[Bukit Timah] Primary Schools

2.6k Posts 324 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      My Destiny

Thanks mummies for the advice. Think will most likely stay put at Catholic… We are not being greedy, just hoping for the convenience cos I really dread the traveling distance for DS… and I have to start monitoring the situation for DD already cos if I want her in HPPS then have to start fretting again…!

• BeansproutB Offline
        Beansprout

maisy:
        TRUE. If MOE really wants to put into practice what it preaches, then the whole registration phases should be tweaked to read (roughly) as such...

Your policy doesn't work lah. Your policy mainly tackle on proximity of distance. Do you know how many rich people in Singapore? If base on distance, all the property nearby so called ' branded' school will be snatched up by 'rich' people Liao.

Ribena48

DTJ:
          My Destiny:

Hi mummies, need some advice... We are staying within 1km from Henry Park but we got DS into Catholic under 2A1. Our plan was to withdraw from Catholic & try HPPS under 2C within 1km cos we hv a younger girl registering in 2014 & will kill 2 birds with 1 stone. Looking at HPPS current places left its very likely there will be balloting. Should we take the risk? We hope to minimize traveling for our boy as well... Thanks!

Stay on with Catholic High - in fact, i would say stay on with Catholic High for the full 6 years if you can - Catholic High is also another \"hot\" school - many parents \"dying\" to be in your position (hahahaha). What's more Catholic High has affiliation to its secondary section (which is equally good). HPPS does not have affiliation to any sec school.

CHS is an extremely \"hot\" school that everyone is dying to get a seat so stick to it. But as ou are staying far, why not rent a place at CHS. Just imagine what is it like if you are working at extreme outskirt areas like Tuas or Changi and you are staying at town area? Even if big foreign MNCS s you will not apply for the job right? So don't do that to the kids. I read somewhere parents getting kids wake up between 5 to 6 am to catch school bus ,the little ones damn poor thing ley. But if the 'hot' school that guarantee you a seat is far and within your place is also hot, like your case, then suggest rent a place lor. Imagine when people still sleeping or eating dinner comfortablly at home, your kid still on the road 'piang'. Before the battle starts, the soldier has already lost to the enemy in terms of energy and vitality Liao.! My view is rent a place near CHS. Henry Park is too risky to try. Or find another good school nearby.

Scary

Ribena48:
            CHS is an extremely \"hot\" school that everyone is dying to get a seat so stick to it. But as ou are staying far, why not rent a place at CHS. Just imagine what is it like if you are working at extreme outskirt areas like Tuas or Changi and you are staying at town area? Even if big foreign MNCS s you will not apply for the job right? So don't do that to the kids. I read somewhere parents getting kids wake up between 5 to 6 am to catch school bus ,the little ones damn poor thing ley. But if the 'hot' school that guarantee you a seat is far and within your place is also hot, like your case, then suggest rent a place lor. Imagine when people still sleeping or eating dinner comfortablly at home, your kid still on the road 'piang'. Before the battle starts, the soldier has already lost to the enemy in terms of energy and vitality Liao.! My view is rent a place near CHS. Henry Park is too risky to try. Or find another good school nearby.

Personally, I find the journey challenging on rainy days. Stress on both exam + rainy days. Are you sending your child to school next year? Some parents find it ok to sleep on school buses but i prefer to sleep in my own bed. 😄

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

http://i50.tinypic.com/11kjw29.jpg\">

jayphus

maisy:
                TRUE. If MOE really wants to put into practice what it preaches, then the whole registration phases should be tweaked to read (roughly) as such...

Nice hypothesis, I will also create my assumptions based on your recommendation.
                1) Popular schools in high density estates (massive concentration of HDB, condos will be 100% filled by 2A2.
                2) School bus operators will be protesting in front of MOE and demand for a revamp of this policy.
                3) Property prices around popular schools will be driven up further in a desperate bid for parents to secure a place.
                4) Alumni association / religious / clan membership will take a big hit. School funding will also be hit, doubts begin to surface if the schools are able to maintain or even upgrade the current facilities. No PVs? While some schools have no lack of parents dying to serve as PVs, other schools see this as a healthy relationship in getting parents involve in community activities. PVs also serve as feeder to PSG, which is an important component of the school's programme.
                5) \"Lesser known\" schools will benefit from this policy as the take up rate will significantly improved. With majority of kids coming from the local neighbourhood, assimilation into the school culture richer / synergy better. Support for the school teams during zonal competitions will be partisan!
                6) Actually, priority by distance fuels elitism. Just like in property, we will start labelling schools by district 9 / 10 / 11.

My conclusion, current system is not perfect, needs improvements, yes, and yet many considerations too.

LostInWoods

jayphus:

My conclusion, current system is not perfect, needs improvements, yes, and yet many considerations too.
                  One way is to limit the distance for P2A under 5Km or 6 or 7km. I think it is reasonable to have some limit as some of them really stay too far to these popular school. Just saw one parent in this forum is going to make her kids travel at least 24km fm home to school, eg 48km daily.

• qmsQ Offline
                    qms

Mods Note

Dear All,

Please do not discuss your opinions of the P1 registration system here. Kindly go to the following thread to share your views:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=18535&hilit=opinions+of+p1+registration

Thank you.

anyone has live update status numbers for 2B Pei Hwa, Henry Park, Nanyang, MGS, RGPS ?

• vivilingV Offline
                        viviling

phtthp- u registering one of the sch?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 229 / 262