2013 P1 Registration Exercise for 2014 In-Take

3.7k Posts 210 Posters 739.0k Views 1 Watching

manyoo692005:
      Thanks to Chief Kiasu again, :udaman: for his foresight in coming up with and diligence in maintaining this incredible website. It was here I managed to get my DD into her school 2 years ago. And here again, I had relied on KSP to strategize my latest registration. Like I said 2 years back, long may this website be around to help concerned parents make the right choices.

Thanks also to all the forum participants who shared info and figures so willingly and expeditiously. Your contributions are what keeps all of us informed and what keeps this forum/site alive.
      Thank you manyoo692005! Indeed it is really through the selfless sharing of parents that we can make a difference in other's lives. I have learnt much myself in this process. We are grateful to all our moderators and parents who are unselfish in providing real time information and clarifying doubts so that everyone can go through the registration process with their eyes wide open.

Aleixis

marzipan:
        Thanks! It's been indeed a roller-coaster ride for me... I didn't get my 1st choice sch in the end but I'm happy with my decision (albeit rather last minute) to put my boy into Alexandra Pri Sch 🙂

Yup no balloting for me. Thankfully![/quote]

:celebrate: no need to be stressed over the 6/8 balloting hor hehe...[/quote]

Congrats Patisy and Marzipan!!! This is all OVER! :rahrah:

• anxious.01501dadA Offline
          anxious.01501dad

Of the 27 planning areas that the primary schools are segregated into, it is interesting to note that only three areas do not have sufficient vacancies to fulfill the number of registration: Bukit Timah, Marine Parade and Serangoon.

\tList of Areas\t\t\t
          1\tAng Mo Kio\t350
          2\tBedok\t335
          3\tBishan\t67
          4\tBukit Batok\t208
          5\tBukit Merah\t178
          6\tBukit Panjang\t200
          7\tBukit Timah\t-16
          8\tCentral\t37
          9\tChoa Chu Kang\t173
          10\tClementi\t46
          11\tGeylang\t146
          12\tHougang\t142
          13\tJurong East\t88
          14\tJurong West\t139
          15\tKallang\t113
          16\tMarine Parade\t-14
          17\tNovena\t76
          18\tPasir Ris\t290
          19\tPunggol\t95
          20\tQueenstown\t77
          21\tSembawang\t165
          22\tSeng Kang\t193
          23\tSerangoon\t-54
          24\tTampines\t334
          25\tToa Payoh\t86
          26\tWoodlands\t253
          27\tYishun\t159
          \t\t
          \tAvailable vacancies for Phase3 =\t3866

• sembgalS Offline
            sembgal

Aleixis:
            sembgal:

[quote=\"absolut_vodka\"]I think we should push for schools/MOE to provide more information regarding the registrations at all phases, i.e. breakdown of SC/PRs, no of applicants in the 3 home/school distance category so as to minimise the balloting situation. I think most parents will make a wise decision to avoid balloting if given the necessary information upfront.

I give kudos to those schools who turn parents away if they expect overwhelming responses...

I agree with you that MOE should publish the vacancies breakdown according to <1km, 1 - 2 km and >2km for SC or PR who registered. It was a tedious process for parents like me to keep track and made the swift move to register in a relatively good school that requires no balloting. MOE should seriously consider implementing updating all primary schools' websites with the latest statistic figures. Otherwise the poor admin has to answer high volume of calls.

Completely and 200% agree!! The information provided by MOE at the end of each day is not relevant or adequate for parents to assess their chances.

Sembgal, good morning! The feeling that it is all over today is unbelievable right? All the stress, work and preparations leading up to this......took a few days for it to sink in that this is all and finally over![/quote]I slept well last night. Appetite also returned.

• sembgalS Offline
              sembgal

anxious.dad:
              Of the 27 planning areas that the primary schools are segregated into, it is interesting to note that only three areas do not have sufficient vacancies to fulfill the number of registration: Bukit Timah, Marine Parade and Serangoon.

