not phonics everyday from 8p.m to 10pm...n her DD will be rewarded with toys, outings if she can achieved her mission such as reading 4 storybooks everyday...She said it was tough initially but after implemented the system, it worked...i did not follow her method cos tot that it is not quite right as children should be self-motivated if possible.....

I agreed with you, children should be self motivated. I don't believe in reward system.
                  My dd's classmate told her his daddy promised him $50 if he made it to top 10. My dd replied she didn't even receive a 50 cents reward :rotflmao:

chrismei

Cantbearit 2 (quote)

Like very siong leh.... If only 1 kid maybe can try, but I've got 3 kids leh!!!! They spent whole day in childcare, back at home ard 7pm, finish dinner at 7.30pm, bath at 8.30pm and sleep at 9.30pm. How to squeeze in the time????[/quote]

Her only DD who refused to sleep till 12 am... To her, 2 kids are the same as 1...cos i told her i cant do that as i have 2 kids...She just enrolled her gal to piano after the centre advised that children who played piano will do well in result. ..:)

cantbearit2

chrismei:
                      Cantbearit 2 (quote)

Like very siong leh.... If only 1 kid maybe can try, but I've got 3 kids leh!!!! They spent whole day in childcare, back at home ard 7pm, finish dinner at 7.30pm, bath at 8.30pm and sleep at 9.30pm. How to squeeze in the time????
                      Her only DD who refused to sleep till 12 am... To her, 2 kids are the same as 1...cos i told her i cant do that as i have 2 kids...She just enrolled her gal to piano after the centre advised that children who played piano will do well in result. ..:)[/quote]

2 kids and 1 kid definitely not the same leh....!!!! When DD1 does her homework and needs my guidance, DD2 will always come and \"disturb\" me leh. I am not able to give DD1 my full attn leh. 😢

Did u intro her to KSP website? If yes, her poor kid may be enrolled into a lot of other classes too. :lol:

nonKiasu

This world is made up of different types of people. Some parents will spare no effort to ensure that their kids are given a perceived headstart over others, for eg by registering in top sch, by enrichment and what not.

I also have friends who are very sure about themselves. This group of parents does not succumb to the frenzy of the rat race. They are really cool and collected during P1 registration. And a lot of the parents I know from this group were actually formerly from top sch themselves (but not pri level). They say that let nature take its course, whatever will be will be.

My qn for this post is this. If you belong to the latter group, do you feel unneccessary pressurized when your peers are telling you they're doing this and that for their kids, and you're not. How do you handle this situation?
                        Hmm, are you looking for me :lol: Just saw this thread and can't finish reading all.
                        I think I am not as kancheong as many of the parents in this website.
                        I started to look for enrichment classes for my DDs when they finished their N2 in childcare in Dec. Reason: ganna complaint by the teacher that they don't know many things (things that teacher claimed basic). That's how I found KSP website. Till date, my DDs attend only Berries (2 terms in K1, 2 terms in K2 bec a bit lazy and also too ex). Choose Chinese classes as the sch 200m from my house is a SAP school. Ha, knew its a SAP sch only when my DD is in N1. So, a bit scared and sign up in K1 term 1.
                        Last Aug, then call up the sch for PV only to realised the deadline is over (not hard working enough to check up this website) :oops: Luckily, no balloting for < 1km under 2C this yr and we got in.
                        Last mth, then start looking for P1 prep class. Till now haven't sign up one. Only left 4 mths, maybe forget it.
                        As there is a Kumon free trial last mth, we went for its math test and they said my DDs hv to start their worksheet on tracing the numbers bec they strokes are wrong (e.g zero must be anti-clockwise, 5 is not 1 stroke). Hmm, what's wrong, as long as everyone knows what my sons are writing! Eventually, I didn't go for their trial lesson as well bec don't quite in line with their methodolgy.
                        Oh yes, ever attended a lousy Phonic class in CC when they are in K1 and I give it up too.
                        I trying teaching them at home but most of time still quite blur on what and how to teach.
                        I realised I only ganna pressurized by teacher. And its a short span only. Guess, it's in me?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 22