四五快读 Methods

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Chinese
    331 Posts 74 Posters 177.8k Views 1 Watching
    • laughingcatL Offline
      laughingcat

hello phtthp, this is a good book that Tamarind recommended. Seriously no point borrowing it as you will need to do alot of practise. Sometime need to refer to the earlier book (back-to-back) for reaffirmation. It is confirmed a good buy lah. 😄

A pleasure to read as well.

hi laughingcat,

March this year, my husband was in Beijing for 1 week business trip. So we requested dangdang to courier all 7 books to his hotel in Beijing. He flew back with the heavy pile of 7 books, hand carry them! In China, cheap. Per book costs around $3 to $3.50 sgd, so total 7 books cost around $22 sgd. If buy in SG from Union bookstore or Maha Youyi (Bras Basah complex, level 3), very costly. I inquired before - Union bookstore still charged cheaper Maha Youyi.

i still working on book 1 now. These books are good. They start with the most basic 1 character chinese word like … sky, stone, tree, first. Next, advance to 2 chinese words, then to 3 chinese words slowly, in gentle dosage. Later then simple, short sentences, to help child gain confidence, stage by stage. If child can finish reading up to Si Wu Kuai Du book 2 & 3 independently, the child’s chinese for Pri 1 is … well prepared. China’s chinese standard is higher than our SG chinese. Their China Pri 1 school text standard is equivalent to our … SG Pri 3 standard.

which book is your son now at ? How you entice him to read ? 🙂

Kabby

MummyThreeStreams:

There's a local online bookshop (shine kids bookstore) which carries the set http://www.sgshinekids.com/22235201162455535835.html
          Costs $41.50 for the set, excl. postage. It's twice the price of what you can get directly from China, but it's convenient. No need to step out of the house and no need to wait months...I've ordered from them twice before and got my orders 1-2 working days later. You can consider this option. They gave me a 5% return customer discount on my second order.
          thanks for the link. will consider it! 🙂

Kabby

Hi laughingcat,

Somehow I got an email about your update to the thread and read it but when I wanted to reply, I can’t, think it was deleted.

Anyway, thanks for typing out the Chinese words. I did get that part on the "thank you" and the "jade". It was very interesting.

What I didn’t understand was the historical part. It says there is historical meaning to the words "short" and "shoot" pronounced the opposite way? I was very intrigued. And the other eg too. I can visualise the Chinese character in my head but have no idea the story behind it.

I think these stories would be great to explain to the Pr school going kid too. They’d be much more interested in the language than just learning it by rote.

I remember long ago, my Chinese teacher telling the class about the story of the mao(2) and dun(4) (spear and shield) and how the phrase maodun (dilemma) came about. All these stories stick in our heads so much better!

• laughingcatL Offline
              laughingcat

Hi phtthp,

So lucky for you that your hubby is in china and can bring back all those chinese books. So envious.

After hearing from me about the cheap books and seeing my boys reading well in chinese, my MIL is very tempted to go to China on a holiday with me. hehehehee to buy more books lah for her grandchildren other than mine lah. :love: still thinking about it.

My boys are now into book 4 half way through.

Hello kabalevsky,

THANK GOODNESS you have read it. I don't know why it was deleted? :siao: Maybe I accidentally click \"deleted\" :shock: I have spend so much effort to type and explain and it is all lost! :stupid: 😢 Maybe I am not too familar enough with the new portal format. :faint: Oh no.......I was wondering should I re-type again? :!:

Sometime I use pictures to teach my boys how to recognise the word. For instance 男, 1 boy wearing a helmet 田 and carry a knife 刀 and goes \"swosh\" in action. hehehhehehe.....sorry for the violence as my boys are very violent as they are learning wushu. In this way they will remember the word better. Also subconsciously they also learn 田 and 刀.

Kabby

laughingcat:

Hello kabalevsky,

THANK GOODNESS you have read it. I don't know why it was deleted? :siao: Maybe I accidentally click \"deleted\" :shock: I have spend so much effort to type and explain and it is all lost! :stupid: 😢 Maybe I am not too familar enough with the new portal format. :faint: Oh no.......I was wondering should I re-type again? :!:

Sometime I use pictures to teach my boys how to recognise the word. For instance 男, 1 boy wearing a helmet 田 and carry a knife 刀 and goes \"swosh\" in action. hehehhehehe.....sorry for the violence as my boys are very violent as they are learning wushu. In this way they will remember the word better. Also subconsciously they also learn 田 and 刀.
                ya I read it, :), not wasted at all!

yes, actually many characters are so interesting. full of meaning. the traditional way of writing even more so. but i am thankful they don't have to write the trad way. they already have problem with the simplified characters!

another word: 拿 also. when my boys learn it, they learn 4 other words: 人, 一, 口, 手. 🙂 when they learn words for tingxie or when they see a word for the first time, I tell them not to learn stroke by stroke. hard to remember.
                so a man using the hand to \"carry\" would make up this word na(2).

wushu not violent lah. wushu is good exercise and training in discipline, patience, agility, no? my hubby used to join wushu in his student days. my boys don't know wushu yet, hope they get the chance to try it someday.

SAHM_TAN

QuiteKSMum:
                  Hi Mummies,

I've emailed to NLB this morning re: the 四五快读 bks and they've replied :

\"Thank you for your email.

We have highlighted the suggested title to our Collections Department to evaluate and will update you as soon as we can.

Should you have other interesting titles to recommend, we welcome your submissions in the follow steps:-
                  1. go to http://www.pl.sg
                  2. click [Just Recommend] at the left of the page
                  3. complete the online form and [Submit]

Your submissions will be collated and reviewed by our Collections Department as well.

We hope this helps and look forward to your support our libraries.

Regards
                  Larissa Choong
                  NLB Helpdesk\"

Cheers!
                  I have a set at home, it's no point borrowing from the library because need to cut out the word cards to practice. If it belongs to the library, then would not be able to cut out the word cards.

Also if the library bring it in, they might separate the set, if someone borrow book 3 or 4, another parent will not be able to borrow the complete set.

I'm also trying out the books with my kids, hope this thread can be used for sharing experiences on using the book

• Q Offline
                    QuiteKSMum

Hi Mummies,

For a mum like me with an almost grown up kid, doubt that this bk will be helpful to us. Having said that, I'm still curious to see what's this bk all about - borrowing them fm the library to browse will be the best option... 😄 :celebrate:

teh_oh

ya I read it, :), not wasted at all!

yes, actually many characters are so interesting. full of meaning. the traditional way of writing even more so. but i am thankful they don't have to write the trad way. they already have problem with the simplified characters!

another word: 拿 also. when my boys learn it, they learn 4 other words: 人, 一, 口, 手. 🙂 when they learn words for tingxie or when they see a word for the first time, I tell them not to learn stroke by stroke. hard to remember.
                      so a man using the hand to \"carry\" would make up this word na(2).

wushu not violent lah. wushu is good exercise and training in discipline, patience, agility, no? my hubby used to join wushu in his student days. my boys don't know wushu yet, hope they get the chance to try it someday.
                      Hi kabalevsky,
                      We have 'funny' ways to 'memorise' chinese characters. For eg 班, my P3 child will visualise it as two 王 with the king on the left side trying to slide up a slide. And for 瞪, an eye (mu4) on the left and two 'F's (in mirror reflection) lying on top of a bean (dou4). For 激, a 'water side', plus a heavy '白' sitting on the left of '放'. 😄

Kabby

teh_oh:

We have 'funny' ways to 'memorise' chinese characters. For eg 班, my P3 child will visualise it as two 王 with the king on the left side trying to slide up a slide. And for 瞪, an eye (mu4) on the left and two 'F's (in mirror reflection) lying on top of a bean (dou4). For 激, a 'water side', plus a heavy '白' sitting on the left of '放'. 😄
                        hahaha, lol... ya, such mnemonics help a lot. the kids will like learning the characters more! thanks for sharing.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 34

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog