In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      Mrs Ang

cherrygal:

Bengawan solo very bad meh? It is still money wat... I would use the vouchers to buy my fave kueh instead. Not buying for them this year. Have a feeling they will take it and give to her fave son.
      I like their kueh too but I need to clear the vouchers before they expire so the fastest way is to buy a box of mooncakes :lol:

Mrs Ang

duriz:

[quote=\"duriz\"]It's okay lah, fellow-octomum.

Yo, me here Octo momma as well. :hi5:
        My angelic little money DD2 is Octo babe as well.
        duriz:
        This also encourages their tastebuds and appetites, so in future will not be fussy eaters πŸ˜„
        As long as taste testing does not pose any harm to baby, i find it's fine
        too. :hi5: Though not daring as yourself, duriz.. i agree that encouraging
        babes to try different food types does help prevent them from growing up
        to be picky / fussy eaters.

three octo-mums :hi5:[/quote]wow...octo-mum duriz, u r brave. I don't dare to open the gate yet.
        Any more oct-mums here?

mamadontpreach

thats a very touchy issue. had in-laws troubles as well as parental troubles at times but i still feel i need both sides. the thing might be to find the right balance for everybody’s sake especially the grandchildren

Pen88n:
            Just came across this thread and heard about Bud's dilemma. Just wanna share my story.

I stayed with my MIL for 6 years after marriage. During that period, we had many big and small disagreements and every time, she insisted in having it her way and would say that she's the elder and must respect and listen to her. Hubby turned \"a deaf ear\" to my \"suffering\", and always use the same excuse that she \"is already old\" and \"may not live so long\" so I should just give in.

Finally, the last straw broke the camel's back and I suggested to live apart. Hubby used his same excuse again, but this time, I was adamant and I bluntly asked him to tell me \"how long more\" is he expecting to stay with his mum. I told him I had my life to live, and I'm not going to spend my life \"suffering\" under MIL (later kena suay suay I die of suffering whilst she outlive me!). Being filial is not having to stay together. She had stayed with us for 6 years, and now it's my turn to have my life back. Hubby realised that he couldn't change my mind, so he agreed.

MIL was furious and had a lot of complaining about me to relatives (as if I care!). For quite some time after we live apart, she continuously made sarcastic remarks directly at me during our visits. I \"ren\" and ignored that for a while. Finally, during a dinner when she again passed remarks, I explicitly hinted to her that I would no longer take any nonsense from her and if she does not know how to respect me, don't blame me for \"not giving face\". I think at that moment she realised that she had no more \"power\" over me (afterall, if I can fight to live apart, why would I not dare to confront her?). She actually mellowed after that incident.

We have lived apart for more than 10 years since. Hubby still visit her at least once a week, whilst we visit on occasions and we are polite and respectful to each other. I am really glad I made that tough decision at that time and stood by it.

Buds, all the best to you and I hope you can lead the life you wish for your family.
            Thanks for sharing this, Pen88n.. :hugs: I'm certain that a clean break
            would do everyone good. I have been gossipped about regardless if i
            am doing right or wrong.... and come to think of it.... even when i'm
            not doing anything... 😐 ... so you can say those daggers can hit a
            bullet proof zone on me. Cos i am the nonchalant & understanding
            DIL to all their relatives i've known, a few of them do pat me on my
            back or give me tight good bye hugs when we leave their homes
            (when we visit during festive days) and they'd whisper, it's not easy
            staying with ILs and you are one of the few that i know of who have
            lasted this long. Take care.. Now, how sweet is that? :please:

It's enuf for me that i know, they 'know'...

kanyaramesh

schweppes:

Hope Buds will be able to work something out.

It's up to em' brothers now.

My end is simple.

Not with us.

That's it Buds!! way to go!! :udawoman:

Pen88n

duriz:

[quote=\"buds\"]
                Yo, me here Octo momma as well. :hi5:
                My angelic little money DD2 is Octo babe as well.
                As long as taste testing does not pose any harm to baby, i find it's fine
                too. :hi5: Though not daring as yourself, duriz.. i agree that encouraging
                babes to try different food types does help prevent them from growing up
                to be picky / fussy eaters.

three octo-mums :hi5:

4dear DS2 is octo born πŸ˜‰[/quote]I'm in the team too - both my kids and I Octo birthdays!!! :celebrate:

Pen88n

Buds, good luck and keep us posted of the progress. Take care!

duriz

Let's go Octo-mummies πŸ˜„

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13736

Me off to early lunch meeting.
                    Laterz πŸ˜„

Buds, on one hand your BIL takes his wife and kids into consideration but on the other your hubby is left with the burden. Any chance of your hubby and his brother discuss, to shell out money to get them a studio apartment for the elderly ??? Hope you and hubby can discuss this calmly and your hubby understands that you have put up with them long enough.

cherrygal:
                      Buds, I would advise you to insist DH and his bro share the parents, if DH must have them stay with someone... well, at least it would be a week with you and a week with them.
                      Yes, janet_lee88.. hubs is always left with everything to do with his parents.
                      He's after all the only filial and responsible one. Because of that they
                      became too dependent on him and somehow i do find he let them be
                      after a while. So they take advantage of his generosity. Hubs continues
                      to seemingly accept that they are what they are and pick up whatever
                      pieces they leave behind. I do believe he knows & boy he sure understands
                      awrite.. what i had to put up with... go through... endure for long enough...
                      Just that he doesn't show it. πŸ˜›

But, naaah.. shell out $ no more i say... cos i think it's abt enuf oredi.
                      We've missed out on a lot oredi, financial wise (esp hubs being the sole
                      breadwinner)... emotionally (let's not even go there :roll:) and definitely
                      the physical aspect is felt.

Yeah cherrygal, that was the same advice i gave to hubs. With the only
                      exception that i didn't offer that we have to be part of the plan. I was
                      only advising for his bro to take over. They are after all his parents 2.
                      And furthermore, he is the favourite son who hardly visits so he can do
                      no wrong. Well, since they never stayed together... he can't do any wrong
                      ...... yet. :evil:
                      cherrygal:
                      And the ILs will be able to see how \"bad\" the other daughter-in-law is... and not think you are the only one who has issues with them.
                      Oh, she knows awrite. That's why she's been drama-ing that she cannot
                      imagine living with SIL... ever. Said SIL was all rules and all fussy and
                      all this and that. I just played deaf ear nia. She's such a hypocrite. It
                      irks me. She had the gall to tell me to my face that she'd rather stay
                      with us (meaning with my girls, hubs and i). Can you believe that..
                      tsk.. tsk.. tsk.. It is not just SIL who has issues with her, even BIL
                      has issues with her and FIL... BIL does not take kindly to when his
                      parents try to interfere in their marital affairs and child-raising issues.
                      He also doesn't like his wife to be upset over his parents. He's very very
                      protective of his family. So, he'd rather push the responsibility to the
                      obvious responsible one.

True, it's not easy, but beats paying for another hdb flat which dunno who will get to inherit (eg if bud's hubs pay for it, the ILs may happily will it to another one). A bit pengz right? Studio apartment is only 30 year lease....imagine 30 years of independence and I think probably happiness on bud's side....I think worth the effort to look see lah. But I honestly dunno what the asking price is.

Nope. Financially... no purchase of any kind works in this case.
                        Enough of shelling out our moolah. We DO have #3 on the way.
                        Yes, very pengz.. hquek, you oredi know them as much as i do..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 529 / 529

msmui.tuitionM
                        msmui.tuition