200 SMRT bus drivers refuse to go to work over pay issue

436 Posts 66 Posters 99.5k Views 1 Watching
      Twinkies

pinky:
      Fairy:

[quote=\"ChiefKiasu\"]
      You read the news today? Got aircraft carrier coming already. That one big big wan. No need glasses to see.

Sigh.

My god.
      What aircraft carrier???
      Making mountain out of molehill?

May i know where did you read the news from? Couldn't find.

Hope our garmen learnt their lesson. Put them on pedastal & chidded us for being xenophobic?
      \"Blood is thicker than water\"

the purpose of sending the carrier according to a netizen there :we shall see if they would still dare not to raise the wages :siao:[/quote]
      Really? :siao: netizen....

Offbeat.

That carrier if sold can buy our SMRT, but now is called to press for wages increment?

concern2

What is meant by illegal strike? Which strike is legal in Singapore?

This

http://www.singapore-window.org/sw00/000310a4.htm

[quote]You became head of the NTUC and also remained a cabinet minister -- and Singapore remained strike free.

Yes. But in January 1986 I did sanction a strike, the first for about a decade. It was in the shipping industry where the management was taking advantage of the workers. I did not even tell the cabinet about santioning the strike. And some of them were angry with me about that. The minister for trade and industry was very angry, his officers were very upset. They had calls from America, asking what happened to Singapore? -- we are non-strike. I said: if I were to inform the cabinet or the government they would probably stop me from going ahead with the strike. It only lasted two days. Then all the issues were settled. It showed that management was just trying to pull a fast one. So I believe what I did was right.

[/quote]Thanks, limlim, and those who helped to clarify my misconception.

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

bupashu:
          SMRT said unlike bus drivers from Malaysia who are permanent employees, the Chinese are on a two-year contract with different terms. While their starting pay is lower, they get accommodation, utilities and transport to work.

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/smrt-explains-salary-and-work-conditions-mainland-chinese-bus-drivers-
          But the FACT is that it is precisely because they are \"cheaper\", that's why we employ them. If we have to pay them same as Singaporeans - what's the point?!

Don't they remember the contract they signed? Thankfully China Embassy already stated yesterday that there is \"no breach of contract\".

Thank goodness their embassy explained to them. MOM should really haul mastermind to court. As for those who participated in the strike, they should be sent back once contract is over and blacklist them.

limlim

bupashu:
              SMRT said unlike bus drivers from Malaysia who are permanent employees, the Chinese are on a two-year contract with different terms. While their starting pay is lower, they get accommodation, utilities and transport to work.

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/smrt-explains-salary-and-work-conditions-mainland-chinese-bus-drivers-
              It's good that they clarify and show the full picture.

However, I feel the company should have handled it better and prevented such mess.

How? by paying the same basic pay figure, but deduct the different charges clearly. or something along that line.

Don't give pple a chance to make noise.. some workers may be easily \"persuaded\" by other troublemaker and created problems for the company.

Joule

sbs is smarter

they put their drivers 6 to a 3 room flat

scattered around the island

everyone gets enough rest and no time to ‘pakat’ go on strike

of course, the fact that they pay their drivers better also has a factor.

eh…smrt ceo where ah? he’s missing. very quiet leh.

• dimsumD Offline
                  dimsum

According to ST, it costs more to rent HDB flats. So, SBS is providing better benefits for the PRC drivers. The living condition in the dorm apparently was bad, drivers kana bitten by alot of bed bugs.

• dimsumD Offline
                    dimsum

And i find it interesting that 90% of SBS PRC drivers joined union vs SMRT 10%. Totally different HR mgmt style uh.

pirate

I thought SMRT CEO is a train engineer put there to fix rail breakdowns? And the last one was a retail specialist hired to rent out shop space in MRT stations.

MR06

dimsum:
                        According to ST, it costs more to rent HDB flats. So, SBS is providing better benefits for the PRC drivers. The living condition in the dorm apparently was bad, drivers kana bitten by alot of bed bugs.

I also kena bitten by bed bugs numerous times on SMRT buses. Many no. 960 buses with fabric seats always has a stench and you can see they are very dirty. Buses no. 700 and 190 programming is :siao: . You would notice the LTA board shows 700 arriving; what happens next is a bus 190 zooms past (stop at alternate bus stops) and the updated info for bus 700 is 15 mins.

Overall, I would say SMRT service level pales in comparision to SBS Transit. If you are observant, you would notice those routes that SMRT monopolizes over has the worst over-crowding condition. Thanks to Saw and her team, I'm waiting to see what improvement the new CEO brings along. So far still waiting...... no improvement!

Btw, if you exit a bus from the entrance, be sure you see \"Entry/Exit\" mode on the card reader before you tap your card. If you tap your card at the \"Entry\" mode when alighting from the entrance, you will be charged the full fare twice because your second tap is considered a new trip. You are charged the maximum fare for 2 trips because you entered twice and there is no record of your exit.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 44

kuwinvncocommK
                        kuwinvncocomm
                        Amber2018A
                        Amber2018