Newton Kindergarten

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Kindergartens
    525 Posts 65 Posters 234.0k Views 1 Watching
      meiah

the list of enrichment is listed on the school’s website here:

http://www.newtonkindergarten.com/centres/?dxuid=SG010296&&pageid=1865

a)\tfor PM session kids (11.45 am – 3.45 pm), enrichment is 1 hour duration in the morning (before school starts), 10.15 am – 11.15 am.

kids staying at Toa Payoh and Bishan very lucky. Got school bus transport, for both sessions. Both AM and PM sessions also have! Inside the school bus for each session, 90% kids stay in Bishan, remaining 10% stay in Toa Payoh.
      I live in TPY. My block here got 1 gal go to Newton Kindy but bus come very early leh. If child take sch bus, what time usually reach sch?

• CDEC Offline
        CDE

I heard from other forum that newton is rather unfairly costly at times. They gave example like during some performances day, parents were not allowed to take picture but instead have to buy the poor quality VCD.

Also, as the school is chinese base, how is their english standard?
        Some kindergarten start creative writing at K1/K2 level, how about newton?

I am concern about it as I have a strong intention to enrol my child into newton next year. Can anyone help to clear my doubt? thanks!

hi,

any K1, K2 parents here send children for Science enrichment by ‘Cheery Pie’ under teacher Cindy ? how is it ? fun ? interesting ? can share ?

meiah

CDE:
            I heard from other forum that newton is rather unfairly costly at times. They gave example like during some performances day, parents were not allowed to take picture but instead have to buy the poor quality VCD.
            Buying photos and video of concert performances is not uncommon. Other kindys do it too. The one near Newton, Thomson Road Baptist Kindy, also has the same practice. Both my ds went through there. Their rationale is that the kids are already trying very hard to perform, esp the 3-year-olds, and with swarms of parents walking everywhere to take photos, it's very distracting and disturbing for the kids. Also it is unfair for those parents who try to sit and watch but are often blocked by parents who stand up to take photos.

Now, my dd in another kindy, although has not had concert yet, we already have to pay for excursion for parent and child entry tickets to bird park. Again, it's not uncommon. I paid for my 2 ds too when they went out with their school.

If you read the threads of some other very popular cc/kindy, I think the additional cost will shock you.

jazzychloe

Hi phtthp,

I have already registered my dd for ICL weekend class at their new AMK Hub starting from yr 2013. Wanted the homebased ones at either Punggol or Seng Kang area but too bad all full liao for weekend. I got to know ICL from my colleague last year but missed out the registration starts from 3 Jan 2011 for 2013 class. 😞

Hi Chrisbear,

I'm also registering my dd for next yr N1 class, and wanted to register her for AM class. Now i'm also wondering if it will be too early and rush for my hubby to send her there in the morning cos we stay at Punggol. And after class, she's supposed to take school bus to Aljunied (where my mum stays), now i also duno if there will be any school bus going to Aljunied or not. Mdm Ong said she can only confirm in Nov when the class list is confirmed. So i'm also wondering, what if there is no school bus back to Aljunied?? Who is going to send my dd back frm school??? =(

meiah,

i don't stay in Toa Payoh (TPY). Not sure what time school bus come to fetch kids in the morning. Maybe can call up Auntie Ong to check, or those mommies /papie staying at TPY can tell us ?

at least, AM kids staying at TPY are lucky ... still got school bus bring them to school.

jazzychloe,
                if yr husb can drive your girl to AM class Mon-Fri daily come thunderstorm, rain or shine, it's good! At least, transport to school one way direction is been solved.

the return home journey after 12 noon dismissal back to Aljunied (yr mom), usually Auntie Ong can arrange, not to worry.

i was allocated an AM seat for my child, K1 next yr 2012. However, there is no school bus in the morning to kindy. Unless my husb drives her everyday to school, reach there before 8 am lessons start. On sunshine morning ok, but if thunderstorm raining morning, very troublesome! Bad traffic jam from Paya Lebar road (1st cut), then entire Pan Island expressway, another jam (2nd cut)!

alternative solutions:-
                ==============

a) ask Auntie Ong to help you ask around - nearby Newton vicinity, got any school bus operator from other nearby kindergarten around Newton circus that happen to pass by your Senkang area in the morning to fetch kindy kids, then drop off yr child at Newton kindy admin office ? Then admin staff bring yr child up to her AM class.

b) if not, you call up those other kindergarten located nearby around Newton vicinity yourself one by one, check if they can provide this extra service ?

c) any other suggestion ?

hi jazzychloe,

very glad that you sign up for ICL (I Creative learning) for yr girl. :dancing: it's a good enrichment course.

http://email.icreativelearner.com.sg/hbpresch.html

parents looking for home-based ICL, can consider tr Ivy Phang. She has formed some more new classes, latest vacancies updated here:-

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=10024&start=110

any parent send children for FastTrack kids enrichment at kindy ?

any feedback ?

anyone got the song lyrics how to sing our Newton kindergarten song ?

wana teach my daughter …

info ... Teaching guide for mental arithmetic

would you like to ...

- train your child from young at home how to use his RIGHT brain to improve his memory, his concentration power, his creative imaginative power ?

- teach your child learn how to use the abacus, do addition and subtraction at home ?

if Yes, read on:-
                        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1352&start=660

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 53