DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

If you don't hear from your appeal school, you MUST submit your S1 central posting form.
      I thought you always need to submit the S1 posting form no matter what? Then if appeal is successful, on the actual posting day, you go to the schools involved to report and do the transfer documentation.

I've heard that it's that way even when you are in these OTHER scenarios (not exactly related to DSA):

1) applied to an international school eg. SJI(International) and have an acceptance letter from that school - my friend's daughter still had to do S1 posting, and then do a withdrawal (???!!! why, I wonder??!).

2) Exempted from Mother tongue (Chinese, in this instance), so apply to a school that you are eligible for based on PSLE results, but at the same time submit an appeal to a SAP school of your choice (most likely it's the affiliated school). Bc even if the PSLE score shows you meet the historical COP of that school, the child's application would be thrown out by the computer system bc the results lack Chinese, which is required for admission to a SAP school. Hence the need to formally submit an appeal at the same time. - this was done by a few of my daughter's p6 classmates who were exempted Chinese for various reasons.

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

when to appeal to NJC -- better find out from them directly
        previous years they only accepted appeals from posting day onwards. But best you check with them on psle results day.

iFirefly

yukilei:

I heard of 1 RI boy, non-gepper, rejected by RI but given a CO fm another sch during DSA. He accepted the CO. But who knows, he scored 271 for PSLE. His parents immediately appeal to RI & he was accepted by RI.

sounded like he got a call from RI the very next day, saying, \"lai lai lai ........\"

o.i.c... he is our vk2010's DS?! :imcool:

jtoh

yukilei:
            Snow Crystal:

Haha nebbermind you are definitely more in tune with sports domain than I am :oops: I am not as familiar but from what i know in top IPs, most top sports kids get through these schools at DSA stage. Would think that top sportsmen get to choose which IP to go at DSA and will definitely chope :xedfingers: their dream IP CO. From last year RI appeal, saw boys with PSLE above COP eg PSLE score 262 vs COP 259 not successful in appeal. My heart goes to these kids :hugs: cos they could have gotten into RI via S1 but becos they didn't get RI CO at DSA and instead accepted another school's CO, they are not eligible for S1 and can only try to squeeze into the tiny appeal door πŸ™ it's so heart wrenching :gloomy:

I thought if even the COP is 259, it doesn't mean that student with score 260 can definitely get in to RI, right? cos I thought this is just a guide? What if RI only have 100 vacancies left for S1 posting but >there're 120 students applying RI with 100 students scoring > 265, balance are < 265. So, RI will take in those > 265 to fit in the 100 vacancies right?

Snow Crystal is referring to specific cases last year, where the COP of 259 for RI was already known for 2010. In those cases, the kid who had 262 could have gotten into RI if he had participated in the S1 posting exercise. But he couldn't bec he'd already accepted a CO from another school. And his appeal was rejected.

iFirefly

Zann:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
              for those with zero success at DSA (tried, but no offer no WL) yet finally got high t-score (not marginal at the cop) which allow them to walk in to any school, appeal may still be appropriate because some school gives almost immediate approval...and being kiasu,

for this kind of immediate approval case, does the stud still need to submit s1 form within the timeframe? According to MOE spell-out process those who have no successful DSA got to go thru s1 posting, right?

Also what if this stud did not try DSA at all, can also appeal to get early approval then wait ?

:? :?[/quote]haha, master shifu VK, you have met your 'warrior'... πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

inner peace... :imanangel: :imanangel: :imanangel:

Snow Crystal

yukilei:

I thought if even the COP is 259, it doesn't mean that student with score 260 can definitely get in to RI, right? cos I thought this is just a guide? What if RI only have 100 vacancies left for S1 posting but >there're 120 students applying RI with 100 students scoring > 265, balance are < 265. So, RI will take in those > 265 to fit in the 100 vacancies right?

Snow Crystal is referring to specific cases last year, where the COP of 259 for RI was already known for 2010. In those cases, the kid who had 262 could have gotten into RI if he had participated in the S1 posting exercise. But he couldn't bec he'd already accepted a CO from another school. And his appeal was rejected.

Thanks jtoh for replying yukilei. Yukilei - we are referring to the appeal kids specifically those who accepted CO in 2nd choice schools because they did not get CO for first choice school. Sorry if we confuse you :oops:

To be very specific, eg a boy Ah Beng's dream sch is RI, but gets WL from RI and CO from HCI. On PSLE results day, he got into HCI ie RI WL did not materialize into CO. He scored 262. As he has been allocated HCI via DSA option exercise, Ah Beng this name will be removed from S1 exercise. Ah Beng goes to appeal to RI via supplementary exercise ie appeal to transfer from HCI to RI. RI has kept say 50 lots for appeal, and Ah Beng is ranked 51 for whatever criteria RI applied :yikes: πŸ˜“ He gets rejected by RI, have to stay in HCI. On the other hand, his classmate Ah Seng did not participate in DSA, chiong for PSLE and scored 260, then puts RI as first choice in S1 posting. RI official S1 COP is 259 and Ah Seng gets into RI :imcool: Ah Beng scores higher (262) than Ah Seng (260) but Ah Seng gets into RI :frustrated: If Ah Beng did not participate in DSA he would have gotten into RI on his own merit like Ah Seng :slapshead: End of story...

but pple usually accept CO first safer is because they won’t know if child going to perform well or not in PSLE.

if din perform well, then accept CO is the answer.
                  if perform well, then S1 posting is the answer.

but before PSLE, nobody knows the answer. Who can tell what’s in store for you …

Interested

Snow Crystal:

Thanks jtoh for replying yukilei. Yukilei - we are referring to the appeal kids specifically those who accepted CO in 2nd choice schools because they did not get CO for first choice school. Sorry if we confuse you :oops:

To be very specific, eg a boy Ah Beng's dream sch is RI, but gets WL from RI and CO from HCI. On PSLE results day, he got into HCI ie RI WL did not materialize into CO. He scored 262. As he has been allocated HCI via DSA option exercise, Ah Beng this name will be removed from S1 exercise. Ah Beng goes to appeal to RI via supplementary exercise ie appeal to transfer from HCI to RI. RI has kept say 50 lots for appeal, and Ah Beng is ranked 51 for whatever criteria RI applied :yikes: πŸ˜“ He gets rejected by RI, have to stay in HCI. On the other hand, his classmate Ah Seng did not participate in DSA, chiong for PSLE and scored 260, then puts RI as first choice in S1 posting. RI official S1 COP is 259 and Ah Seng gets into RI :imcool: Ah Beng scores higher (262) than Ah Seng (260) but Ah Seng gets into RI :frustrated: If Ah Beng did not participate in DSA he would have gotten into RI on his own merit like Ah Seng :slapshead: End of story...[/quote]

Thanks for the Ah Beng and Ah Seng short story...i enjoyed reading as lunch break :evil: πŸ•Ί

in the end, all the Ah Seng, not Ah Beng got into RI πŸ•Ί :siam: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Snow Crystal

but pple usually accept CO first safer is because they won't know if child going to perform well or not in PSLE.

if din perform well, then accept CO is the answer.
                        if perform well, then S1 posting is the answer.

but before PSLE, nobody knows the answer. Who can tell what's in store for you ...
                        Exactly! πŸ˜‰ 🀷 it's a tough personal call. :nailbite: :nailbite: :nailbite:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 805 / 919