In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      winth

My STUPID (couldn't find a better word for it) SIL did this yesterday when we had to go there for dinner.

DH was with MIL discussing her family problems (like it's unusual) in a room. So immunity level from IL is especially low.

DS2 (2 year old) was trying to climb up to sit on her lap with the rest of us in the living area watching 'Finding Nemo'.
      She carried DS2 to her lap and said the following:
      'You are a dirty boy, you know or not? You are very dirty. You are really dirty boy, you know? What a dirty boy!'

I was like :shock:. :whut: did DS2 do?????????

SIL's hubby was at the area too. DS2 tried to climb onto the chair my SIL had sat on. He shouted at him,
      'No. No! No! Oeiii!'

I was :x, felt like :torchme: her and :wrongmove: him.

When DH came to join us, OH... everything became so different.

DS2 was sitted beside SIL's hubby. DS2 moved to touch him, his hubby said,'Yes, what do you want? Oh, water.' (Passed the water to DS2 and smiled broadly to DH)

:stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

Related everything to DH and he was very angry too. Why do people just like to ACT?

RRMummy

winth:
        DS2 (2 year old) was trying to climb up to sit on her lap with the rest of us in the living area watching 'Finding Nemo'.

She carried DS2 to her lap and said the following:
        'You are a dirty boy, you know or not? You are very dirty. You are really dirty boy, you know? What a dirty boy!'

SIL's hubby was at the area too. DS2 tried to climb onto the chair my SIL had sat on. He shouted at him,
        'No. No! No! Oeiii!'
        :!: :!: :!: :x :x :x

You very patient hor.. if it happened to me, I think I will shoot back leow..

winth

RRMummy:
          You very patient hor.. if it happened to me, I think I will shoot back leow..

Shoot back no use one. That's not my territory. So I know I am fighting a losing war, plus they will sure gossip about me EVEN MORE behind my back.

My status in the house is that of RK's (the house dog).

DH said I did the right thing bec I shouldn't never 'teach them to out-smart or out-talk us' by correcting/arguing with people of such intelligence/EQ level. If not, next time their attack level increase.

My mum and DH has this same strategy when it comes to dealing with nasty people. So, I just have to 看开 plus wish them 😛 all the luck! Got karma one mar!

winth

Wa! Didn’t notice I brown belt liao!

YEY

RRMummy

winth:
              Wa! Didn't notice I brown belt liao!

YEY
              on the way to KiasuGrandMaster status.... 😄

MLR

winth:
                DH said I did the right thing bec I shouldn't never 'teach them to out-smart or out-talk us' by correcting/arguing with people of such intelligence/EQ level. If not, next time their attack level increase.

I do agree with your DH about this. My sis's ILs are just as bad or sometimes worst. My sis is the type that is 心直口快, so sometimes she shoot b4 thinking and ended up quarreling with her DH becos of it. I always told her that its not worth quarreling with DH becos of ILs.

Just treat them transparent lah, they are not worth your time and blood pressure. My words to my sis, hopefully works for you too: You are more than what you think of yourself, so don't lower yourself to their level. She now learns how to make jokes out of their sometimes ridiculous behaviour. :celebrate:

winth

MLR:
                  I do agree with your DH about this. My sis's ILs are just as bad or sometimes worst. My sis is the type that is 心直口快, so sometimes she shoot b4 thinking and ended up quarreling with her DH becos of it. I always told her that its not worth quarreling with DH becos of ILs.

Just treat them transparent lah, they are not worth your time and blood pressure. My words to my sis, hopefully works for you too: You are more than what you think of yourself, so don't lower yourself to their level. She now learns how to make jokes out of their sometimes ridiculous behaviour. :celebrate:
                  Yup. My character very similiar to your sis - 心直口快 type. Learnt to keep my mouth shut to avoid conflicts with DH.
                  Though angry, DH feels sad for his sis as well... that she doesn't know what is in store for her (err... I read faces quite well).

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Actually when I read through this thread, its like reading through some teenagers forum where the kids are slamming their parents for not being "understanding", or "cruel" or "old fashioned". Say what you like, most of us will be PILs someday, coming from a different culture and mindset of our children and their spouses. Likewise, we can hardly expect our PILs to share our types of values and views of the world. Instead of asking for the PILs to understand us, how about the reverse?

Fundamentally, I believe

1)PILs have the interest of their child (your spouse) and their grandchildren at heart, even if they don’t give 2 shakes about you (and usually, even if they don’t get along with you they typically feel conflicted about that).

2) Parents/PILs have the right to live their lives as they wish.

If there is one thing true about humans, is that we judge ourselves by our ideals, and judge others by their actions. I.e., whilst its easy to say "If I were them, this is what I’d do", the reality may be quite different, and we are likely to be as vexing to our future SIL/DIL as our PILs are to us now. We may complain that our parents/PILs are unwilling to help out, but hey, they’ve done their time, and in a period when it was probably much harder to get external help. I take whatever I can get, if they aren’t available, I compromise. Compromise may mean someone needs to quit their job, take on a maid, etc.

I think we need to be reasonable here, and if there is anything being parents has taught us, its got to be that there are always two sides to a coin.

buds hubs

winth:

wow... hopefully DH doesn't come find me here with all our stories in public forum chat. if not I sure kanna strangled to death.

Me three!!
                      Heheheh..

I am totally lost for words after reading all these post about PILs... especially from buds.

:x :x :x :x :x :x

• Z Offline
                        ZacK

buds hubs:

[quote=\"winth\"]wow... hopefully DH doesn't come find me here with all our stories in public forum chat. if not I sure kanna strangled to death.

Me three!!
                        Heheheh..

I am totally lost for words after reading all these post about PILs... especially from buds.

:x :x :x :x :x :x[/quote]Oops buds... I'll be 🙏 for you 😓

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 15 / 529