\tList of Areas\t\t\t
              1\tAng Mo Kio\t350
              2\tBedok\t335
              3\tBishan\t67
              4\tBukit Batok\t208
              5\tBukit Merah\t178
              6\tBukit Panjang\t200
              7\tBukit Timah\t-16
              8\tCentral\t37
              9\tChoa Chu Kang\t173
              10\tClementi\t46
              11\tGeylang\t146
              12\tHougang\t142
              13\tJurong East\t88
              14\tJurong West\t139
              15\tKallang\t113
              16\tMarine Parade\t-14
              17\tNovena\t76
              18\tPasir Ris\t290
              19\tPunggol\t95
              20\tQueenstown\t77
              21\tSembawang\t165
              22\tSeng Kang\t193
              23\tSerangoon\t-54
              24\tTampines\t334
              25\tToa Payoh\t86
              26\tWoodlands\t253
              27\tYishun\t159
              \t\t
              The Serangoon area residents risk going for balloting at Rosyth. If they failed to get balloted in, their children will have to register in Hougang or Ang Mo Kio area.

sweetiepie

anxious.dad:

\tList of Areas\t\t\t
                1\tAng Mo Kio\t350
                2\tBedok\t335
                3\tBishan\t67
                4\tBukit Batok\t208
                5\tBukit Merah\t178
                6\tBukit Panjang\t200
                7\tBukit Timah\t-16
                8\tCentral\t37
                9\tChoa Chu Kang\t173
                10\tClementi\t46
                11\tGeylang\t146
                12\tHougang\t142
                13\tJurong East\t88
                14\tJurong West\t139
                15\tKallang\t113
                16\tMarine Parade\t-14
                17\tNovena\t76
                18\tPasir Ris\t290
                19\tPunggol\t95
                20\tQueenstown\t77
                21\tSembawang\t165
                22\tSeng Kang\t193
                23\tSerangoon\t-54
                24\tTampines\t334
                25\tToa Payoh\t86
                26\tWoodlands\t253
                27\tYishun\t159
                \t\t
                Just wonder why these 3 areas are not provided enough vacancies for kids living around there. Is it because vacancies are taken up by phase 2A or there is insufficient school to provide for the growing population? These kids have to travel out further for 6yrs of their education....

marzipan

Aleixis:
                  marzipan:

Thanks! It's been indeed a roller-coaster ride for me... I didn't get my 1st choice sch in the end but I'm happy with my decision (albeit rather last minute) to put my boy into Alexandra Pri Sch 🙂

Yup no balloting for me. Thankfully!

:celebrate: no need to be stressed over the 6/8 balloting hor hehe...[/quote]

Congrats Patisy and Marzipan!!! This is all OVER! :rahrah:[/quote]

Thanks!! Yup it's over finally! :rahrah:

• jeffreyJ Offline
                    jeffrey

manyoo692005:

Thanks to Chief Kiasu again, :udaman: for his foresight in coming up with and diligence in maintaining this incredible website. It was here I managed to get my DD into her school 2 years ago. And here again, I had relied on KSP to strategize my latest registration. Like I said 2 years back, long may this website be around to help concerned parents make the right choices.

Thanks also to all the forum participants who shared info and figures so willingly and expeditiously. Your contributions are what keeps all of us informed and what keeps this forum/site alive.

Thank you manyoo692005! Indeed it is really through the selfless sharing of parents that we can make a difference in other's lives. I have learnt much myself in this process. We are grateful to all our moderators and parents who are unselfish in providing real time information and clarifying doubts so that everyone can go through the registration process with their eyes wide open.

Echoing manyoo692005, I share the same sentiments. Thanks chief to you and your team to conceive this website, maintaining it and more importantly making it free for all to access. My hope is for this website to continue so that the future batch of parents can also benefit. I also hope that you can generate enough income so that this website can continue to thrive.

This website has helped many parents like me share information, do research and network to finally make informed decisions for our kids’ P1 registration. I benefited from the wealth of information and networking on this site. The current system at MOE could have been more efficient especially with the release of vital live information (especially for crunch Phases 2B and 2C) as competition for places are most intense. Unless this process is fully automated (i.e. computerised and/or on-line), this is simply just not possible.

Singaporeans being adaptable will find an alternative and this website is the next best thing there is out there where information are shared and broadcasted (almost live in some cases) for all to make reference to. I witnessed the fury posts, sharing live information. The sheer number of users hitting this website at the closing stages was just crazy. To all the selfless parents that who shared the critical vacancy availability information – kudos to you. It is just amazing to witness this Singaporean phenomenon. Unless all schools truly are good schools homogeneously in every aspect (maybe like the Scandinavian school system) I will have the opinion that our primary schools are never the same.

To all the parents who were successful in getting into the school of your choice -congratulations. To all who are balloting, all the best!

financial_guru

manyoo692005:

Chief, your site getting v popular..may go the way of HWZ..singtel, mediacorp or sph got inv you to 'special business discussion'?
                      😆

deepacn1980

HI I think I may have to put my son in Kranji Pri Sch, no other option, because he is not a PR, please share your inputs about this Shool. Thanks.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 312 / 374

LaserEyeL
                        LaserEye