PSLE leave: For or Against?
Imami:
This is the sad part lor... People like me - not really in hiring and firing position - will feel some form of discrimination against working mothers with young kids. But it is not that I don't know your pain. People like you - in hiring and firing position - started off being neutral. But circumstances may have driven the situations into such. I am with my current organization for close to 3 years now. In my first year, they hire those in their late twenties/ early thirties with young children (preschoolers). Then, suddenly many need to take childcare leave la, or urgent annual leave lah (due to issues like hfmd or chickenpox) etc. in my second year, I noted they hired early twenties singles. Sure, this group got no childcare leave. But hor, they also have urgent leave wor - on most Mondays, post ph work days etc. Too much parties. This year, they hired all the middle aged group. Probably a good bet, since these group have grown up kids and most likely won't \"urgent leave\" on Mondays

Sorry, I did not read all the posts.
Whatโs the big fuss about PSLE? Leave or no leave?
IMO, it should not be the problem of the parents. It is the kid that is taking their PSLE and not parents. Neither me nor my dh take any leave when my gals had their PSLE. They are supposed to be prepared by then.
Another important fact is PSLE is not a conclusive or a good gauge to a childโs ability in the future. -
dasalo:
Sorry, I did not read all the posts.
What's the big fuss about PSLE? Leave or no leave?
IMO, it should not be the problem of the parents. It is the kid that is taking their PSLE and not parents. Neither me nor my dh take any leave when my gals had their PSLE. They are supposed to be prepared by then.
Another important fact is PSLE is not a conclusive or a good gauge to a child's ability in the future.
actually I don't know too. But for me, I welcome such measures. Whatever the employers want to term it la, be it paid/unpaid leave also can, so long as it is yet another kind of leave I can apply can Liao.
My time, my parents also didn't take leave. I didn't feel much then as it seemed the norm for classmates with working parents. But as I grew older ( but still schooling), I appreciated my parents' (one at the time also can) company. It's nice to come home after exam to have someone to sit with you while u have lunch, u know?
Because of this, I welcome such leave extended to working parents. I don't care how it is termed, paid or unpaid leave, I will apply! Unless my kid doesn't want me around, then I won't apply lor
Hey, maybe I would still apply! :idea: I go spa!
dasalo:
:goodpost:
Another important fact is PSLE is not a conclusive or a good gauge to a child's ability in the future.
I agree, but we are a minority on this forum
Dnls_mum:
Yes, I agree that DC should have been prepared by then. But have been mentioned many times, it is not necessarily to push DC to study hard. But to provide moral support and help them to be as relaxed as possible. I took leave during the whole PSLE exam period but I need not push my DS to study or to slog. I pick him up immediately after the exam and send him home promptly so that he can have more time to rest and be prepared for the next paper.
:goodpost:dasalo:
I agree, but we are a minority on this forum
kwcllf:
Yes, I agree that DC should have been prepared by then. But have been mentioned many times, it is not necessarily to push DC to study hard. But to provide moral support and help them to be as relaxed as possible. I took leave during the whole PSLE exam period but I need not push my DS to study or to slog. I pick him up immediately after the exam and send him home promptly so that he can have more time to rest and be prepared for the next paper.
Sometimes I wonder if we the parents take leave, the child will feel more stress as they will think \"Oh..dear, my parents are on my back now!\"
I rather let it be as normal as possible. Then again, every child is different. :xedfingers: :please: -
dasalo:
Your comment reminds me of a friend. She was a working mother all her life. She multi-tasked very well, had 4 kids and hold a very senior position in a European Investment bank. The type that has a car and driver provided by the bank. The bank went through some problems and had to down size. She happily took the package (which was really good), and decided to take a break to spend time with her kids. She had always had a wonderful relationship with her kids, so imagine the shock she had that after a few weeks, her kids asked her when she is going back to work!! They want her to go back to work :rotflmao: her constant presence actually stressed them so much! :rotflmao:
Sometimes I wonder if we the parents take leave, the child will feel more stress as they will think \"Oh..dear, my parents are on my back now!\"
I rather let it be as normal as possible. Then again, every child is different. :xedfingers: :please:
Sometimes, what we think our kids want, is not necessarily what they really want :). Sometimes it is what we want and we use our kids to justify our actions :evil: -
Wow! Didnโt know that our presence could stress the kids. I always think my gal would love to have me in the Hse, at least thatโs what I thought. Maybe I will go ask herโฆ
Dnls_mum:
Don't deny there may be such cases. But we shouldn't take it as the norm.
Your comment reminds me of a friend. She was a working mother all her life. She multi-tasked very well, had 4 kids and hold a very senior position in a European Investment bank. The type that has a car and driver provided by the bank. The bank went through some problems and had to down size. She happily took the package (which was really good), and decided to take a break to spend time with her kids. She had always had a wonderful relationship with her kids, so imagine the shock she had that after a few weeks, her kids asked her when she is going back to work!! They want her to go back to work :rotflmao: her constant presence actually stressed them so much! :rotflmao:dasalo:
I rather let it be as normal as possible. Then again, every child is different. :xedfingers: :please:
Sometimes, what we think our kids want, is not necessarily what they really want :). Sometimes it is what we want and we use our kids to justify our actions :evil: -
peapot:
Wow! Didn't know that our presence could stress the kids. I always think my gal would love to have me in the Hse, at least that's what I thought. Maybe I will go ask her....
It depends on the parents. We can give them encouragement & guidance, without giving them stress. We can set realistic & attainable target, base on our kid's ability. All kids have different abilities. We should avoid comparing our kids' performance with others or might end up giving stress to ourselves & our kids.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.