Club Only Child Club
Brenda10:
My girl not like that.
My girl also behave this way. Sometime she also likes to change the rule of the game.mom74:
I am 36 with a 6yrs old boy only.
Same to songeeling, everywhere I go people will ask me to try another baby to accompany my only child.
I don't know is it due to only child symptom, he always like to win when playing game -
daisyt:
My girl not like that.[/quote]Thanks for sharing.
My girl also behave this way. Sometime she also likes to change the rule of the game.Brenda10:
[quote=\"mom74\"]I am 36 with a 6yrs old boy only.
Same to songeeling, everywhere I go people will ask me to try another baby to accompany my only child.
I don't know is it due to only child symptom, he always like to win when playing game
Perhaps every child has different character. -
songeeling:
Yes and No. I am an only child myself so to me it is no big deal I still survive.I'm 35 and with only one 3 yr old toddler.recently,everywhere i go,pp will start suggesting having another baby......saying she will feel very lonely when we are gone........i never think that far
really stress me out...is it really a very big problem to only have one child?
My grandma was bedridden for years and it was to have my aunt and uncles support - both physcially and financially. So when it comes to 1 child to support 2 old folks in the future it is tough.
Sometimes having an only kid is not by choice just that we can't pop another... :lol: -
Brenda10:
Thanks for sharing.
My girl not like that.daisyt:
[quote=\"Brenda10\"]
My girl also behave this way. Sometime she also likes to change the rule of the game.
Perhaps every child has different character.[/quote]They seem to exhibit some traits that people on the street can straightaway tell that they are only kids....
I am signing up for membership here! hahaha

I also feel that people should seriously reconsider this \"yang er fang liao\" mentality. We will never get out of this loop if we continue and next time, we will hear our children complaining about the same things we are: support parents, and support children and not enough this, or that... GOVT should do more for this and that.
I like the idea of checking myself into a retirement home in the future and when I tell people that, they respond with shocked faces and then say, \"You poor thing!\" Ha haha ha.. of course i will teach my girl to be filial and respectful but I will not tie her down with my old age and the string of problems that come with it.
I know a family... perfect no. of 4...
both children are working and their combined income is 15k. Parents are in their late 50s early 60s. Both children aren't married.. and live with their parents in a HDB flat.
Yet, none of the children give their parents allowance. -
krazy:
Hi Krazy,I am signing up for membership here! hahaha

I also feel that people should seriously reconsider this \"yang er fang liao\" mentality. We will never get out of this loop if we continue and next time, we will hear our children complaining about the same things we are: support parents, and support children and not enough this, or that... GOVT should do more for this and that.
I like the idea of checking myself into a retirement home in the future and when I tell people that, they respond with shocked faces and then say, \"You poor thing!\" Ha haha ha.. of course i will teach my girl to be filial and respectful but I will not tie her down with my old age and the string of problems that come with it.
both children are working and their combined income is 15k. Parents are in their late 50s early 60s. Both children aren't married.. and live with their parents in a HDB flat.
Yet, none of the children give their parents allowance.
I have the same thinking as you - checking into a retirement home myself.
My DS can come and visit me anytime if he wants to. If he doesnt want to also bopian. More importantly, dont want him to be sandwich btn me and his wife.
I told my DS - I do not expect much just dont be a bum after graduation and ask me for $$$. I only plan for my retirement expenses not yours. :lol: -
I remember in one of the meet teachers session when dd was in P4. Somehow was chatting with the form teacher and talk about my dd was a single child. The teacher was very surprised. She commented, dd showed no sign of single child. Very independent, helpful and caring to classmates.
Yeah.. It's really how parents bring up the child. My girl's teachers, be it in school or church used to ask me this question : does yr child have many siblings? Because she always draws herself with her jie jie, and kor kor.\"
My reply. Single child but she has lots of friends and now tt my sisters have children, she has cousins to play with. My girl is exceptionally sociable and when she was in sch for nursery 1, her teacher was surprised tt she hadn't been in play group cuz she was integrating so well with her peers.
Single child doesn't mean they are lonely. They need to be exposed to other children and it's the job of the parents to let them. If all the child does is stay at home, then the child will really have problems interacting with pp in e future.daisyt:
I remember in one of the meet teachers session when dd was in P4. Somehow was chatting with the form teacher and talk about my dd was a single child. The teacher was very surprised. She commented, dd showed no sign of single child. Very independent, helpful and caring to classmates.
mom74:
I'm checking in as the dad of an only child...I am 36 with a 6yrs old boy only.
I don't know is it due to only child symptom, he always like to win when playing game
My son always likes to win when playing games too, but I don't think it's due to the fact that he's an only child .
I think it's due to genes because I absolutely hate to lose when I was a child, but I'm not the only child! And I always lost to my elder sibling in games :stupid: -
famangelina31:
Hi famangelina & Krazy,
Hi Krazy,krazy:
I am signing up for membership here! hahaha

Yet, none of the children give their parents allowance.
I have the same thinking as you - checking into a retirement home myself.
My DS can come and visit me anytime if he wants to. If he doesnt want to also bopian. More importantly, dont want him to be sandwich btn me and his wife.
I told my DS - I do not expect much just dont be a bum after graduation and ask me for $$$. I only plan for my retirement expenses not yours. :lol:
I know this sound crazy...but hubby & I actually have the same thoughts.
The other day hubby was saying...we should not let BB know how much savings or ins we have. Was saying we must have our own money when r old.
I totally agree....BB may not want to stay with us when he grows up. So we have to be prepared. Again...I agree. Although we both hope that BB will provide for us...but we are not totally \"lao wan gu\" as he will have his own problems by then.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.