How to train my kid to go toilet at nite?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    27 Posts 10 Posters 16.4k Views 1 Watching
      tigger88

some children has to drink milk b4 they can zzzz... so it's best to wake them up 2hrs later to go p-p πŸ™‚

I find it very disruptive to their sleep if we were to wake them up to pee in the night. My 6yo DS1 doesn't wet his bed anymore. His cc started with training him to nap without diapers when he was around 3yo. Then when he was about 4+, we started to let him go without diapers when he sleeps at night but makes sure he pee before he sleeps (he will still take milk and water before he zzz).

There were a few accidents along the way and we used waterproof sheets under his bedsheet to protect the mattress. After a while, he can wake up on his own to pee if he needs to or sleeps thru the night.

autumnbronze

beardpapa80:
        will waking them up disrupt their sleep?

the 'no drinks before sleep' and 'pee before bed' works better for me. lol.
        DH doesn't purposely wake him up. He will carry him and then start talking about airplanes and stuff that DS is interested in in a soft voice. It acts as a kind of 'signal' to DS that he is being brought to the bathroom. Then, once there, he will auto just stand on his two feet once he reaches the bathroom and pee. DH will then carry him back to bed again. No problems with that so far.

tigger88

tigger88:

[quote=\"WCW\"]some children has to drink milk b4 they can zzzz... so it's best to wake them up 2hrs later to go p-p πŸ™‚

I find it very disruptive to their sleep if we were to wake them up to pee in the night. My 6yo DS1 doesn't wet his bed anymore. His cc started with training him to nap without diapers when he was around 3yo. Then when he was about 4+, we started to let him go without diapers when he sleeps at night but makes sure he pee before he sleeps (he will still take milk and water before he zzz).

There were a few accidents along the way and we used waterproof sheets under his bedsheet to protect the mattress. After a while, he can wake up on his own to pee if he needs to or sleeps thru the night.

i find it disruptive to MY sleep :lol:
          not to DS sleep, after back on bed he's snoring and i cant zzzzz.... πŸ˜“[/quote]LOL, ya so true. Disruptive to my sleep too when my kids wake up for milk, pee etc.

poppy15

tigger88:

LOL, ya so true. Disruptive to my sleep too when my kids wake up for milk, pee etc.

that's why all parents are so wei-da πŸ™‚

u all huh...
            waking child up to pee become disruptive to YOUR sleep... :faint:
            somemore can say u wei da :slapshead: πŸ˜‰

tigger88

[quote=\"tigger88\"]LOL, ya so true. Disruptive to my sleep too when my kids wake up for milk, pee etc.

that's why all parents are so wei-da πŸ™‚

u all huh...
              somemore can say u wei da :slapshead: πŸ˜‰[/quote]But I dun wake them up to pee leh...my eldest woke us up to bring him to the toilet. Usually he will ask dh lah..cos he knows mummy needs her beauty sleep. :love:

poppy15

u all huh...
                somemore can say u wei da :slapshead: πŸ˜‰

well, if DS pee on bed he will have to wake up and we have to changed him, end up 2 people cant go back sleep. but if i woke him up, only i cant go back sleep, so isnt i wei da?? http://www.glitter-graphics.com

u so jialat meh :scratchhead:
                wake up liao cannot go back to sleep....

we hv this pattern at home now cos DH is usually the late sleeper
                so DH will be the one waking DD up for her toilet ard 1-2am, then i will be the one to wake her ard 5-6am

so each one takes turn, fair & square :evil:

tigger88

so DH will be the one waking DD up for her toilet ard 1-2am, then i will be the one to wake her ard 5-6am

You can auto wake up at 5-6am?

Pen88n

tigger88:

We used to do that for DD when she was younger, once at about 12+ and another time about 6+ in the morning. Now she knows to go toilet by herself when she needs to.

poppy15

tigger88:

can.. dunno why also... cos i tend to hear a few birds outside chirping & then a few units with their light switch on opp my blk (quite glaring), then my neighbour loud sneeze & shower running tells me its ard 5-6am

can say i'm a light sleeper. any ι£ŽεΉθ‰εŠ¨, i will be wide awake.

tigger88

can.. dunno why also... cos i tend to hear a few birds outside chirping & then a few units with their light switch on opp my blk (quite glaring), then my neighbour loud sneeze & shower running tells me its ard 5-6am

can say i'm a light sleeper. any ι£ŽεΉθ‰εŠ¨, i will be wide awake.
                        I think after becoming mummies, we all become light sleepers. :dancing:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 3