Different religion
religion was an important criteria when i looked for a bf. i would not consider someone whose religious. at the end of the day, i dun want to convert for the sake of him. 10 yrs down the road, we are still a paif of happy free tinkers.
daisyt:
Christians in Singapore are more of the American evangelicals. They tend to be more fundamentalistic, meaning they read the bible literally, they like to influence politics on issues like teaching evolution in schools, abortion, homosexuality rights, stem cell research etc... Even our Anglican belong to the lower house while those in England is the upper house and are more liberal.A friend from North Germany, she is a Christian but what type, I cannot remember. She came to Singapore for sight seeing, went into temple, hold joss sticks too to pray. To her, its just another kind of praying, for the blessing of her family. I was surprised because I have friends, who are Christians, won't hold joss sticks in parent's funeral. So I asked this Germany friend about holding joss sticks and going into temple. She told me, all religions are good, as long as they don't do harm to others. And its a wrong teaching that Christians should not hold joss sticks, should not enter temple. The basic respect to others should be there, regardless what religion.
I am just quoting what she told me. I don't know much about bible or Christians. Maybe Christians here can enlighten us, for the sake of sharing.
daisyt:
daisyt,
A friend from North Germany, she is a Christian but what type, I cannot remember. She came to Singapore for sight seeing, went into temple, hold joss sticks too to pray. To her, its just another kind of praying, for the blessing of her family. I was surprised because I have friends, who are Christians, won't hold joss sticks in parent's funeral. So I asked this Germany friend about holding joss sticks and going into temple. She told me, all religions are good, as long as they don't do harm to others. And its a wrong teaching that Christians should not hold joss sticks, should not enter temple. The basic respect to others should be there, regardless what religion.
I am just quoting what she told me. I don't know much about bible or Christians. Maybe Christians here can enlighten us, for the sake of sharing.
I applaud your friend! I think Singaporeans need to learn from your friend. She is truely open-minded and respects other religions to the fullest! Remember our Singapore pledge? Regardless of religion... -
MLR:
MLR,Hiya pinky
Me Buddhist, DH Anglican.
Interestingly, DH didn't went church for like 15 yrs(since college). When we got married and he was out of job the same month, he hit the lowest point of his life. He was very fustrated, cos couldn't find a suitable job. At that time, I told him that sometimes you need more than love ones to support you, I think you need spiritual guidance and encouraged him to go back to church.
He told me that he hasn't been to church for the past 15 yrs and wondered if the church would collasped when he step in. Told him that his God would forgive him if he sincerely pray to him and asked for guidance. He did started going to church and after a few months things got better, found a job, we settled into marriage life.
2 yrs ago, we decide to baptise DS, guess what? The church didn't agree to our choice of godparents, cos they and me are not members of the church, The priest asked DH to ask for forgiveness and repent cos he married a non-believer. Well, what I said was that if the church couldn't accept me, so be it. I was pretty crossed, cos I was the one who got DH going back to his faith and yet the church is against me. I then started DS to go for church service with DH. And after 2 yrs later, just b4 DS 2nd birthday, he was baptised. He started going for Sunday classes and Sunday is my offday.
To me its about acceptance. You hv to accept him and his religion, when you married him, you marry his everything.
So I don't 'DEAL\" with it, I accept it. Furthermore, when you first went \"steady\" with him, isn't religion an important factor of consideration when you accept his proposal/marriage?
Just my personal experience and views.....
How come DS did not follow you to become a Buddhist?
Kudos to you for being open-minded as well! i probably would have advised him to go to the temple with me when he was down since he has not gone back to the church for so long...
Viewing some of the youtube posts on Pastor Rony’s sermons, I now understand why my MIL is behaving the way she is behaving now.
About 3yrs ago, FIL felt tightness in his chest and was breathless. His doctor referred him to a cardiologist and found that his arteries are blocked and it was recommended that he go for the ballooning procedure. MIL insisted no need to go for surgery and wanted FIL to go to church for her pastor to pray over him. She firmly believed that FIL will be healed that way. And she got her sisters to add pressure on FIL and DH by supposedly calling and counselling them. Well FIL went for the surgery and all went well. And MIL did not visit him at the hospital until DH blasted her and ask her if her so called GOD told her to forsake her husband.
Then about 6mths after that, we found out my dad had to go for a triple bypass. And again she called my mum and told my mum dun let my dad go for surgery. She wanted to bring her Pastor and her gaggle of church going fellas to my parents’ house to pray over my Dad. Saying that that will heal him. I told DH to stop MIL from doing such things cos my Dad will definitely chase them away.
