In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

SIL in US pregnant, so better for the old folks to fly there to help her...stay there indefinite lagi best....after all in S'pore so free.

:hugs: to janet_lee88..

Does your hubby understand how you feel abt his parents?
      It's always nice to know of hubbies who bother or who care
      about how to also find it in their heart to sometimes think abt
      their spouses instead of just their mothers all the time. After
      all, after marriage the spouses & children ARE the immediate
      family already.. ain't it... 😞

It's not abt right and wrong, but abt at least trying to be fair
      & not make the spouses always the one being shortchanged.

I mean living with some ILs are just something really hard to pull
      together and survive and let live... doesn't that count for something..
      that the spouses DO care to try make things work and try to make
      living together a harmonious idea? Sometimes i find that sacrifices
      can so blatantly go un-noticed and not to mention unappreciated.

Abt 2 weeks ago, i watched the Ch 5 tongue in cheek newsy show..
      The Noose. Michelle Chong said, the main reason for divorces is the
      Mother In Laws. I laughed heartily at her next few drunk-driven words
      during the interview when she said, her MIL was :siao:... expected her
      to make porridge for the whole family at 5am in the morning... all this
      due to the fact that her MIL had been watching too many of those Korean
      dramas where the DILs are expected to bow down and be ultra dutiful
      to husbands and mother in laws. The best end to that was when Michelle
      said, my MIL even calls me Kim. :siao: arh! Buey tahan. :lol: Made my day.

hapydino

Mrs Ang:
        hapydino:

Mrs Ang,

for my case, when we were deciding where to stay / where to buy our flat, mil say she wouldn't be able to help.. so we chose a place near my parents (5 bus stops away) when my mum say she can help..

mil stay in the west while my parents stay in the NE..

move in liao, mil keep bugging us to have a baby.. her version 'u all stay so far, i wanna help oso cannot help'.. 😐

den move in liao my mum's turn to flip roti prata and say she prefer to continue working so cannot help too!! :stupid:

Aiyo...my case is we buy near our mil flat as mil said will help. I'm working in Tuas and mil stay in East. My parent stay in NW. My mum has agreed to help as my ger has been falling sick constantly. I'm now trying to appeal for early selling of my house. Hope it will be approved asap. Then I will need to look for a resale flat in NW.

How old is your child and who is helping you to look after?

Mrs Ang,

🙏 Hope your appeal goes thru soon else v hectic arrangement for u too to rush from E to W for work den back home to E..

My daughter is 3yr+ and she's in the care of a baby sitter whom has been caring for her since 10 weeks old.. 🙂 this baby sitter is a total stranger and I remembered I cried when I left my gal there for the 1st time.. Heart so pain!! Lucky she's a decent old lady whom takes great care of my gal, so my gal 'earned' another pair of grandparents whom she calls Ah Mah and Gong Gong.. 🙂

baby sitter's son and DIL stays with her and my gal calls them W Mummy and Daddy too.. there's 2 grandsons (Sec School) living under the same roof so my daughter is like the 小姐 there.. :celebrate:

all thanks to God's blessings we found this baby sitter.. 🙂

minnie2004

Abt 2 weeks ago, i watched the Ch 5 tongue in cheek newsy show..The Noose. Michelle Chong said, the main reason for divorces is the Mother In Laws. I laughed heartily at her next few drunk-driven words during the interview when she said, her MIL was :siao:... expected her to make porridge for the whole family at 5am in the morning... all this

This deep-rooted asian culture/mindset that the wife is inferior to the husband and has to serve the husband has got to change. Sometimes I wonder it'll be better to marry an angmoh. Some of my friends who are married to angmohs, their MILs really treat them like their own daughters! There're no complaints of MIL problems. I think that's b/c the sons are usually more independent (most leave home at 18 ) and the mothers tend not to be as protective of their sons as their Asian counterparts.

Mrs Ang

hapydino,

Thanks.

I couldn’t find a reliable baby sitter thus has put my baby ger in infant care. My PIL have not travelled to Tuas before so they never understand it is so far away.

hapydino:
              My daughter is 3yr+ and she's in the care of a baby sitter whom has been caring for her since 10 weeks old.. 🙂 this baby sitter is a total stranger and I remembered I cried when I left my gal there for the 1st time.. Heart so pain!! Lucky she's a decent old lady whom takes great care of my gal, so my gal 'earned' another pair of grandparents whom she calls Ah Mah and Gong Gong.. 🙂

baby sitter's son and DIL stays with her and my gal calls them W Mummy and Daddy too.. there's 2 grandsons (Sec School) living under the same roof so my daughter is like the 小姐 there.. :celebrate:

all thanks to God's blessings we found this baby sitter.. 🙂
              Hi hapydino.. 😄 You sure found yourself a helluva good catch of a
              babysitter! I love the part when you said your girl earned herself
              another pair of grandparents! 😉 Sounds like close knitted &
              family loving people.

Lucky you. :love:

Any mother in your shoes wud've teared all the way to work leaving
              behind a 10wk old baby with a total stranger! :hugs: Well.. a mom's
              gotta do what a mom's gotta do, right? 😉

hapydino

Mrs Ang:
                hapydino,

Thanks.

I couldn't find a reliable baby sitter thus has put my baby ger in infant care. My PIL have not travelled to Tuas before so they never understand it is so far away.
                Mrs Ang,

later on will it be a challenge to visit your parents-in-law when u move to the west? given that i gather they may find it too out of the way to drop by your place for visit??

hapydino

Hi hapydino.. 😄 You sure found yourself a helluva good catch of a

babysitter! I love the part when you said your girl earned herself
                  another pair of grandparents! 😉 Sounds like close knitted &
                  family loving people.

Lucky you. :love:

Any mother in your shoes wud've teared all the way to work leaving
                  behind a 10wk old baby with a total stranger! :hugs: Well.. a mom's
                  gotta do what a mom's gotta do, right? 😉
                  Hi Buds,

yes, this baby sitter is great!! and to think i tot of 'disqualifying' her at first sight as she only speaks Hokkien and she's 67 when we 'interviewed' her..

thank goodness my DH has the foresight.. it turns out she can speak mandarin as well and bits of english here and there.. still going strong for her age now at 70.. but she has made known my DD will be her 'last' baby and due to the lack of family support we are stopping at 1..

always feel this tugging at the heart when i see people having #2.. 😞

yes, i can remember the day i handed the baby over unwillingly (we left baby with her full day 3 days before i'm due to go back to work).. i started tearing already.. den the min the baby sitter close the main door, i broke down at the lift lobby with Hubby..

whenever i think of this incident i still tear.. felt like a heartless mum whom left her precious baby with a total stranger.. cuz afterall, this is one stranger and not the grandparent whom will do the child no harm..

but God watches over us and thanks to Him, we got a reliable baby sitter.. :celebrate:

Yes. Thanks to Him... you've been blessed with an angel in a 70yr old

stranger whom your daughter now affectionately calls Ah-Mah.. 😉

So sweet, really. :love:

Your hubby must've had determination
                    of steel to have been able to be your
                    pillar of support. Lucky you..

hapydino

Yes. Thanks to Him... you've been blessed with an angel in a 70yr old

stranger whom your daughter now affectionately calls Ah-Mah.. 😉

So sweet, really. :love:

Your hubby must've had determination
                      of steel to have been able to be your
                      pillar of support. Lucky you..
                      Buds,

I interview 5 nannies can u believe.. 😛 thankfully God let my DH see the 'goodness' in this Ah Mah..

me as the blind mum whom feels nobody is good enough to care for my DD, its a huge challenge trying to convince myself she is the best person for the job.. :oops:

Yes lar, now next hurdle is education as current AppleTree do not offer N2 classes (next yr).. not v willing to let this baby sitter go as we intend to retain her as long as possible..

read about ur good news.. shifted into new place already?? enjoying your new found freedom?? am so happy for you when i read you finally shifting out and away from your monster-in-law.. :celebrate:

Andaiz

Abt 2 weeks ago, i watched the Ch 5 tongue in cheek newsy show..
                        The Noose. Michelle Chong said, the main reason for divorces is the
                        Mother In Laws. I laughed heartily at her next few drunk-driven words
                        during the interview when she said, her MIL was :siao:... expected her
                        to make porridge for the whole family at 5am in the morning... all this
                        Buds jie, how are you and the little one doing?

Your post is soooooo hilarious I am chuckling at work (been some time now! Busy busy!) Sounds like something straight out of sayang sayang :celebrate: Timeless aren't they, such MILs?
                        :!:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 153 / 529

nuspsycholinguisticslabN
                        nuspsycholinguisticslab
                        lukanguyenz188L
                        lukanguyenz188
                        sooh1979S
                        sooh1979