Mom call police and MOE : Teacher force son for a haircut
When I was a little girl, the place I lived in was a third world country. My mother had no education, like 90% of my classmates. We were so happy for an opportunity to go to school. We had teachers who had 40+ per class, we were nobodies and had no souls, after all, we were children of poor folks in a third world country, no expectation. My mother told me that if I wanted to be successful, I had to study hard, and I did. I did well and ended up with very good credentials. My country succeeded in educating my friends and me. It was ok to lose some of the souls along the way for the greater good.
Now, I am the parent. I am not like my mother, I'm educated. I understand what is good English and good Math. I find that sometimes the teachers teach my children broken English, cliche writing, bad Maths methods. The class size is still 40+, and my children are still expected to behave and question nothing even though they sometimes know more. I am asked to shut up like my mother, even though I do a lot more research than many of them, I am told my knowledge about my kids do not matter, even though I brought them up. I am told that my kids cannot have this hairstyle, because the same was expected of me. I don't understand why when they have educated me and given me knowledge, they refuse to tap on what I know to improve on what is already there. I am still expected to have no soul.
The country has moved on. Infrastructure changed, people smarter, machines faster. But nobody is kinder, more reasonable or more civil. The system is the same, because we are still in the third world mentality - for survival. There is still only one way of doing things, so that things get moved faster. There's still no soul. :roll:
First world country on steroids. -
U still thinking ah.... :razz:

Not thinking. Done already. http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=25139&p=684825&hilit=homeschool#p684825 :pokeeye: -
2ppaamm:
Wah..... :udawoman:Daddy

Not thinking. Done already. http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=25139&p=684825&hilit=homeschool#p684825 :pokeeye: -
I read with amazement of the same topic but almost totally different view from different forum sites...
Over here most are of the view that the teacher in question is wrong & more respect should be given to the 'disobeying' boy.
Over at another forum, the boy is slammed upside down with remarks that I believe most parents will find too hard to swallow.
Without knowing the true details, I would not want to side which party is right or wrong...
Personally, I would still like to see discipline being instill in school & respect by the students on the rules... I don't agreed parents to be over protective; esp the boys... I can't imagine how these over-protected boys will grow up & in time of needs, can they be relied on to carry arms & protect our nation??? :xedfingers: -
There are always going to be problems regardless which way it swings. The schools do it the way they think will work best, i.e. discipline the kids, and there will be danger that teachers/schools abuse the power they have, and the kids lose interest, self-esteem, self-respect, human rights, etc. These are real.
Go the other way, if teachers are not given the power to discipline the students, especially those who are errant, what might happen is that the schools will no longer be able to function effectively and efficiently. Every single ‘incident’ will mean teachers having to take up time to deal with it (i’m not going to delve much into how much time is needed to do what, in order for the students & parents to be treated with respect, and eventually resolving the incident such that things can go on normally). This will likely mean our school lessons will move much slower and less can be covered in a year. Alternatively, many more teachers will have to be hired to resolve all these issues…
Both ways are not perfect. We will have to choose one and rationalise that it’s the better/best one. -
The school should have just sent that boy back .... Till he return with a decent hair cut.
Totally agree. :goodpost: -
It said that the teacher cut the hair for the boy, right?
This is bad… The teacher should not be the one cutting the student’s hair.
In my DS school, all those singled out for a haircut will be cut by a professional barber at a cost of $3.
My DS also kena once.
When he sms me, I was upset too.
His hair wasn’t even long, it was above the collar and his fringe definitely above the eye brow.
But his hair is bushy, so the teacher said they need to tidy it up, although he agreed that it was not long.
He reassured me that the barber would not change the style, but just neaten it.
DS looked neater, but he still went to cut his hair after the incident. -
Happyfate:
In the end, yes, this is the most simple solution for teachers, parents and students. How come this school didn't use it? What are they trying to prove? They should consult Tankee next time. :evil:tankee:
The school should have just sent that boy back .... Till he return with a decent hair cut.
Totally agree. :goodpost: -
I am a parent who preferred the teacher to cut my kids hair if they refused to follow the school rule on their hair style after warning。
Send them back. Hahahaha… The student are MORE happy with that. They can dilly dally at the shopping centre to get their hair cut.
Suspension? Wow they like it MORE. It’s like extra holiday to them.
What let them hate most? Is to have an ugly hair style. LOL! Since they can’t obey the rule to get their haircut, than they bear the consequences lor.
Do SIA allow their air stewardess to let their hair down for human right? Air stewardess want human right, than leave the job lor.
To me, the kids needed to obey school rule from young so that when they grow up, they are able to obey company rule!!! Chinese said "家有家规,国有国法。学校也要有法规!" Want human right? Follow the rule and they will give it to u!!! 面子是别人给你得。脸是自己丢得。
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.