YOG in Singapore

180 Posts 37 Posters 45.3k Views 1 Watching
      Way2GO

is dis right?

I felt indignant when I chanced upon dis.
      http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TsuHoA9
      Dis food was served to YOG volunteers.
      It was reported in d press dat d athletes were served
      a good wide range of food buffet style at YOG village.
      SFI won a SGD5.5 mil contract to cater meals for YOG.
      If we add 3,600 athletes + 1,500 officials + ~ 2,000 volunteers
      and SFI caters 3 meals x 14 days x 7,000 headcount,
      3 meals/day + supper, tea break = S$55/day

Do u think d food served + dessert + drink is worth dat price?
      If athletes + officials get served better food,
      Why r our own volunteers treated dis way?

Can 😢

:!: The food looked lack in nutrition value if this was served to the volunteers.

Way2GO

Low Wei Jie

12 yo, Compassvale Pri Sch student taking PSLE dis year.
          Most of u would hv come to know of dis by now.

LWJ followed d torch relay in North East district
          in his flip flops for 15 km in d rain for ~2.5 hours.
          YOG officials, looking for some inspiration
          when many other Singaporeans seem disinterested in YOG,
          jumped on d bandwagon n elevated him to an instant ‘hero’.

LWJ receives more than his 15 minutes of fame:
          1. He was feted at his next school assembly n presented
          with a new Panasonic waterproof digital camera.
          2. Front page news on ST (Wed’s ed).
          3. SYOGOC made him a torch bearer d next day.
          His family, schoolmates n teachers were bused to Kay Siang Road to rally him on.
          4. His MP presented him with four tickets for d YOG opening ceremony yesterday.

http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aVNML2J

Though I am cynical of such herd instinct n sudden display of affection
          of people for LWJ to serve their own purposes,
          I also applaud LWJ for his free spirit, true grit and
          him putting aside small physical discomforts to pursue his interest.
          He will remember dis for d rest of his life.
          I hope he realizes n never lose dat free spirit, passion n determination of his youth.

Way2GO

Where can I buy one of those YOG 2010 torch?

vlim

Just watched the YOG opening ceremony show on TV..looks good..Well done to the organising committee! :celebrate:

Way2GO

Christine Ridenour, Canadian triathlete

I luv dis girl’s spirit.
                She was tipped as a medal favourite but crashed out
                while helping to organize d lead pack during d final lap
                in d cycling segment in dis morn’s triathlon.
                She didn’t blame anybody.
                She said “It was a bad judgment call on my part.
                I tried to get us organised and dropped back so I was in line
                with the girls when they crashed.”

“When I crashed I thought,
                ‘OK, this is another challenge I have to face today.
                I’ve never not finished a race
                ,”.
                Great spirit n character.
                If only my DS was older... 😉 😉

daisyt

I was there hanging around Esplanade there, watching the arrival of the torch in the phoenix, the amazing fireworks (better than NDP one). :rahrah:

Brenda10

Going with DD and my nephew to watch a YOG Hockey’s Preliminary tomorrow and hope to experience the excitement of the events. The ticket came with a beautiful DBS Visa Prepare Card which provides the free traveling on Public transport for watching the match. :lol:

vlim

the fire phoenix boat.....watch it from Tv...very impressive.. 😄

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

is dis right?

I felt indignant when I chanced upon dis.
                        http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=TsuHoA9
                        Dis food was served to YOG volunteers.
                        It was reported in d press dat d athletes were served
                        a good wide range of food buffet style at YOG village.
                        SFI won a SGD5.5 mil contract to cater meals for YOG.
                        If we add 3,600 athletes + 1,500 officials + ~ 2,000 volunteers
                        and SFI caters 3 meals x 14 days x 7,000 headcount,
                        3 meals/day + supper, tea break = S$55/day

Do u think d food served + dessert + drink is worth dat price?
                        If athletes + officials get served better food,
                        Why r our own volunteers treated dis way?

Can 😢
                        Judging from your estimation above, no wonder overrun budget lah??!! :x
                        wonder if there were ever any '3 quotes' for such provision?

I think in the SAF, they also chargevery high per head per meal....much probably about double what one wld have to pay for when buying from normal kopitiam....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 18