Different religion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    95 Posts 54 Posters 47.1k Views 1 Watching

Religion is a personal experience and walk with your divine’s beliefs.

One should not base your beliefs on someone else’ experience but perhaps a combo of your own and theirs, IF they apply.

No one is free from worldly things and infallible, just as we have found the wrong-doings of Ren Ci Ming Yi and perhaps more to be uncovered from other religious organisation? So are we going to stop believing in our Divine because of them?

Stay focused if you have beliefs in your own personal experiences with your Divine one.

Mrsbongz

Hmm.. I used to think religion doesn't matter, and dated guys of different faith.. but as we progressed, he found it difficult that I had to attend church and I couldn't tahan all their superstitions and rituals..

Later when I was dating DH and we went for marriage preparation courses.. I realised that being of te same faith has advantages.. Cos we definitely grew up in different family cultures.. but having a common belief helps binds us when we have disputes.. when we disagree.. the bible decides.. 🙂 so I will usually encourage my friends to date guys of the same faith.. less conflict, more understanding..

cluelessmom

insider:

I think for my this daughter, I can sort of expect her to be able to analyse instead of taking any teachings in a literal sense and to surrender herself with childlike innocence without any questioning. She will have to find herself a suitable church that preaches meaningfully if she wants to be a Christian in the later part of her life... If she so chooses to follow blindly, then so be it as by then she is no longer really a child. I really do expect my kids to be thinking individuals who dare to question even religious leaders, be it a pastor or a monk...
          This is wat I hope for my dd as well :celebrate: I have long delayed disussion on the topic of religion with her until she recently had an expressed interest on the subject .... Wondering if u had any recommendation for a very basic easy-to-comprehend buddhist literature tat captures the essence of Buddhism?

Busymom

insider:

The book is雪中足迹:圣严法师自传(the original of this book is in English – “Footprints in the Snow”)。圣严法师is a very respected monk in Taiwan who passed away last year. I find the book very easy to read (like a story)
            Thanks, insider, for the recommendation of the book. I've been looking for books on Buddhism that is easy to understand, but no success so far. Will look for this book and see if it is available to buy online.

cluelessmom

Hi insider, I really appreciate the time and effort u took in making the reply to my query and sharing wif me ur perspective and understanding of the religion :thankyou:

I always find it hard to broach the subject of religion wif my dd as I feel tat I have so little knowledge of them.......esp for Buddhism, cuz it can be quite cheem.....I think i dun have the 慧根 la...hahaha.. wonder if I can find the book “Footprints in the Snow” in the local bookstores... nevertheless, tks so much, u have already answered much more than u need to :love:

adhdadhd

cluelessmom:
                Hi insider, I really appreciate the time and effort u took in making the reply to my query and sharing wif me ur perspective and understanding of the religion :thankyou:

I always find it hard to broach the subject of religion wif my dd as I feel tat I have so little knowledge of them.......esp for Buddhism, cuz it can be quite cheem.....I think i dun have the 慧根 la...hahaha.. wonder if I can find the book “Footprints in the Snow” in the local bookstores... nevertheless, tks so much, u have already answered much more than u need to :love:
                Buddhism not cheem la, it started with Love, kindness and Compassion, 深信因果will do. Hard part is to practise Great Tolerance

CONFUSEDRE

Me and my hb are of different religions. He believed in "Tian Dao" and i’m a buddhist. We can’t get along with one another and we’ve been quarrelling over his religion. He is super staunch and have been frequently going to his so called "fotang" and i find that he is already 走火入魔! I feel that he’s neglecting our kids. Weekends are our family times and i find it very precious but instead, he’ll usually spend time at his fotang ! It seems to me that they’re not praying but simply getting more pple to join them "Qiu Tao". They’ll pester pple to follow thie religion. Be it Malay, Indian etc… I wonder if there’s anyone here who are the same religion as my hb. Are you all behaving the same as them ???

mathsparks

insider:
                    Chance upon this little E-book which I find is quite useful to teach our kids how to 'agree to disagree' when facing proselytism...

http://conversion.buddhists.sg/

PS: My daughter really gets annoyed when her schoolmates talk 'aggressively' about their religion and many times I ask her to keep her cool and try to imagine how come they can be so passionate about their belief. This E-book will come in handy for her...
                    Thank you so much for the link, insider. My girl has been facing the same issue since her sec school days. I had this problem of fending off such schoolmates during my schooldays too. And soon, I'm quite sure my boy will face the same annoyance. Will get them to read the ebook.

daisyt

thanks insider, this little E-book is very useful and informative. Thanks a lot! :celebrate:

tree nymph

CONFUSEDRE:
                        Me and my hb are of different religions. He believed in \"Tian Dao\" and i'm a buddhist. We can't get along with one another and we've been quarrelling over his religion. He is super staunch and have been frequently going to his so called \"fotang\" and i find that he is already 走火入魔! I feel that he's neglecting our kids. Weekends are our family times and i find it very precious but instead, he'll usually spend time at his fotang ! It seems to me that they're not praying but simply getting more pple to join them \"Qiu Tao\". They'll pester pple to follow thie religion. Be it Malay, Indian etc.... I wonder if there's anyone here who are the same religion as my hb. Are you all behaving the same as them ???

cool it cool it!

can you talk to him, calmly and tell him that his kids also need him, so he should spend some time with his kids apart from going to fotang? maybe have a good division of the time and things maybe better?

think about your dating days and how is it that your different religion didn't stop you from getting married.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 10