How do you deal with arrogant/how lian people around you?
likewise I do not like to engage in smalltalk with parents of other children at my DS's former childcare, enrichment class and now primary school.
Not only to avoid the \"bragging\" but also to avoid feeling stressed. I \"kena\" a few :shock: when I told them i did not signed up my DS for this & that. Or they would asked why i chose that in their opinion \"not-so-good\" child care.
Luckily, I do not have any close relatives that brags.
Only my MIL likes to make comparison remarks between my DS and my niece. -
mango:
hope it is not a close relative that you meet regualrly.
I have one. This relative of mine, whenever my baby reaches a milestone(like sitting up, crawling) she will make a comment \"your baby just learns to do this huh? Mine can do it when she is only xx months\". -
For me, depends on my mood that day, if I feel like challenging them or just zip up my mouth. :lol: :lol:
This is an interesting topic. Well, one possible way is if you know you will be meeting the braggart, have one of those applications ready that will call you on your hp at the time of the meeting. Then pretend that it's a really impt call and excuse yourself from the company of the braggart. Use this opportunity to quickly :siam:
Or if you have some one else who has better achievements than the braggart, use that to divert the conversation.
Hubby has an aunt whom we all detest 'cos she likes to brag about almost anything. He told me during his teenage days, she used to talk down at the her nieces and nephews cos her 2 kids (a SAF scholar and another top scorer in those elite boys school) are high achievers. it was only years later, when she had another nephew (due to huge age gap between the aunt and her sister) who qualified for an ivy league uni in US at the tender age of 13/14 (that boy is a genius, definitely more intelligent than her scholar sons) that she stopped talking down at her nephews and nieces.
:lol: -
daisyt:
For me, depends on my mood that day, if I feel like challenging them or just zip up my mouth. :lol: :lol:
Me too
When I feel like saying something back I will. Or else, I will just listen lor. Some people just like a listening ear that's all. I do enjoy making friends here n there, I m the kind that likes to make small talks to other parents. Others may disagree with me on this, but we need to make an example to our kids on how to network and have good EQ. -
the moms at my dd1's ballet class really can talk but luckily, they have never approached me. i think tt even if they do, it'll be boring for them since i don't live in the same neighbourhood/hdb estate as them. anyway, my MIL has taken over ballet class duties for a long time and i don't think they approach her cos she's one generation above them.
sashimi says tt i usually appear rather anti-social so mebbe tt helps? and sashimi looks rather unfriendly even when he doesn't mean to so when he really means it, he looks worse. mebbe tt's why sometimes, i just \"sic\" sashimi on braggarts, unwelcome relatives, sales and insurance people, etc. he does his \"job\" well. :lol: -
I happened to chance upon this thread.
Itโs frustrating and irritating to have show-offs around you. They brag the moment they open their mouths :x :x What I normally do is to avoid meeting them or else itโs โhi-and-byeโ kinda of thingโฆthen they have no chance to brag.
Sometimes, I wonder how and why these people brag when they are really no big deal to begin with. To me, I feel that if that person can afford, others can see. No need to tell the whole world. -
Usually, I just smile and nod, without contributing. Hopefully they get the hint or get bored with my (lack of) response, and move on to the next unfortunate \"victim\"

Great ideas! Will try them out real soon
For more than a decade I've been 'stuck' with a HK lady and have to bear with her yada yada. She married hubby cousin and moved here, so hubby say she have no family here just bear with her.
She will ask 'tons' of questions, to find out certain facts or confirm certain gossip. Then will go into complain about her hubby mode, followed by lying and bragging together after that.....
It got so bad everytime go outing with group I only get two speak to her coz kena corner, at home she calls me and yak on the phone for the longest time.
After her 10th maid last year I stop answering her calls. I told hubby her taitai friends are more suitable for bragging.
I dread CNY in case I have to meet her, but dun care liao
This kind of people.. everywhere!!!
I have a colleague, quite fat, and she always say: aiya, I so fat, my hubby also so love me, yet he said he likes fat woman\".. made me :x as I always maintance my weight, not anyhow eat tibits at office.
Or sometimes she will tell our dept that where her hubby bring her, with car. And she said : you know, have car, go where also \"shiok\".... :x walau!!! who dont know!!!! :stupid:
But then I just smile most of the time and try to ignore her... I always think no need to bother those kind of people, if not will same \"class\" with them.. hehe.... No choice, have to face her every weekday....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.