All About Market Rates of Private Tutors
Pen88n:
I love this \"osmosis\", \"diffusion\" theory. It happens to my eldest kid. Come exam, the book will be left under the head - 24 7 with lights on the whole night through .... give up nagging after so many years. Even now still happening. Maybe it really works.. :lol:
... Atutor's book must have \"osmosis\" or \"diffusion\" capabilities then......travel thru' air into your kid's brain :laugh: -
Yes Yes...you mean your dd or you voted \"Yes\"? :evil:Brenda10:
[quote=\"ksi\"]The 2 who voted \"Yes\" must be tutors... :rotflmao:
Hi KSI
Still remember dd ever said want to keep those notes/materials in case in future she may give tution to P5 students.
[/quote]No leh. I never voted lah. So far any maths problem we can raise under PSLE - Maths for help. There are so many 武林高手 here 拔刀相助.
Of course I hope that we have the least post there. -
The 2 who voted \"Yes\" must be tutors... :rotflmao:
or doctors or lawyers or big time businessmen :rotflmao: -
what is the definition of ‘top range’ tutor ?
what is the visible / tangible result to be delivered ? -
atutor2001:
Tell your hubby to re-consider, can? If you take a look at lots of self-improvement books, they are also very simple in concept. It's how those gurus expand and package the whole deal round it. It's what they call effective marketing :evil:
I thought your suggestion was a great idea. But he says the contents of his book will be so simple and nobody will buy - just 2 lines : Use hand for girls and canes for boys. They are the best education tools.. Hehehe (just kidding - please do not follow)markfch:
... Can ask your hubby to write a book on how to cultivate top students or not?
$1000 per book I also buy. But must guarantee 270+ hor :rotflmao:
Just remember to put the PSLE scores of your 3 kids in the cover page & I guarantee your book will sell like hot cakes (not kidding). Double platinum anytime. -
Tell your hubby to re-consider, can? If you take a look at lots of self-improvement books, they are also very simple in concept. It's how those gurus expand and package the whole deal round it. It's what they call effective marketing :evil:
I thought your suggestion was a great idea. But he says the contents of his book will be so simple and nobody will buy - just 2 lines : Use hand for girls and canes for boys. They are the best education tools.. Hehehe (just kidding - please do not follow)atutor2001:
[quote=\"markfch\"]
... Can ask your hubby to write a book on how to cultivate top students or not?
$1000 per book I also buy. But must guarantee 270+ hor :rotflmao:
Just remember to put the PSLE scores of your 3 kids in the cover page & I guarantee your book will sell like hot cakes (not kidding). Double platinum anytime.[/quote]ooooi, you are 94 posts away from Grand Master Mark! -
Top range tutor in my mind means teachers or ex-teachers who are in a league of their own. For eg, they are part of the group that sets the PSLE papers, or part of a team came up with some innovative soln such as the Stellar reading programme etc. Or some other MOE award-winning teachers.what is the definition of 'top range' tutor ?
what is the visible / tangible result to be delivered ?
You know, not just your run-of-the-mill types of teachers. The aim of hiring these teachers is to shift the student's grade from low A* to high A*. Would anyone mind paying this kind of money for it? -
markfch
Firstly, a pupil who can score A* irrespective of how low, should not require any private tuition. Instead, independent learning is to be encouraged and cultivated. This is right in the long run leading to university.
Secondly, is difficult to determine whether such super private tutors are fully responsible for a kid’s success. Such tutors are more likely to add value to the above average ones than the super performers.
Thirdly the child will take the cue from the parents that he/she need not excercise much initiative but rely on these super private tutors to propel their grades to high A* This will dampen his/her creativity and only seek to reproduce robotics high end PSLE scorers. The impact will be closely felt at later stage of life.
Fourthly, paying $100 is way above market price regardless of how outstanding these private tutors are. Parents must teach kids financial literacy.
The last pt is parents who agreed to such demand will never realise the true potential of their kids. Its better to experience some dissapointing results in non-critical tests/assesments and come out stronger ready to compete for academic honours and take the real challenge in life. -
I kept my son's lower block Science notes in the hope that my daughter will be able to use them.Brenda10:
[quote=\"ksi\"]The 2 who voted \"Yes\" must be tutors... :rotflmao:
Hi KSI
Still remember dd ever said want to keep those notes/materials in case in future she may give tution to P5 students.
ONLY tutors will vote YES to charging $100/hr.[/quote]I beg to differ, I am a tutor myself and I vote NO.
I have even rejected students who were doing well in school. If the child is constantly scoring band 1, why does he/she need tuition? Once, a parent told me that she wants her child to maintain her standards. IMHO, if a child can constantly score above 80, he/she is very independant to study on his/her own to maintain that standard. period. Why waste money on tutors? A tutor is there to guide and help a child to overcome his/her weakness, not a miracle worker. However, many parents think that if they engage a tutor, their child will do well and a super tutor will enable the child to excel. Parents have to wake up and realise that a tutor can only do so much.
Yup me too! The amount spent could maintain a family of 5!Quintessential Mum:
Yup i believe so. Many parents are willing to fork out huge sums of money for tuition. I know of one friend who arranges for 3 tutors for each subject. The monthly tuition bill runs into 6K - 7K! :roll:
:faint:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.