Any parents here ever felt pressurized by others?
sleepy:
Wow. Don't think anyone can top that. She should be given an award.jtoh:
Hahaha! Kiasu mothers are very resourceful. I've had a mother I've never seen before come up to me in a shopping centre (not even in school) and ask me if so-and-so is my dd and how she managed to do well in her studies etc. She knew ALOT about my dd. And her daughter's not even in the same year!
:rotflmao: wow, this is ultimate!
Being stalked?
keroppi:
Wow. Don't think anyone can top that. She should be given an award.[/quote] :lol: I hope I wasn't being stalked. But I did see her in two different shopping centres subsequently. Oh dear!!sleepy:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]Hahaha! Kiasu mothers are very resourceful. I've had a mother I've never seen before come up to me in a shopping centre (not even in school) and ask me if so-and-so is my dd and how she managed to do well in her studies etc. She knew ALOT about my dd. And her daughter's not even in the same year!
:rotflmao: wow, this is ultimate!
Being stalked?
Orchid_SG2010:
homeschool or hothouse?sleepy:
I run my own syllabus at home too, independent of my dd's P2 school syllabus. The next best thing to homeschooling her entirely
How to hothouse :? -
sleepy:
homeschool or hothouse?Orchid_SG2010:
[quote=\"sleepy\"]
I run my own syllabus at home too, independent of my dd's P2 school syllabus. The next best thing to homeschooling her entirely
What is hothouse? How to hothouse :?[/quote]Kiasu parent dunno what is hothouse :shock:
Ok hot house is the kind of house where in the parents have an entire curriculum for the 24 hrs in a day to meet the ultimate goal of being extremely ahead of all other kids. Like every activity the child does has a very definite purpose, and has been researched. What books to read, what books to do, the deadlines, the targets ....
even the What the child eats is also specific to that.
In short a very focused , highly controlled, very very intensive training .
Hothoused kids can be very very high achievers, but are they happy, well adjusted, kids with good self esteem is the more imp question...
From what i see here, sleepy u are far from it kind of mummy (u r a mummy right?). I think u r the kind who stimulates ur kids and let them take it at their own pace. -
Sun_2010:
I think sleepy was not a hothouse mummy, until you planted this idea into her head, kekeke
From what i see here, sleepy u are far from it kind of mummy (u r a mummy right?). I think u r the kind who stimulates ur kids and let them take it at their own pace.
Sun_2010:
Oops, paiseh paiseh
Kiasu parent dunno what is hothouse :shock: .Sun_2010:
Oh I see. Haha, in that case my house must be freezing cold :rotflmao:
Ok hot house is the kind of house where in the parents have an entire curriculum for the 24 hrs in a day to meet the ultimate goal of being extremely ahead of all other kids. Like every activity the child does has a very definite purpose, and has been researched. What books to read, what books to do, the deadlines, the targets ....
even the What the child eats is also specific to that.
In short a very focused , highly controlled, very very intensive training .
Hothoused kids can be very very high achievers, but are they happy, well adjusted, kids with good self esteem is the more imp question...
Actually this hothousing business sounds very tough to me. To hothouse, parents must firstly be super disciplined themselves!
That's mean I would have no time for shopping, watch å¶åå§, surf kiasu parents.... in order to implement that kind of timetable :faint:Sun_2010:
Yes yes. Just happen that her 'thinking' pace is quite fast although her physical movement is like a slow snail. Must give credit for trying though, I've recently promoted her to tortoiseFrom what i see here, sleepy u are far from it kind of mummy (u r a mummy right?). I think u r the kind who stimulates ur kids and let them take it at their own pace.
Dun wan to bee responsible for this crime .
I think sleepy was not a hothouse mummy, until you planted this idea into her head, kekekeSun_2010:
From what i see here, sleepy u are far from it kind of mummy (u r a mummy right?). I think u r the kind who stimulates ur kids and let them take it at their own pace.
:offtopic:
do u know that there is a HotHouse Educational Services Pte Ltd which specialises in maths? And ACS in collaboration with them conducts the Maths olympiad for P5 kids.
Somehow was surprised that an enrichment centre would want to be named that... neways what is in a name
sleepy:
Haha...u r so funny...!!!!!
Oh I see. Haha, in that case my house must be freezing cold :rotflmao:
Yes yes. Just happen that her 'thinking' pace is quite fast although her physical movement is like a slow snail. Must give credit for trying though, I've recently promoted her to tortoise
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
chrismei:
Nope, born in 04 (she asked this when my DD was 4 y.o.).
4 years old able to write compo? born in 06?
[/quote]My friend asked if DD(going to be 4 yrs old) can read as her DD (2yrs 11 mths) to be K2 standard assessed by a centre n no other centres will accept her DD.[/quote]
Read at 2 years 11 mths? Wow, impressive!!!!
[/quote]How did she manage to do it? My friend self taught her by breaking words not phonics everyday from 8p.m to 10pm...n her DD will be rewarded with toys, outings if she can achieved her mission such as reading 4 storybooks everyday...She said it was tough initially but after implemented the system, it worked...i did not follow her method cos tot that it is not quite right as children should be self-motivated if possible.....[/quote]
Like very siong leh.... If only 1 kid maybe can try, but I've got 3 kids leh!!!! They spent whole day in childcare, back at home ard 7pm, finish dinner at 7.30pm, bath at 8.30pm and sleep at 9.30pm. How to squeeze in the time???? -
chrismei:
How did she manage to do it? My friend self taught her by breaking words not phonics everyday from 8p.m to 10pm...n her DD will be rewarded with toys, outings if she can achieved her mission such as reading 4 storybooks everyday...She said it was tough initially but after implemented the system, it worked...i did not follow her method cos tot that it is not quite right as children should be self-motivated if possible.....
I agreed with you, children should be self motivated. I don't believe in reward system.
My dd's classmate told her his daddy promised him $50 if he made it to top 10. My dd replied she didn't even receive a 50 cents reward :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.