Flood @ Orchard, Newton, Bukit Timah, Cantonment Road
Dr. Yaacob Ibrahim, Minister for Environment & water Resources,
Honestly, Way2GO, I don't think any of our Ministers are plumbers or civil engineers. That \"fact\" must have been told to them by some resident experts in the civil service. If anything, it is those experts that will be spending lots of sleepless nights each time it rains, for having said the wrong thing.
was a practicing structural engineer bf
receiving his PhD and previously taught at NUS.
Mr Tan Gee Paw, PUB chairman was the sole recipient
of the highest National Day award (DARJAH UTAMA BAKTI CEMERLANG)
this year and was headlined in ST.
IMHO, the timing and headlining of this award broadcast
a msg dat PUB is faultless in its job execution.
Why after ascribing the floods to a choked culvert,
unexpected heavy rains, freak 50 year occurrence, Typhoon Conson etc,
and the explanations being turned on its head by repeated floods,
is there silence from the Ministry?
Dis gahmen n civil service have always prided themselves
on planning ahead. Wat gives now?
If it is a temporary situation dat will pass, why not just say so?
If there is miscalculation in urban planning, why not say so
n let d ppl know when d infrastructure will be up?
Why d Minister is so quiet on dis issue? -
:idea: waiting for the rain to stop,Stomper bukit Timah Road 3.45 pm 22nd Sep 2010
http://postimage.org/image/2odeiudc4/
http://postimage.org/image/2odg6dptw/
The floods
Minister once said,
\"A fifty years freak flood\". NOW
A wall of silence
:roll:
please be patient, ok? -
dunnoleh:
dat's an act of GOD too!
:idea: waiting for the rain to stop,
please be patient, ok?
should everyone face d wall of silence
n meditate to keep calm? :lol: -
and maybe pray hard, rain stop faster?
dat's an act of GOD too!dunnoleh:
please be patient, ok?
n meditate to keep calm? :lol:
still waiting for the experts to tell him what to say ma.
... Why d Minister is so quiet on dis issue?ChiefKiasu:
Honestly, Way2GO, I don't think any of our Ministers are plumbers or civil engineers. That \"fact\" must have been told to them by some resident experts in the civil service. If anything, it is those experts that will be spending lots of sleepless nights each time it rains, for having said the wrong thing.
raining again these few days, all the experts so busy, no time to see him. -
Just love the general action that is taken.
After the spate of trees falling, I noticed that all of a sudden, trees in Singapore all started sporting new haircutsβ¦in some cases cut until like nsmen like that. -
dunnoleh:
and maybe pray hard, rain stop faster?
dat's an act of GOD too!Way2GO:
[quote=\"dunnoleh\"]
please be patient, ok?
n meditate to keep calm? :lol:
[/quote]did i see you wrote rain stop faster or rain drop faster ? :evil:
not reported in any of today's papers leh .... or it missed my eyes, or reporter kena ... wat har ?Stomper bukit Timah Road 3.45 pm 22nd Sep 2010
http://postimage.org/image/2odeiudc4/
http://postimage.org/image/2odg6dptw/
The floods
Minister once said,
\"A fifty years freak flood\". NOW
A wall of silence
:roll: -
I don't like it.
Yes yes me too notice the same and looking very nice :celebrate:hquek:
After the spate of trees falling, I noticed that all of a sudden, trees in Singapore all started sporting new haircuts...in some cases cut until like nsmen like that.
Where we live on Thomson/Upper Thomson Road, some of the old trees now look so bare and sad. It used to be a very nice drive with a very lush view
duriz:
Better be safe than sorry, fren
I don't like it.hquek:
After the spate of trees falling, I noticed that all of a sudden, trees in Singapore all started sporting new haircuts...in some cases cut until like nsmen like that.
Where we live on Thomson/Upper Thomson Road, some of the old trees now look so bare and sad. It used to be a very nice drive with a very lush view
u know d case of d unfortunate chap
who was crashed in his car from a fallen tree branch
during a heavy rain?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.