All Schools are GOOD Schools
AceTutors123:
Well, if any minister expect we citizens to listen and believe in what they say, then they should practise what they preach.Wow, MOE should review this thread, we have some pretty good ideas thrown up for how the minister can support his statement!
If all schools are good schools:
1. Which schools do the ministers' children attend? Are any in neighbourhood schools? [janet_lee, mummy so kiasu]
2. Impose a quota for the compulsory intake of PSLE students of all bandings [KSP]
3. Remove alumni priority [limlim] -
:goodpost:
If your first love is a childhood friend whom you played with every day and fell in love with, after she moved house, will you still think of her? Best is next door a new neighbour moves in with a prettier and smarter daughter, same age as your childhood friend, will you simply shift your love from that childhood friend to this new prettier and smarter girl next door? Let us know..limlim:
If he dares to remove alumni priority, then I believe him.
If every school is indeed a good school, naturally most pple would choose the nearest school, isn't it? so, distance priority should be the only criteria in P1 admission to send the STRONG message.
Yes we are all foolish sentimental fools but it is with such fools that the world is a better place to live in. So if we don't cultivate such sentimental fools, we will end up having to feel even more sorry for ourselves in years to come.... Hope you get a better picture now.
HSK is trying his best to do a good job, don't let the \"sentimental fools\" issue blind your vision, we do need \"sentimental fools\" in the education too, it is an INTEGRAL part of the education. -
Alamak, KSP parents like to share too much lah, you all know can alreadi, everyone 心照不宣,his speech is for de new citizens lah! The more you say, the more competition you invite leh
Just keep it that way can? Go tell everyone - \"In Singapore, every school is a good school!\" And in time, it will become the truth! :boogie: -
Did you miss the thought process for INTEGRAL part of education.....think harder....[/quote]too cheem catch no ball.. can explain?
Why should sentiments feeling of A gain precedence over practical considerations of B?limlim:
[quote=\"ksi\"]
Yes we are all foolish sentimental fools but it is with such fools that the world is a better place to live in. So if we don't cultivate such sentimental fools, we will end up having to feel even more sorry for ourselves in years to come.... Hope you get a better picture now.
HSK is trying his best to do a good job, don't let the \"sentimental fools\" issue blind your vision, we do need \"sentimental fools\" in the education too, it is an INTEGRAL part of the education.
That, is the issue.
There is absolutely nothing wrong with being sentimental.
But that shouldn't come with entitlement or priority over others who have other practical considerations.
And.. your love for your alma mater need not shift even if your kids don't get to study in that loved school. It will forever be your alma mater even if it is not your kid's. -
starlight1968sg:
That's because our ministers do not stay in the HdB estates. They live in districts 9, 10 and 11 where most good schools are within their Neighbourhood.mummy so kiasu:
If every school is a good school, why can't we find ministers' kids in the neighbourhood schools.
exactly !
Similarly for the U too. -
You maybe right. Which good school is your dream school? Is it the cutting hair one? Can save money. :rotflmao:True what, every school, a good school.
Never say every school is equally good in all the same areas. So can be good in churning top scorers, can be good in sports, can be good in performing arts, can be good at cutting hair, can be good in churning out dropouts. :razz:
Why when school and good put together, we inevitably think academic results? -
mgnvr:
That's because our ministers do not stay in the HdB estates. They live in districts 9, 10 and 11 where most good schools are within their Neighbourhood.[/quote]Not just that, they will definitely send their kids back to their alma maters cos of \" their love and passion for their alma maters\". This is one reason why it is difficult to completely remove the alumni phase.starlight1968sg:
[quote=\"mummy so kiasu\"]If every school is a good school, why can't we find ministers' kids in the neighbourhood schools.
exactly !
mgnvr:
That's because our ministers do not stay in the HdB estates. They live in districts 9, 10 and 11 where most good schools are within their Neighbourhood.[/quote]If every school a good school then don't understand why so many alumni's children from district 1, 2, 3 and 19, 20, 21 still want to register their child in schools in district 9, 10 and 11 causing those staying in district 9, 10 and 11 having to register their children in district 6, 7, 8, 12, 13 and 14?starlight1968sg:
[quote=\"mummy so kiasu\"]If every school is a good school, why can't we find ministers' kids in the neighbourhood schools.
exactly !
Similarly for the U too.
So every school is a good school is to convince who hah?
:scratchhead: -
mgnvr:
That's because our ministers do not stay in the HdB estates. They live in districts 9, 10 and 11 where most good schools are within their Neighbourhood.[/quote]No wonder, our ministers tell us to send our kids to our neighbourhood schools & they send their kids to their \"neighbourhood\" schools. Every school is good but not every school is equally good. By removing the banding of sec schools don't make much difference. There is still IP, GEP, SAP. Everyone know which are the elite schools & band 1 schools. Anyway, ministers' kids will not be affected.starlight1968sg:
exactly !
Minister, please substantiate your claims once you have achieved the goal of every school is a good school? Not until I can see every pri school is producing the similar PSLE result with a similar spread from 200-280+, I'm totally unconvinced for now! The same for sec school. :skeptical:
After all, the result means everything and should be part of the indicator to access the school.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.