Green Tea
Moral of the story, dun skip breakfast.BlurBee, Schweppes,
The headache I get when I don't eat on time, esp if I miss breakfast and not have an early lunch can be v v intense - can't take it :siao:
Can't remember where I read it but there were studies done that shows that people who skip breakfast tend to put on weight more easily. Maybe cos metabolic rate is slow and by the time it's lunch time we are ravenous and may eat more then required. -
...But the moment I went back to my normal diet, the weight melted away.
Wah, I'm so inspired. That's true acutally - my normal lifestyle of walking too quickly, too much caffeine (this time via green tea) and just regular amounts of food helps me to sustain my weight. -
Funz, I agree with you wholeheartedly. I will have a muesli bar (Uncle Toby's) when I am on the go ie drop DH to work, bring DS to playgrp etc... but lately have found that too sweet. So am finding an alternative. Any suggestions for any \"on the go\" breakfast??
Moral of the story, dun skip breakfast.autumnbronze:
BlurBee, Schweppes,
The headache I get when I don't eat on time, esp if I miss breakfast and not have an early lunch can be v v intense - can't take it :siao:
Can't remember where I read it but there were studies done that shows that people who skip breakfast tend to put on weight more easily. Maybe cos metabolic rate is slow and by the time it's lunch time we are ravenous and may eat more then required.
MLR,MLR:
Hiya all, any tips for keeping the kgs away for this feasting and pigging out season? I would be doing max 2 visits a day, then wouldn't hv to over-eat out of politeness.
It's CNY, I intend to enjoy so for those 3 days, not gonna bother much. Thereafter then back to the usual routine.
Did that in december with all the christmas and holidays. Put on 1kg in the 2 weeks that I was in Australia. You know lah, burgers and chips and wine and pasta. But the moment I went back to my normal diet, the weight melted away.
I read in some magazine, can't remember whether HER or others ... that during festive season, b4 visiting, eat something from home so that you don't end up eating much when you go visiting
Like that will prevent us from staying away from those yummilicious goodies ok, just kidding
soyjoy bar?
Funz, I agree with you wholeheartedly. I will have a muesli bar (Uncle Toby's) when I am on the go ie drop DH to work, bring DS to playgrp etc... but lately have found that too sweet. So am finding an alternative. Any suggestions for any \"on the go\" breakfast??

I will have a muesli bar (Uncle Toby's) .. but lately have found that too sweet. So am finding an alternative. Any suggestions for any \"on the go\" breakfast??

Jordan's muesli bars are good n not too sweet.
However, I hv been looking ard SIN but couldn't find them
on local supermarket shelves, though Jordan cereal in boxes are available.
Maybe someone in forum knows where to find them? -
Joy, Way2GO,autumnbronze:
I will have a muesli bar (Uncle Toby's) .. but lately have found that too sweet. So am finding an alternative. Any suggestions for any \"on the go\" breakfast??

Jordan's muesli bars are good n not too sweet.
However, I hv been looking ard SIN but couldn't find them
on local supermarket shelves, though Jordan cereal in boxes are available.
Maybe someone in forum knows where to find them?
Thanks, will check them out. -
after 2 weeks of feasting. And goodness, the amount of stuff I had. Light breakfast fm home b4 heading out, then tang yuan and nian gao and cheng tng plus all the cookies. Lunch at 2pm, dinner at 9pm along with wine, beer, liquor and if here is tong siao mahjong, we will be snacking and playing through the nite. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Now time to get back to my regular meals. I actually find comfort in going back to my simple meals of veg and soup dinner.
Though I feel a bit bloated. Most probably from indigestion. My weight did not go up that much.
How did you guys weather your CNY feasting? -
Actually, I'm glad that LKVM started this thread on green tea. Reading the discussion here has motivated me to eat healthily :lol:
And also, a thank you to Funz for promoting the benefits of green tea. :lol: Having chanced upon this thread and reading on Funz healthy eating habits, I also try to include drinking green tea and other herbal teas (like lemon grass, rosehip, lavender, chamomile, peppermint) into my daily beverage diet.
Healthwise, I believe drinking the green and herbal teas have been helping me manage my water retention problem. I don't feel as bloated as before. In terms of weight loss, I may have lost about 1-2kg, but not sure if it is due to water loss.
Anyway, let's :celebrate: to green and herbal teas!! :lol: -
:celebrate: Good for you Schweppes.
Glad to be able to share with you guys my experience. Guess most of us have the same problems. Weakness for certain foods, non-existant metabolic rate and haizz... no will power.
If like me you suffer from bloatedness and water retention especially nearing your menstral period, try lymphatic drainage massage. Go for a massage after your menses clears. It helps get rid of toxins and improves blood circulation.
I know it helps to have someone encouraging and keeping you company when you are trying to change a habit, be it exercise or diet, etc, so lets just be each others' support.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.