Travel: Australia - Melbourne
micollh:
Thanks MadScientist, my trip will be in end May..still have plenty of time to plan..thanks for all the tips !!
Micollh,
Materials arrived! -
MadScientist:
What's the updates from DW ? heee.. last week AUD $ xchange rate was good.. 1.29 !! wowoowowmicollh:
Thanks MadScientist, my trip will be in end May..still have plenty of time to plan..thanks for all the tips !!
Micollh,
Materials arrived! -
micollh:
the no given to me is +61 (0) xxxxxxxxx , so i just dial all the numbers after switching to automatic network right? worried later cant get the call out then stuck.. haaa.. is there any public phone conveniently available in airport ? stupid q right?MadScientist:
Your SGphone should be on autoroam. Just select automatic network selection and it should hook up. Then call the number you need, as if you are calling from SG. Clearly, charges apply... A bit higher with the non subscribed autoroam.
Yup, will update you if we know anything... Never been to mount buller... Might be a sit we can consider next time we are there...
In Melb, the area code for landline is 03 and mobiles are 04. If using SG phone, just call using +country code/area code/number (e.g. +61 3 9777 7777). If you are on local network, it is possible to deal direct (e.g. 03 9777 7777 or 0477 777 777) but using the +613??????? or +614??????? wouldnt go wrong.
I read that your trip will be end May. Please come with warm clothings, esp for the kids and if you are driving out to the great ocean road, philip island, puffing billy etc. The first two are coastal (wind coming up from the sound is freezing) and 3rd is on higher grounds. We are experience lotsa rain for the moment and it gets dark by around 6pm. On a freak weekend, there was even some snow up the mountains but that is rare (melted soon after) and got some hail too.. So, be prepared for tempremental weather.
Otherwise, there are some really good days with clear blue skies, crisp air and natural 'air-con' as you go about your day. 
Within the city, do check out Melbourne Museum for the kids and have a walk around carlton gardens just infront/behind the museum. There is a nice playground just behind the Museum too. A short walk away is Lygon St for nice italian and greek food. Be sure to check out Brunetti along there for their great cakes (closes at 7pm), there is also one along swanston st in the city which closes later at 10pm. If you miss or need more familiar fare, killiney kopitiam just opened on Lygon st, a Papparich in QV building (swanston st) and of cos, chinatown.
Queen Victoria mkt is closed on Mon and Weds. Take note of the varied closing time during the other days (somedays 2pm, 3pm or 4.30pm). There is a free city shuttle bus that stops along all the melb city attractions like the museum, vic mkt, st kilda, federation sq (very pretty at night too). Main tourist information centre is right smack at the corner of Flinder st next to fed sq if you need to go get more info or sign up for various day tours, if you havent already sign up for any at the airport. Try bunyip cos their tours are more personalized cos the group is small.
There is also a free city circle tram (red/brown in colour, you cant miss it) that travels in a loop around the city. It helps that the whole CBD is in a nice little rectangle grid so you dont get lost easily. The tram goes down to docklands/harbourtown where there are eating places and DFOs for shopping. Be sure to check out pumpkin patches/cotton on for kids.
If need more info, just ask. I get the monthly free melb child magazine and they have a listing of things to do for kids about town so if you need any more ideas i can look at it.... but i reckon you will be have quite a full on itinerary before landing..
Have fun when you are in Melb.
Cheers! -
aurorin:
Thanks soo much for sharing these info.. it'll definitely be useful !! I may give the museum a miss as my kids are 4+ and 2+ wont be interested yet ? thinking to visit the aquarium, good ?
In Melb, the area code for landline is 03 and mobiles are 04. If using SG phone, just call using +country code/area code/number (e.g. +61 3 9777 7777). If you are on local network, it is possible to deal direct (e.g. 03 9777 7777 or 0477 777 777) but using the +613??????? or +614??????? wouldnt go wrong.
I read that your trip will be end May. Please come with warm clothings, esp for the kids and if you are driving out to the great ocean road, philip island, puffing billy etc. The first two are coastal (wind coming up from the sound is freezing) and 3rd is on higher grounds. We are experience lotsa rain for the moment and it gets dark by around 6pm. On a freak weekend, there was even some snow up the mountains but that is rare (melted soon after) and got some hail too.. So, be prepared for tempremental weather.
Otherwise, there are some really good days with clear blue skies, crisp air and natural 'air-con' as you go about your day. 
