National serviceman needs maid to carry his backpack

169 Posts 46 Posters 47.7k Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      e3nity

wapobs: haha.. guess u had a real hard time during ur NS time... erm.. if only maids are allowed to join the army on behalf of our kids.. then kids in future can't blame more FT coming to Singapore.. Soon singapore will be dependent on FT.. even lesser job opportunities and singaporeans will b paid peanuts.. would you like it that way?? :?

end of the day we shld depend on our own ability.. n this is wat should be taught to our next generation.. definately a no no to \"anything ask auntie to do for you\".. its a boo boo.. šŸ˜›

mambobb

Does it look nice to have a maid carrying his backpack?
        It doesnt look nice at all. Why maid has to carry his backpack when he is doing his NS. If he is not strong and fit enough to carry, then that is the purpose to go NS, to be trained more fit and strong.

wapobs

I don't have a maid now. Even when I did, the maid was not to attend to his every whim. There is a reason why singapore boys have to do NS...to build up character and not behave like 小姐 or sissy, expecting to be waited on.

Does it look nice to have a maid carrying his backpack?
          ordering maid around can become sissy meh? no la...

better than he kena ordered around by girlfriends, that will really make him a wimp. hahahaaa....

Brainkid

I thought it was amusing when I saw this post but thinking for a while, all I can say is...\"KID, you are definitely SWAY to get caught by the nosey parker who capture this and make it into an issue.\"

What about those kids who has parents to fetch them to the army.? They probably do not have to walk to the bus station with the maid carrying the packs but they are no better than this boy. He is just out of luck. I guess.

And talking about uniforms, kids nowadays seems to think they are only pieces of clothe hanging around them. That is why there are smooching photos in uniforms being posted.Hiaz...:stupid:

Blame it on the young, blame it on the parents..one can even blame the IT for being so advanced. This is just a part of human evolution I think. And I think NS should not punish him for the sake of punishing...just make it a rule on what can be and not done...

DTJ

Some women get their maids to wash their undies...to them, it's as normal as washing a shirt but I can't do that. :!:
              So true. I'm with you, Janet!

If you ask around, you should not be surprised to learn that nowadays many parents (i hope not all) are so caught up with grades that they don't \"teach\" their teenage daughters to wash their own undies! I know of someone who is always busy sending your daughters to classes after classes that her teenage daughter has never washed her own school shoes nor undies ..nor take public bus on her own!!! If she cannot fetch the daughter for some reason, she will trouble people to fetch (hey i m not talking about preschooler; i m talking abt 16-18 yr old girl!). Disgusting ? Maybe not!

When i heard that, i kept quiet. Maybe the mother herself also don't wash her own undies! So why should it matter to her that her teenage daughter is not doing it?!

I don't have daughter, only a preschooler who helps my domestic helper wipe table ; mop floor & to keep his toys... I love him this way so i train him to be this way (not easy; got to use cane.. some of my friends commented it is a little \"regimental\" ... but i cannot tahan the sight of a spoilt brat so no choice). and i hope he remains this \"helpful & useful\" forever ... To me, my maid is to relieve me of chores which i would otherwise not have time to do, eg doing main laundry , cooking. She is not here to serve my son like a king !

• DesertWindD Offline
                DesertWind

When I saw this picture, my first thought was : Don't they give proper briefing to the new army recruits on the army code of conduct - what to do and what not to do?

For eg. like you are suppose to treat your weapon like your \"wife\", must polish your boots until it shine, make sure you carry your own back-pack, don't loose your belongings on the field else you will get into trouble - kinda thing? (Sorry perhaps I watched too much army shows but you get what I mean?).

At one stage I was staying just next to the army camp and it is not uncommon to see cars & taxis coming up with the army guys booking in.

But this picture really takes the cake although somehow I found it strangely familiar.....

Oh yes, now I remember why I found this picture of the maid familiar. Couple of years back I was at Paragon shopping center. I saw 3 young ladies carrying their babies in those sling sarongs strolling around. Behind them was a small, petite maid carrying their backpacks (those for baby stuff) looking kinda over-loaded. Until now I can still remember the image.....

Strparent

DesertWind:

But this picture really takes the cake although somehow I found it strangely familiar.....
                  Hi DesertWind,

I totally concur with most of the comments here. The issue here is not that the maid is carrying the fullpack for him...it is that a strong young man not feeling embarrassed that a smaller female person is carrying it for him.

My opinion is that the fault lies with the overly protective, overly sheltered lifestyle given by the self-first parents. Like one forumer said, he saw a granny carry a school bag for a Primary student - that itself is all wrong in the filial context. Imagine a P5 or P6 boy expecting, thinking that it is norm, for his elder ( senior - higher rank ? ) grandmother to carry his bag for him from school. Isn't it suppose to be a 12yr old boy carrying the market groceries for HIS grandmother instead ??

Be careful, what the children deem as normal, they will do back to you in future.

I wonder what the young will become 10 to 20 years down the road. It is indeed a sad reflection of what society has become.

• JenniferJ Offline
                    Jennifer

Strparent:
                    I wonder what the young will become 10 to 20 years down the road. It is indeed a sad reflection of what society has become.

I take the public bus to send my P4 boy to sch every morning. The buses we can take go to a few schs along Dunearn Rd. These sec sch students do not move to the rear of the bus, just stand around the exit when their final stop is at least 10 bus stops away.

Is it a case of taking sch bus to pri sch/walking to pri sch/driven to pri sch by parents, hence do not know how to behave on public buses?

raysusan

this goes to taiwan news too

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=cwHCv_1ceN4 :?

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

some funnies gathered by mrbrown

http://www.mrbrown.com/blog/2011/03/maid-for-the-army-2.html

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 17

karen2010K
                        karen2010
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog