[Ang Mo Kio/Bishan/Thomson/Toa Payoh] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    525 Posts 183 Posters 418.7k Views 1 Watching
      angelinn

There sare the infos I have so far....

1) Child At Street 11 Ltd @ 102 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
      >priority will be given to low income family, so I guess they more focus on care rather than curriculum
      2) Sunflower Kinderhub @ Amk Llp @ Mayflower Rise
      >quite good as the person-in-charged v friendly, pity that there got no vacancy for my son for K2 next year
      3) Pcf Kebun Baru Sparkletots Child Care Centre @ 216 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 4, Kebun Baru Community Centre
      >feel they are v 'close', i visited their centre but they not allow me to go in, juz say will let me know if they have vacancy
      4)Ang Mo Kio Social Service Child Development Centre @ 229 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
      >No infos

consider Character montessori at AMK, but the price too steep...
      kindly share if you have any good CC near this area....still looking...by the way, where u stay?

JJ_T

I’m staying at ave5. I sent my elder son (when he was 18mths)to 180 pcf but the place is air-con and my son fall sick. e ctr just started last yr aug/sep cant remember. newly start up so a lot of "NEW" staffs…handling of things… I paid the 1st 2mths full fees w/o MCYS subsidy,…sigh

I called sunflower kinderhub at mayflower. he mentioned both my son (3yo & 2yo next yr) gt vacany. so goin next thurs to visit the place .
        btw who do u speak to at sunflower?

JJ_T

also hw do u find the place? curriculum, hygiene, teachers??K1 & K2 preparation to P1?

ConcernedDaddy

Dont think it is nice to say what we didnt like because ultimately different parents have different preferences for their kids.

For me and my wife, we know that there is high staff turnover in the childcare industry (no point saying we like teacher A or teacher B), so we give high priority to areas where we can observe directly and can be expected to continue so going forward.

1. Cleanliness
            2. Good infrastructure and adequate space (big playgrounds are great!)
            3. A fixed and established curriculum (dont like customised or unknown curriculum as you will be at the mercy of individual teachers’ quality)
            4. Person in-charge must be very experienced and willing to engage parents

For the centre we chose, we noticed that they were so meticulous till every little exposed corner on their furniture have safety cushions installed. Better safe than sorry!

angelinn

think sunflower is quite ok guo (no air cond) and got montessori extra curriculum…they will observe yous kids and help them to develop based on their interests & potential…so i think should be OK guo…

I am thinking to send my son to PCF blk 172 (oso v new w air cond), so far this is the only centre nearby that hav vacancy for my son in K2 next year 😞
              U knew about this centre? Can share…

piyobaby

Hi everyone, we have just shifted to bishan 3 weeks ago & are in the midst of sourcing for a childcare in Bishan & have viewed a few centers till date but none seem to be mentioned in this thread or probably I have missed it. Any comments & advice greatly appreciated!

- Nobleland Arts & Learning Place Pte Ltd (Thomson / Pemimpin)
                - Little Greenhouse
                - Lcido (can’t rem the name but weird enuff can’t find in mcys listing now)

Shortlist Nobleland at this point of time but would be viewing Cheries Hearts b4 making a decision since our intention is to place my 32mos next Jan when he turn 3!

By the way, United Mon at blk 114 have been replaced by Starlearners.

read feedback:-

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=25879&start=20

piyobaby

Thanks phtthp, will spend some time digesting the info!

• knucklesK Offline
                      knuckles

Anyone interested in My First Skool (cc by NTUC) at Bishan Blk 153? My 2yo gal is in already in the toddler class and my 4yo in Zion Bishan Kindergarten (going to rebuild next yr) nearby. The school is newly opened on 1st Aug 11. I plan to put my 4yo in their K1 next year but the principal told me that there wasn't enough students to form a K1 class as their current intake is only up til N1 this year.

There are already 4 students on the K1 waiting list and they just need another 2-3 more students to form the class. So far, my 2yo enjoys going to the school and the K1 classroom at the other side is very nice and still brand new! See attached pic.
                      http://i54.tinypic.com/v7qywy.jpg\">

If any parents staying in bishan interested, please contact the principal at [email protected] or visit the centre at Blk 153 Bishan St 13. School fee is also very reasonable at just $340+ a month after working mum subsidy.

Mamo

tiredmummy1972:
                        Hello mummies..

so difficult to find schools in Bishan! I will be moving to this area in a few months' time. Those good centres are all full!
                        I need recommendation for preschool ( k1 and N1) as well as Before after school for my P2 boy.
                        I m under wait list for the preschool. But most likely if they still dont have a vacancy for my k1 boy by next month, i will try church kindy or PCF ( which is my last resort). My N1 girl still can wait.. no hurry.

Hi Tiredmummy1972, Hv you found a preschool for your K1 boy? Mine is attending school at Singapore Montessori near Windsor Park, Upper Thomson Road. The teachers are very caring and my son enjoys school very much. Most importantly, I think the school is preparing him well for P1 next year.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 44 / 53

sparklycocoaS
                        sparklycocoa