I myself though not baptised have been greatly influenced by the Catholic faith. I believe in God. But I think what some representatives of some churches are doing is damaging and for people like my MIL, bordering on dangerous, even. She has stopped taking her high blood pressure meds saying prayers will help heal her. And the even scarier thing is, she is not alone, her sisters who are all converts and attending the same church share the same thinking in varying degrees. -
the first thing that comes to my mind after reading your account... Your MIL and her sisters and some of her church mates:Viewing some of the youtube posts on Pastor Rony's sermons, I now understand why my MIL is behaving the way she is behaving now.
About 3yrs ago, FIL felt tightness in his chest and was breathless. His doctor referred him to a cardiologist and found that his arteries are blocked and it was recommended that he go for the ballooning procedure. MIL insisted no need to go for surgery and wanted FIL to go to church for her pastor to pray over him. She firmly believed that FIL will be healed that way. And she got her sisters to add pressure on FIL and DH by supposedly calling and counselling them. Well FIL went for the surgery and all went well. And MIL did not visit him at the hospital until DH blasted her and ask her if her so called GOD told her to forsake her husband.
Then about 6mths after that, we found out my dad had to go for a triple bypass. And again she called my mum and told my mum dun let my dad go for surgery. She wanted to bring her Pastor and her gaggle of church going fellas to my parents' house to pray over my Dad. Saying that that will heal him. I told DH to stop MIL from doing such things cos my Dad will definitely chase them away.
I myself though not baptised have been greatly influenced by the Catholic faith. I believe in God. But I think what some representatives of some churches are doing is damaging and for people like my MIL, bordering on dangerous, even. She has stopped taking her high blood pressure meds saying prayers will help heal her. And the even scarier thing is, she is not alone, her sisters who are all converts and attending the same church share the same thinking in varying degrees.
走火入魔!
Sorry, didn't mean to offend anyone. But I feel they are superstitious liao! -
tree nymph:
I agree loh. There was once at dinner after hearing her spouting Pastor XXX said this and that and this and that, I cannot tahan. I asked her who is God for I am getting the impression that Pastor XXX is her god. Nowhere in the entire monologue was there a mention of Jesus but throughout, it was Pastor XXX is very powerful, he very devout, he can cure people of their illness, blah blah blah.the first thing that comes to my mind after reading your account... Your MIL and her sisters and some of her church mates:
走火入魔!
Sorry, didn't mean to offend anyone. But I feel they are superstitious liao!
In any case, she has been trying to get FIL and DH to go to her church. Saying that she wants all of them to be together in the afterlife. -
insider:
Do you think there are many churches in Singapore that are not like THAT?!She is furious and added if she were to be a Christian subsequently, she will definitely not be in his church.
Sorry, but I wonder where she is headed in the afterlife. Glory should only be to God, to Jesus...and definitely not the person.
In any case, she has been trying to get FIL and DH to go to her church. Saying that she wants all of them to be together in the afterlife.
It's not which church they attend that will affect where they are going but rather what they believe. Judas iscariot was in Jesus' \"school\" but look what happen to him. One of the thief who was crucified alongside Jesus...he believed and was saved - didn't go school, didn't go church.
God allowed bad bad things to happen to Job - lost all his kids and wealth in a second, and later his health. I don't think that going to church means wealth and health, and definitely don't subscribe to anyone being able to heal all diseases with a wave of the hand. That time has passed. -
Unfortunately there is quite a lot of unsound theology going around.
I agree loh. There was once at dinner after hearing her spouting Pastor XXX said this and that and this and that, I cannot tahan. I asked her who is God for I am getting the impression that Pastor XXX is her god. Nowhere in the entire monologue was there a mention of Jesus but throughout, it was Pastor XXX is very powerful, he very devout, he can cure people of their illness, blah blah blah.tree nymph:
the first thing that comes to my mind after reading your account... Your MIL and her sisters and some of her church mates:
走火入魔!
Sorry, didn't mean to offend anyone. But I feel they are superstitious liao!
In any case, she has been trying to get FIL and DH to go to her church. Saying that she wants all of them to be together in the afterlife.
As my Pastor says, you are in this world, even if you are not of it. In other words, the laws of physics, chemistry, biology all apply (finance too, I might add!), and equally to all, regardless of faith and religion.
Two rules I live by as I walk the line of 'this world' and 'the other world', 1) Render unto Caesars what is Caesar's and to God, what is God's, and 2) Do not put the Lord your God to the test.
Live and let live.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.