Marymount Convent

5.7k Posts 143 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      JasBB

sembgal:
      Hi, any parents from MCS know the P1 pupils need to wear pinafore or PE attire on first day of school? Since the P1 pupils have 4 PE periods in a week, as stated in the Orientation file, they are required to wear 4 days of PE attire and there is no indication on which day to wear pinafore. First day wear pinafore or PE attire?

First day should wear pinafore. The form teacher will give them a time table to inform the kids which day to wear PE attire. You can also check what books and items to bring on the first school day from the Orientation File.

• sembgalS Offline
        sembgal

Thanks for the info, phtthp and JasBB 🙂

lil_jade

Hi!

Does anyone have the bus contact number? I think it’s David something… Thanks! Has anyone received any call from them yet? Cos I haven’t received any call yet, worried!

PS: Can I just ask (cos I can’t remember anymore), what to bring on first day? Any specific books of those we bought from the bookshop?

Thanks!!

• sembgalS Offline
            sembgal

lil_jade:
            Hi!

Does anyone have the bus contact number? I think it's David something.. Thanks! Has anyone received any call from them yet? Cos I haven't received any call yet, worried!

PS: Can I just ask (cos I can't remember anymore), what to bring on first day? Any specific books of those we bought from the bookshop?

Thanks!!
            Hi, I have received a phone call from another driver a few days ago. David can be reached at 96707698.

Books to be handed in on the first day.

English:
            Primary English (Revised Ed) Book 1 (Casco)
            1 Jotter book
            1 Wide single line exercise book
            1 MCS Spelling book

Math:
            Shaping Maths Activity Book 1A 3rd edition (ignore the Orientation file that states Math Builder 1A. (Apparently, there are errors in there for school commencement day and the math book for P1) I think the school did not update some info in file.

Mother Tongue
            Textbook 1A (CL/ML/TL)
            Workbook/Activity Book 1A (CL/ML/TL)
            1 Single Line exercise book (ML/TL)
            2 Big square exercise books (CL)
            1 Jotter book with lines (TL)

Note: Please use ink to write your daughter's name on the books.

School will commence on Thursday, 2 January 2014 at 12.15pm. Pupils will proceed to the foyer upon arrival during first week. There will be prefects and staff to assist them at the pickup point. Recess for first three days of Term 1 will be from 2.30pm to 3.30pm. There is a 'Buddy System' where P5 pupils on duty will assist your child during recess time for the first three days of Term 1.

Please display your car decal prominently before driving into the school. The car decals are to be affixed prominently at the top left hand corner of the windscreen. Only vehicles with MCS car decals will be allowed into the school. Vehicles without car decals will have to stop and register at the security post. Car decals do not allow for parking rights in the school.

Please ensure your daughter puts on the coloured ribbon for the first 2 weeks to facilitate identification of the class she belongs to.

All belongings like stationery, MCS black jacket, books, purse, black shoes, school bag, water bottle, lunch-box, etc, must be labelled with the child's name.

The pencil case should contain at least 2 sharpened 2B pencils, an eraser, a sharpener and a ruler. A clear folder should be brought to school too.

The Pupil's Helpmate (diary) is to be brought to school every day. For parents who made online purchases of the books through Pacific Bookstores, MCS Pupil Helpmate will be given by teacher in January 2014. So remember to remind the teacher for your daughter's Pupil Helpmates if still outstanding.

At Primary 1, there will be more bite-sized forms of assessments to build pupils' confidence and desire to learn. Teachers will use a range of assessment tools, including written and performance tasks to enable them to provide feedback to pupils on their mastery of concepts and skills. These assessments will be spaced out appropriately so that pupils will not be overwhelmed. Termly feedback will be provided on each pupil's development to provide a more complete picture of their achievement and progress. At P1 level, Term 1 is Nil. Term 2: 30%. Term 3: 30%. Term 4: 40%. Total: 100%.

At the end of P1, all pupils will be promoted en-bloc to P2. Pupils with specific needs may be re-grouped.

At the end of P2, placement into top 2 classes for following year P3 is ranked by merit and cut-off will be at the maximum enrolment for each of the top 2 classes. After allocation of the top 2 classes, the remaining pupils will be randomly placed into the rest of the mixed-ability classes.

ryan_bb

lil_jade:
              Hi!

Does anyone have the bus contact number? I think it's David something.. Thanks! Has anyone received any call from them yet? Cos I haven't received any call yet, worried!

PS: Can I just ask (cos I can't remember anymore), what to bring on first day? Any specific books of those we bought from the bookshop?

