Name in IC
One trend I notice recently, more and more Singaporeans introducing themselves with their Chinese names. Some although have a \"Christian\" name won't use it.

duriz:
Ya lor, my Chinese handwritting is super super ugly lor. Looks like primary school one.daisyt:
The worst thing was, the Chinese character name must be hand written by one of the parent. And my dd's birthcert has that very ugly looking hand written chinese character by ME!!!!

Aww poor Mummy daisyt.
Now birth cert computer printed.
So DD's birth cert does not bear my atrocious handwriting.
Heng :oops:
daisyt:
Yeah, we also went a bit old school and did Tan Ping Guo, Apple ιθΉζ.
My child's name on IC is also in this format. Tan Ping Guo, Apple ιθΉζ. We do not want a dialet to English translated name eg. Tan Peng Guo. Feel more comfortable to use han yu pin ying - Ping Guo but Tan must follow the dialet and not Chen. And the so call \"Christian name\" Apple is behind the main name. We are quite particular on this.hapydino:
hi jtoh
i mean to say, i tot example : \"Apple Tan ιθΉζ\" is good and simple in a birth cert and later on in IC
but my husband insisted on spelling out ie he wants the birth cert to show \"Apple Tan Ping Guo ιθΉζ\"
he feel this is more 'proper' and others / teachers won't ask how come this child dun have a proper name in future.
The worst thing was, the Chinese character name must be hand written by one of the parent. And my dd's birthcert has that very ugly looking hand written chinese character by ME!!!!
I had to choose the chinese name very carefully cos I wanted to use hanyupinyin on the BC, without a \"dialect name\" so characters like \"bin\" would be out. :lol:
cos i find it quite hard to come up with dialect spelling, esp since we don't speak dialect these days. or rather, the dialects that my inlaws speak do not belong to their dialect group. -
daisyt:
my DD too, Apple put behind as we both feel the surname is more impt so comes first ie Tan Ping Guo Apple ιθΉζ. and yes, we use hanyu pinyin directly to spell out the name. same like u, we use dialet surname ie Tan instead of Chen.My child's name on IC is also in this format. Tan Ping Guo, Apple ιθΉζ. We do not want a dialet to English translated name eg. Tan Peng Guo. Feel more comfortable to use han yu pin ying - Ping Guo but Tan must follow the dialet and not Chen. And the so call \"Christian name\" Apple is behind the main name. We are quite particular on this.

when i did my IC i oso choose to let my English name go to the back and surname comes first.
oh, DD's birth cert we printed a page full of her chinese name characters and go there choose the 'right size' to cut and paste on it.
kiasu hoh.
duriz:
Thank you hapydino.hapydino:
[quote=\"duriz\"]DD has her name in English and in Chinese characters (by choice) in her birth certificate.
nice and simple.. :love:
Her name is e.g. Apple Tan ιθΉ
Single name both langugages, one surname.
No dialect, pinyin nor other names.
Next time need to do correction work or exam in school, can write her name faster and easier than a lenghty one :D[/quote]i agree, till today i still have this naggy feeling i should have insisted on doing DD's birth cert as Apple Tan, ιθΉζ.. so much nicer and simpler.. straightforward, easy to write.. sigh.. i feel why must spell out the Ping Guo so as to let people know how to pronounce huh..
but well, my DH seldom refuse to budge, this was 1 of the few incidents he stood his ground.. -
same here lah.
I thot just chen ping guo, Apple (ιθΉζ) will do but DH insists must be
Apple Tan Peng Gor, chen ping guo (ιθΉζ). Told him no need dialect name but he insists say important cos that is his dialect.
Irony is DH doesnβt even speak the language to the kids or his parents. -
wow so many parents got their DD with the same name, Apple Tan Peng Gor (Chen Ping Guo) ιθΉζβ¦ you all gang up one ar? hahaβ¦
Anyway, to write name "as in NRIC" doesnβt need to include the hanyupinyin even if the hanyupinyin is in the IC. -
Yalor.wow so many parents got their DD with the same name, Apple Tan Peng Gor (Chen Ping Guo) ιθΉζ.. you all gang up one ar? haha..
Anyway, to write name \"as in NRIC\" doesn't need to include the hanyupinyin even if the hanyupinyin is in the IC.
We all married Ah Tan and love apples. -
duriz:
Apple now the in thing wat everywhere you go you see Apple this Apple that and their shares sky rocketing. Good name, good name.
Yalor.limlim:
wow so many parents got their DD with the same name, Apple Tan Peng Gor (Chen Ping Guo) ιθΉζ.. you all gang up one ar? haha..
Anyway, to write name \"as in NRIC\" doesn't need to include the hanyupinyin even if the hanyupinyin is in the IC.
We all married Ah Tan and love apples. -
Apple now the in thing wat everywhere you go you see Apple this Apple that and their shares sky rocketing. Good name, good name.
True that :celebrate:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.