Within the city, do check out Melbourne Museum for the kids and have a walk around carlton gardens just infront/behind the museum. There is a nice playground just behind the Museum too. A short walk away is Lygon St for nice italian and greek food. Be sure to check out Brunetti along there for their great cakes (closes at 7pm), there is also one along swanston st in the city which closes later at 10pm. If you miss or need more familiar fare, killiney kopitiam just opened on Lygon st, a Papparich in QV building (swanston st) and of cos, chinatown.
Queen Victoria mkt is closed on Mon and Weds. Take note of the varied closing time during the other days (somedays 2pm, 3pm or 4.30pm). There is a free city shuttle bus that stops along all the melb city attractions like the museum, vic mkt, st kilda, federation sq (very pretty at night too). Main tourist information centre is right smack at the corner of Flinder st next to fed sq if you need to go get more info or sign up for various day tours, if you havent already sign up for any at the airport. Try bunyip cos their tours are more personalized cos the group is small.
There is also a free city circle tram (red/brown in colour, you cant miss it) that travels in a loop around the city. It helps that the whole CBD is in a nice little rectangle grid so you dont get lost easily. The tram goes down to docklands/harbourtown where there are eating places and DFOs for shopping. Be sure to check out pumpkin patches/cotton on for kids.
If need more info, just ask. I get the monthly free melb child magazine and they have a listing of things to do for kids about town so if you need any more ideas i can look at it.... but i reckon you will be have quite a full on itinerary before landing..
Have fun when you are in Melb.
Cheers! -
The aquarium is nice.. though sydney's better. But kids will like it anyway.
Surprisingly, the melbourne museum isnt just targetted for the older kids and adults. My DD loved it from the age of 2.. the dinosaur bones and animal exhibits are really cool and there's a two play areas (on each side of the museum), indoor garden and a children's gallery with activities as well.
For 4 and 2, you might also wanna try the zoo. Melbourne zoo is in the city but Werribee Zoo, 1/2 hr drive in the west has a african theme and safari bus which takes you into the big enclosure to see the zebras, giraffes etc. Might be cool for the kids and adults.
Oh, if you go shopping at DFO at docklands, there is a indoor playground called monkey mania where you can deposit the kids (charges apply) and your hubby if u want some peaceful shopping time. *chuckles* -
aurorin:
i check the website for for musuem and Werribee Zoo.. u r right.. it will be something kids will like..esp the zoo.. i saw the melbourn zoo at city before not that tempting.. this Werribee Zoo is worth a visit !The aquarium is nice.. though sydney's better. But kids will like it anyway.
Surprisingly, the melbourne museum isnt just targetted for the older kids and adults. My DD loved it from the age of 2.. the dinosaur bones and animal exhibits are really cool and there's a two play areas (on each side of the museum), indoor garden and a children's gallery with activities as well.
For 4 and 2, you might also wanna try the zoo. Melbourne zoo is in the city but Werribee Zoo, 1/2 hr drive in the west has a african theme and safari bus which takes you into the big enclosure to see the zebras, giraffes etc. Might be cool for the kids and adults.
Oh, if you go shopping at DFO at docklands, there is a indoor playground called monkey mania where you can deposit the kids (charges apply) and your hubby if u want some peaceful shopping time. *chuckles*
thanks !
Good idea on the shopping portion.. haaa -
anyone experience apply visa online and said not successful ? went down to the high com,. they said dunno y⦠ask to go home and wait⦠not case ID, no estimnate time⦠si beh jialat wor their attitude⦠bo chap.
micollh:
anyone experience apply visa online and said not successful ? went down to the high com,. they said dunno y.. ask to go home and wait.. not case ID, no estimnate time.. si beh jialat wor their attitude.. bo chap.
I had that once. Out of 4 applications, 1 was withheld. Wait a day or 2, and the approval came through. Depending on the website you use, you can contact them for assistance.
Go down High Comm also no use. They dun entertain walk-in tourist visa applicants these days. -
bebebub:
they emailed to say ETA grant. that's it.. waste time .. waste leave.. but glad it's done. so troublesome.. they din even say why it was not successful. so not transparent.
I had that once. Out of 4 applications, 1 was withheld. Wait a day or 2, and the approval came through. Depending on the website you use, you can contact them for assistance.
Go down High Comm also no use. They dun entertain walk-in tourist visa applicants these days. -
micollh:
Chill, dun be upset.
they emailed to say ETA grant. that's it.. waste time .. waste leave.. but glad it's done. so troublesome.. they din even say why it was not successful. so not transparent.bebebub:
Go down High Comm also no use. They dun entertain walk-in tourist visa applicants these days.
Yes, no explanation. I think immigration dept generally dun give reasons, including Singapore. Most times the application will come thru, if u dun see any real reasons to be rejected. Just random lah.
Melbourne is a great place for family holidays. Hv fun!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.