Thanks!!
              hi I too didn't receive any calls from driver so I ask hubby call n they give the bus number straight and time to wait for bus and the location..
              prob there may b missed out since so many..

mutree

HI mummies,

My girl will be going to p 1 compassion 2 days later. Nice to meet all the helpful mummies here.
                Can i ask for advice for the following?
                1)other than pencil case, help mate, clear folder, purse, what else must primary 1gal bring for first day of school?
                2) is it really necessary to by crayons of 50 colours as stated on the book list? Sounded a bit redundant and heavy to carry …
                3)if my gal is not taking school bus, where should I tell her to wait at the end of the school day? Will they be allowed to Just sit near the drop off point? Or there is a specific location arranged by the school as i can foresee a big mass on the first day…

Thanks a lot! And happy new year!

• sembgalS Offline
                  sembgal

Hi Parents of Pri 1(Year 2014) MCS girls, I have compiled a list of food items sold in MCS canteen, some with price list, some without price list. It will be useful for you to let your child know what food is sold and how much it cost so that you can gauge the amount of pocket money to give to your girl to buy food during recess.

Stalls in random order:

Vegetable pau $0.70
                  Small chicken pau $0.70
                  BBQ chicken pau $0.70
                  Tau Sar Pau $0.60
                  Ling Yong Pau $0.70
                  Chee Cheong Fun $0.70
                  Fun Choy $1.20
                  Lo Mai Kai $1.20
                  Siew Mai $0.60

Regular sushi $0.60
                  Unagi sushi $1.00
                  Wanton noodle $0.80
                  (Specially on Friday) Fish Wanton Noodle $0.80

Below price unknown because not listed on menu in canteen
                  Chawan mushi
                  Macaroni soup (mushroom/chicken)
                  Fried rice (char siew/seafood)
                  Fried noodles/meehoon
                  Chicken spaghetti

Main Course below ($0.80 to $1.00)
                  Mee Bakso
                  Mee Rubus
                  Mee Soto
                  Mee Siam
                  Mee Goreng
                  Fried Kuay Teow
                  Lontong
                  Nasi Lemak
                  Nasi Goreng
                  Nasi Bryani
                  Nasi Putih

Side dishes to go with main course (price unknown)
                  Vegetables
                  Black Pepper Chicken
                  Black Sauce Chicken
                  Curry Chicken
                  Fish Ball
                  Fish Cake
                  Fish Fillet
                  Omelette
                  Bull Eyed Egg

Side dishes (with price)
                  Fishball $0.30
                  Crabstick $0.30
                  Egg $0.40
                  Begedel$0.40
                  Dark sauced chicken drumlet $0.60
                  Sweet sour chicken fillet $0.60
                  Black Pepper chicken $0.80
                  Curry chicken $0.80

Daily Specials at $1.00
                  Monday Special: Hor Fun
                  Tuesday Special: Nasi Bryani with Curry Chicken
                  Wednesday Special: Chicken Rice
                  Thursday Special: Longtong
                  Friday Special: Sweet & Sour Fish with rice

Price unknown
                  Porridge
                  Fruit & Salad
                  Muffin
                  Shepherd's pie
                  Pancakes
                  Sandwiches

That's all. Wishing you a Happy New Year 🙂

lil_jade

Sembgal,

Thanks for the detailed list! That’s super useful!

BTW, just to check, we are allowed to be in the school the whole day or just during recess? Cos my school bus says I can go with them to and fro school on the first day, cos there’re enough seats on the bus. So now I’m wondering if I’m allowed to stay in school or got to leave and come back during recess etc…

lil_jade

mutree:
                      HI mummies,

My girl will be going to p 1 compassion 2 days later. Nice to meet all the helpful mummies here.
                      Can i ask for advice for the following?
                      1)other than pencil case, help mate, clear folder, purse, what else must primary 1gal bring for first day of school?
                      2) is it really necessary to by crayons of 50 colours as stated on the book list? Sounded a bit redundant and heavy to carry …
                      3)if my gal is not taking school bus, where should I tell her to wait at the end of the school day? Will they be allowed to Just sit near the drop off point? Or there is a specific location arranged by the school as i can foresee a big mass on the first day...

Thanks a lot! And happy new year!
                      Hi mutree,

Sembgal had a detailed list of books to bring in an earlier post, that'll be able to help you!

Hmmm, but I'm not sure need to bring the crayons everyday or not? And whether to bring on the first day?

PS: are you getting a normal backpack or trolley bag? We still haven't buy and going tomorrow to get! Will probably get her mechanical pencils too, but I'm not sure if the school allow woh..

mutree

Thanks lil_jade for replying!

Yes, I m rather blur. was not aware that \"books to be handed in\" means books to bring. I thought initially those are books to be handed to my gal by the teacher. I m now packing the bag but I dun seem to see any \"wide single line exercise book\" in my box of books or in the book list... It is not referring to the \"A6 blue note book\", right? and shaping maths to bring activity book only? No need the coursebook? Really appreciate if someone could enlighten me.

I got her a non trolley bag. normal pencil since there is a mention of sharpener. Decided to get those colour pencils later after finding out more. Trying to keep things as light - weight as possible..

Counting down in 1hour and 7 mins....

🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 490 / 567

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo