小兵迎大将

157 Posts 36 Posters 44.5k Views 1 Watching
      JonC

On the point of Singaporean (including me who is born and grew up here) being no good with the Chinese Language, I have to fully agree.

The standard is really low even with current HCL standard in Primary School.

Unlike our parents time when they are the true blood Chinese School CL1 students, their Chinese Language command is good, even up till our time the CL1 has already drop quite a lot, now even worst.

This so call "Cream" in both Chinese Language and Culture, when they go China or Taiwan, they will know how bad their deficiency is.

You may differ with my opinion, but I will not change my stand.

though they are SAP, they are not run by the same committee for all SAP schools....some carry the chinese culture at higher profile, some has to be the standard bearer, some trying to cope along .....
        Don't just some some some....so wishy washy...can PM me yr classification of the \"somes\" of the SAP schools? Curiosity killing me....promise never to post here... :lol:

JonC:
          On the point of Singaporean (including me who is born and grew up here) being no good with the Chinese Language, I have to fully agree.

Unlike our parents time when they are the true blood Chinese School CL1 students, their Chinese Language command is good, even up till our time the CL1 has already drop quite a lot, now even worst.

This so call \"Cream\" in both Chinese Language and Culture, when they go China or Taiwan, they will know how bad their deficiency is.

Perhaps what you said have some element of truth but I am still very baffled.... How come during our time it is called second language but now called HCL but standard lower? Yet many children are struggling with a lower standard? :? So the children are not smarter these days, they just shift their time to learn more of other subjects and less of Chinese? tio bo?

JonC:

This so call \"Cream\" in both Chinese Language and Culture, when they go China or Taiwan, they will know how bad their deficiency is.

Perhaps what you said have some element of truth but I am still very baffled.... How come during our time it is called second language but now called HCL but standard lower? Yet many children are struggling with a lower standard? :? So the children are not smarter these days, they just shift their time to learn more of other subjects and less of Chinese? tio bo?

last time's CL2 is the CL today, plus some watering down

HCL - i though it was something new or was it last time called CL1

JonC

I think CL now is lower than our time CL2.

HCL is much lower than our time CL1, maybe slightly higher than last time CL2 or maybe same same.

Even our time, those quite good in CL1 just have enough to communicate properly with China or Taiwan people.

Now HCL, shake head.

Our parents time CL1 is really something.

Last time got Chinese stream schools and mata wore shorts... Now don't have. Now I recall why some of my siblings have good command of Chinese, from Chinese schools.....:)

dunnoleh

Last time got Chinese stream schools and mata wore shorts... Now don't have. Now I recall why some of my siblings have good command of Chinese, from Chinese schools.....:)
                  i see, in order to improve our standard of CL, our mata should revert to \"cheng teh kor\". good idea! 😉

dunnoleh:

i see, in order to improve our standard of CL, our mata should revert to \"cheng teh kor\". good idea! 😉

You say wan hor.... 😉

RRMummy

dunnoleh:

alamak... what a logic!! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

rocklee

To be honest, I was quite disappointed with the show. Before the show started, Aunty Lucy mentioned that these kids already went through the questions before and therefore they should know the answer very well. I agree with some of you that the chinese standard is really very low. Very surprise that these upp primary kids cant even answer simple questions on p2 and p4 chinese!? Also I think to be fair to the kids who dont learn the technical terms in chinese for the Science and Maths subjects, they shouldn’t even be included in this programme. Also abt the part on translation, why did they spend several hours on the translation? I thought the translation were already included in the questions (such the the science question on pollination, germination , fertilisation)?

I hope the next batch can show more power.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 16