Me Time!
bb_ mom:
If oversupply maybe DS may want to have it..I had to supplement for DD otherwise she'll go hungry. Not that I had a lot, but DS didn't like milk so had extra for DD to drink. By then DD was almost 3 but told her it's good for her...
But my mum complained her freezer filled with packets of milk cos DS drink so little. Always envious of those with a lot of milk.
TA - if oversupply, don't throw. Ex-colleague donated. -
bb_ mom:
Donated? :yikes:I had to supplement for DD otherwise she'll go hungry. Not that I had a lot, but DS didn't like milk so had extra for DD to drink. By then DD was almost 3 but told her it's good for her...
But my mum complained her freezer filled with packets of milk cos DS drink so little. Always envious of those with a lot of milk.
TA - if oversupply, don't throw. Ex-colleague donated. -
I got chicken pox 2 weeks after DS's birth. Can't breastfeed him and can't see him because I had to stay away at PIL's home. :sad:
ngl2010:
Yah! I know, right? But think sent to hospital cos they always need fresh milk.
Donated? :yikes:bb_ mom:
I had to supplement for DD otherwise she'll go hungry. Not that I had a lot, but DS didn't like milk so had extra for DD to drink. By then DD was almost 3 but told her it's good for her...
TA - if oversupply, don't throw. Ex-colleague donated.
I personally think that following confinement customs too rigidly can cause postnatal depression! I get depressed just hearing what people have to go through! I refused to follow any customs and just did what I felt like, including washing hair, going out etc. The only concession was eating some confinement food for a few days because my mother cooked it, but I also ate and drank what I wanted. I did all the babycare myself too. 17 yrs on, 50 yrs old, I donβt seem to have suffered any effects. I did the same with my 2nd when the older one was 2yo.
Most of the confinement customs are passed down from older generation who came from China. In China, they have more cooling weather than Singapore, so it is difficult to follow such custom like no air con and no fan and no bathing during confinement. I still bathe , wash my hair during confinement period. How to tahan under this weather if you don't bathe and cannot turn on the fan. :siao:
Enjoying my ME TIME! now, watching a K drama showing now on channel U. So funny and i keep laughing. :rotflmao:
slmkhoo:
I personally think that following confinement customs too rigidly can cause postnatal depression! I get depressed just hearing what people have to go through! I refused to follow any customs and just did what I felt like, including washing hair, going out etc. The only concession was eating some confinement food for a few days because my mother cooked it, but I also ate and drank what I wanted. I did all the babycare myself too. 17 yrs on, 50 yrs old, I don't seem to have suffered any effects. I did the same with my 2nd when the older one was 2yo.
So many δΌε€§ηε¦ε¦γAfter 8-9 months of carrying the bb to full term, still gotta 'suffer' another month of confinement.
I didn't hv any confinement. I just ate whatever I wanted sensibly. I did stay away from coffee, sashimi n spicy food as I bf my bb.
I managed my bb on my own. With no confinement lady, nobody imposed any 'rules' on me. -
My mum wasn't too fussy about confinement rules. I got to shower & wash my hair everyday, with some kind of herbal stuff & hot water. Didn't really have to eat confinement food. Just ate more fish (for more milk) and pork & chicken. No pig trotters' thing cos I don't like it. And was out and about after 2 weeks. My mum was asking, what confinement?

bebebub:
:hi5:slmkhoo:
I personally think that following confinement customs too rigidly can cause postnatal depression! I get depressed just hearing what people have to go through! I refused to follow any customs and just did what I felt like, including washing hair, going out etc. The only concession was eating some confinement food for a few days because my mother cooked it, but I also ate and drank what I wanted. I did all the babycare myself too. 17 yrs on, 50 yrs old, I don't seem to have suffered any effects. I did the same with my 2nd when the older one was 2yo.
So many δΌε€§ηε¦ε¦γAfter 8-9 months of carrying the bb to full term, still gotta 'suffer' another month of confinement.
I didn't hv any confinement. I just ate whatever I wanted sensibly. I did stay away from coffee, sashimi n spicy food as I bf my bb.
I managed my bb on my own. With no confinement lady, nobody imposed any 'rules' on me.
same for me too... no confinement lady, bathed everyday, stayed in aircon room, catered confinement food, did housework and bathed all babies by myself. my mum told me \"next time u old liao then u know...\"
i asked her if she got aches here and there now, she said \"yes, old liao sure have..\"
told her, precisely my point... last time u gave birth u followed everything old ppl say u still get aches here and there. so, nothing to do with following confinement practices or not.
she gave me peace thereafter. :imanangel:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.