Birth Control Methods

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    183 Posts 32 Posters 56.7k Views 1 Watching
    • Z Offline
      ZacK

tanlengleng:
      ZacK:

Anyway bet durex and okamoto... I would go for the latter cos they are touted to be \"next to nothing\". Anyway just a personal preference šŸ˜Ž

Hubby says okamoto seems to be smaller & tighter then durex,
      any man can advise on this?
      He says it's uncomfortable for him...

When we first started, we were on durex but I loathed it cos it felt like we had the great wall between us :stupid:

Hmmm ... I guess my size is more aligned to the jap sizing then and whereas your hubby is more aligned to ang mo size :!: :lol:

• Z Offline
        ZacK

schellen:
        ZacK:

Wonder if I am opening up a can of worms or risk getting flamed sticking my finger in a thread with postings by mums only.

I suppose that mums here have discussed and ruled out the possibility of your husbands using condoms instead? Based on what I read in relation to birth control methods for women, they seem to be pretty drastic measures that affects women physically.

Don't worry, Zack, cos I'm sure my DH will find his way here soon. šŸ˜‰

We did use condoms before but we hated it. So inconvenient, mood spoiler and uncomfortable. Also, if you do the math, IUD and IUS in the long run will cost less than condoms. This also saves the trouble of having to remember when to re-stock. šŸ˜Ž

And about the effectiveness of condoms vs. IUD/IUS, IUD/IUS of course wins. One of my ex-colleagues conceived even though she and her DH used a condom. She was very upset as she had married barely a year and wasn't planning for kids so soon. This depressive mood plus a difficult pregnancy for her reinforced my opinion that condoms aren't that great.

Haha... Perhaps you should make this forum the homepage for your web browser so that your husband will get the hint to visit here. My wife would rather surf facebook than to come to this forum to look at kids related issues... Anyway, she has her own opinions on raising a child, so most times I read on certain issues of interest here and then bring it to her as a topic for discussion.

With regard to the \"right\" form of birth control method... I guess there's more than 1 way to skin a cow... So whichever works best will the \"right\" method for every couple :celebrate:

csc

tanlengleng:
          I was thinking of inserting the IUD after our 3rd kid.

Anyone have any other suggestions besides not \"doing it anymore\"?
          one more option is ligation. But that is, if you are seriously considering not having any more children or past child-bearing age.

tanlengleng

ZacK:
            tanlengleng:

[quote=\"ZacK\"]
            Anyway bet durex and okamoto... I would go for the latter cos they are touted to be \"next to nothing\". Anyway just a personal preference šŸ˜Ž

When we first started, we were on durex but I loathed it cos it felt like we had the great wall between us :stupid:

Hmmm ... I guess my size is more aligned to the jap sizing then and whereas your hubby is more aligned to ang mo size :!: :lol:[/quote]Durex is Made in Thailand lah...

tanlengleng

csc:
              tanlengleng:

I was thinking of inserting the IUD after our 3rd kid.

Anyone have any other suggestions besides not \"doing it anymore\"?

one more option is ligation. But that is, if you are seriously considering not having any more children or past child-bearing age.

\"My mum\" again...
              She did ligation after giving birth to me,
              but after that she don't enjoy intercourse anymore,
              mentioning dryer & no interest,
              so she told her daughters & DIL NEVER TRY LIGATION...

I don't wish to prove her wrong leh... hehe...

PS: Still child-bearing age, may consider #4 if we strike all numbers at TOTO...hahaha...

Heyya csc,

Ligation? Ouch..
                Heard this is best done right afer delivery, is it true?
                I fear for anything invasive. šŸ™
                Hence the choice of those darn rubber caps.

Heyya Zack,
                The japanese vs ang-moh was hilarious lah you!!
                And yes i do agree with you, whichever works best.
                There isn't one size fit all.

Heyya scellen,
                Tks for your personal experience.
                I'll read up more.. and maybe get
                some advise from doc as well if even
                the caps fail. But so far, other than
                mood spoiler, it has served us well in
                the area of birth control. But i do
                agree with you on oe point, that
                condoms are costly in the long run.

Heyya tanlengleng,
                I am afraid i have to ask... ( if you don't mind that is )
                Did it fail you as in, break? For us, hubs usually checks
                before and after.. Just in case.. 7 tho my favourite no.
                sounds scaaaarry. :shock:

tanlengleng

Heyya csc,

Ligation? Ouch..
                  Heard this is best done right afer delivery, is it true?
                  I fear for anything invasive. šŸ™
                  Hence the choice of those darn rubber caps.

Heyya tanlengleng,
                  I am afraid i have to ask... ( if you don't mind that is )
                  Did it fail you as in, break? For us, hubs usually checks
                  before and after.. Just in case.. 7 tho my favourite no.
                  sounds scaaaarry. :shock:
                  If C-section, no diff. can do during the c-section time,
                  if NVB, need to wait few weeks then ligate.

Nope, didn't break,
                  till date we still donno what went wrong...
                  (PS:our MIL don't stay with us...)

sashimi

To be honest.... when doing it with a condom, I'm not sure if I'm supposed to be enjoying it, or am I actually entertaining the condom instead.... 😐

As schellen mentioned, she has, or rather had, horrible periods, very painful. She's not like some lucky gals who have easy periods. And of course it spills over to me, emotionally. Thus, the benefits of the IUS, including the elimination of periods, far outweighed any disadvantages, of which I'm unaware of any. For us, periods and condoms are at present just a distant memory.

Oh one other advantage of the IUS is that you only have to face the cashier once, whereas condoms... wahlao, how many times do you get a male cashier at watsons?

BTW, if any of you take the MRT, you should be well aware of Okamoto.... whenever I board the MRT with DD, I pray I don't get one of these trains. Don't want any interesting questions about bananas. :?:

• Z Offline
                      ZacK

tanlengleng:
                      ZacK:

[quote=\"tanlengleng\"]

Hmmm ... I guess my size is more aligned to the jap sizing then and whereas your hubby is more aligned to ang mo size :!: :lol:

Durex is Made in Thailand lah...[/quote]So now we know the reason why the \"accidents\" happened šŸ˜› ... But I think they still follow US specs lar.

• Z Offline
                        ZacK

Heyya Zack,

The japanese vs ang-moh was hilarious lah you!!
                        And yes i do agree with you, whichever works best.
                        There isn't one size fit all.

...condoms are costly in the long run.
                        Aiya nothing to be shy about lar... Anyway size does not matter as long as functionally it serves it's purpose šŸ˜‰

Yes I do agree that using condoms is a running cost ... But then again, we're no longer like \"jack rabbits\" jumping at it at every opportune time :oops: ...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 19